Customer Reviews for

Touching Spirit Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 566 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Animal Spirit

Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story t...
Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story takes place in Minniapolis,Minnesota but the action takes place on a remote island in Alaska. The only reason I say the action takes place there is because that is where the main charcter Cole Mathews, a young man whose life has been miserable ever since his father would beat him senceless while his mother would simply do nothing and drink away her problems,has an encounter with a mistacle bear. He is sent off to this island for beating up a classmate from school. The motive, he snitched on cole and so cole beats him up bad. I believe this book is best for a young audience because they can relate more to this beacuse they seem to go through problems such as the one portreyd in this book. This book fulfills its purpose by having coles angry heart turned to a soft loving heart. I loved this book from beging to end because i could relly relate to what cole sometimes went through while i was growing up. I totally agree with the message the author gave which is to control your anger with all people. What I liked most was when cole and the person he hurt so bad made up and forgave eachother. This author did an awesome job in my opinion because i really enjoyed this book. Young people I recommend this book I know you will love it just as I did.

posted by READ-O-LOTS on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Nope

I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have...
I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have put it down ages ago if i didnt need it for school! :(

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Nope

    I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have put it down ages ago if i didnt need it for school! :(

    14 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I think it sucked really bad

    I think it sucked really bad

    8 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    This book was the single worst book I have ever been subjected t

    This book was the single worst book I have ever been subjected to. I was forced to read it for seventh grade, and I would have burned it were it not necessary for the school year. I am in eighth grade now, as it took a year to cope with the utter shock I felt from reading this garbage. It starts with an incredibly unrealistic main character Cole, who is so unbelievably violent he gives another kid brain damage by beating him up. He is subsequently arrested, and given the choice between being tried as an adult and going to prison or going through some tacky Native American "healing justice". Let's be honest here, who in their right minds would pick prison over a plain old year on an island? So, obviously, Cole goes with the island option, and has to deal with the preparation thing by BSing his way through some Native American council thing and dealing with his hippie representative. When he finishes faking his way through that, he goes to the island, and do you know what the first thing he did was? He burnt all of his supplies except some rusty knife in some sort of "angst-release" or something. Great idea, kiddo. Then, he decides he is man enough to try and take down a huge white bear. Not-so-surprisingly, he gets mauled in an also unrealistic attack. Then, Mister Mikaelsen decides to dedicate nearly a page and a half to a description of Cole eating a mouse alive. Everything up to this point is just bad. Everything past this, however, is mind-numbingly awful. Cole then lies there having his inner hippie give a cheesy monologue of nature, and then the bear that nearly killed him comes over to him and sniffs him or something, and Cole pets it and forgives it for horrendously maiming him. Just like that. Cole is then found and take back to the "Circle Justice" council, where they go on and on about how unhappy they are. But, apparently, Cole had an epiphany while his hippie was delivering it's speech, and now Cole wants to become friends with Peter, the kid he gave brain damage. Wow. I won't go any further as to not spoil the ending for those of you who actually want to read this book. And all of that was also only on the plot, the writing was just generally mediocre as well. Overall, I absolutely loathed this book and I would've been much happier without reading it. It was unrealistic, cheesy, and just plain bad in my opinion. Ben Mikaelsen, I have no idea what you were thinking. I give this book as little stars as possible, and I hope you won't have to go through the same pain I did when I read this.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Disliked it.

    I am in 8th grade, and I tried to read this but it was just honestly very boring to me, and i can read 600 page books on a day-to-day baisis. Then i read the first chapter to my mom and she agreed with me, so i would not recommend, btw if this is of any help it is a 287 page book, if anyone wanted to know.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Touching Spirit Bear was a absolutely horrendous book. It was bo

    Touching Spirit Bear was a absolutely horrendous book. It was boring and stupid, good thing my teacher didn't finish reading us the book. It's about a kid named Cole who has anger management issues blah, blah, blah. I advise you NOT to read this book.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Booooo

    I read this book last year.... HATE IT

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No stars

    I absolutly hated this book

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Boring

    Super boring

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    I'm a seventh-grade reading/language arts teacher who is teachin

    I'm a seventh-grade reading/language arts teacher who is teaching this book. I had no say in the matter, unfortunately, and I would never have chosen to teach it. It is painfully dull to read with very little action to move the story along. It is riddled with one flashback after another at the beginning of the novel, but it seems forced. In fact, most of the book seems forced. In addition, there are a few questionable scenes involving two grown men and a fifteen-year-old boy, in particular, a scene where the one man swims nude with the boy. Lastly, it is poorly written. The author does not know how to correctly punctuate a compound sentence nor does he know a comma is used to separate two adjectives when describing something. I would avoid this book at all costs—you will dread teaching it, and your students will hate it. This may very well be the worst book I have ever read. It certainly is the worst book I have ever taught.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Are you kidding me? WORST BOOK EVER! Dont buy............

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    BLAH!!!!!!!

    WORST BOOK I HAVE EVER!!!! READ!!!! HATED IT SOOOOOOOO MUCH IT WAS TORTURE!!!! DO NOT READ IT!!!!!!

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    LOL TROLLFACE DERP DERP BAD BOOK

    LOL TROLLFACE DERP DERP BAD BOOK

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Um...

    My literacy teacher read part of this to us and it was very ,um, awkward,i guess? Would not really recommend

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    Contrary to the award recommendations and listings, I don't agre

    Contrary to the award recommendations and listings, I don't agree that this book is appropriate for 6-8 graders.  It contains graphic scenes of physical child abuse and alcoholism.  It may be appropriate for high schoolers, but not kids as young as 12 years old.  The book contains references to child abuse and violence, rages of anger, drug use, and other inappropriate content for young readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Noo

    I dont like it, but then again my favorite author is stephen king

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Stupid

    Worst book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    SOAGDFB!!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS IS A TERRIBLE BOOK. EXTREMELY STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Terrible!

    This book is a graphic, detailed account of a teenager dieing. That's all this book is. It goes into much detail about how his bones were sticking out of his body, how he is dieing, etc. Ver bad book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Celia

    You say it is boring well you are way more boring. You chicken poop.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    A

    Amigurumi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2