Customer Reviews for

Touching Spirit Bear

Average Rating 4.5
( 561 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(358)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Animal Spirit

Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story t...
Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story takes place in Minniapolis,Minnesota but the action takes place on a remote island in Alaska. The only reason I say the action takes place there is because that is where the main charcter Cole Mathews, a young man whose life has been miserable ever since his father would beat him senceless while his mother would simply do nothing and drink away her problems,has an encounter with a mistacle bear. He is sent off to this island for beating up a classmate from school. The motive, he snitched on cole and so cole beats him up bad. I believe this book is best for a young audience because they can relate more to this beacuse they seem to go through problems such as the one portreyd in this book. This book fulfills its purpose by having coles angry heart turned to a soft loving heart. I loved this book from beging to end because i could relly relate to what cole sometimes went through while i was growing up. I totally agree with the message the author gave which is to control your anger with all people. What I liked most was when cole and the person he hurt so bad made up and forgave eachother. This author did an awesome job in my opinion because i really enjoyed this book. Young people I recommend this book I know you will love it just as I did.

posted by READ-O-LOTS on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Nope

I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have...
I havent finished reading it but im almost done. I have to read it for school. I absolutely hate it! Cole is such a dumb character with mood swings! Who learn to love life after nearly dieing from an attach of a fake mystic bear and then hate life again!!!! I would have put it down ages ago if i didnt need it for school! :(

posted by Anonymous on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Animal Spirit

    Touching Spirit Bear is truley an inspiring book. What the author is trying to get across in this awesome book is that even though you may feel abondened and as if know one loves you, the author is saying no there is someone that is there that cares for you. The story takes place in Minniapolis,Minnesota but the action takes place on a remote island in Alaska. The only reason I say the action takes place there is because that is where the main charcter Cole Mathews, a young man whose life has been miserable ever since his father would beat him senceless while his mother would simply do nothing and drink away her problems,has an encounter with a mistacle bear. He is sent off to this island for beating up a classmate from school. The motive, he snitched on cole and so cole beats him up bad. I believe this book is best for a young audience because they can relate more to this beacuse they seem to go through problems such as the one portreyd in this book. This book fulfills its purpose by having coles angry heart turned to a soft loving heart. I loved this book from beging to end because i could relly relate to what cole sometimes went through while i was growing up. I totally agree with the message the author gave which is to control your anger with all people. What I liked most was when cole and the person he hurt so bad made up and forgave eachother. This author did an awesome job in my opinion because i really enjoyed this book. Young people I recommend this book I know you will love it just as I did.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesome

    This book was great! I read it for a reading competition and loved it. The author could really paint a picture in your mind. I could see Cole on the island so clearly!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of Touching Spirit Bear

    Touching Spirit Bear is one of the best books I¿ve read so far in my life. This book involves a 15 year old, whose name is Cole Matthews, who has been in trouble wit the law half his life. His latest crime has been the worst of all. Cole had attacked Peter; another student at his school. Peter was not only scarred physically but he had been scarred mentally. Peter even comes to a point where he wants to do physical harm to himself.<BR/> To help Cole control his anger a parole officer came up with the idea of putting Cole in a program called ¿Circle Justice¿. This program was a healing form of justice used by native cultures thousands of years ago.<BR/> I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read books with lessons and action because it is very well detailed. The biggest reason I like this book is because it shows how someone can make drastic changes after something bad happens to them. Ben Mikaelsen makes a lot of the important events very vivid and it feels as if there was a movie in your head.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    touching spirit bear

    i thought that this book was very good. although some of the characters were hard to follow. the auther did a great job. one of my favorite parts was after he was attacked by the bear and what he had to do to survive and realize their was a purpose in life for him. i still dont understand how rolling the stone up the hill everyday helped him in reality but it was still a great book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Great book

    This book is really good, intence and disturbing in so areas.
    Lb :)*

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Error...

    The nook summary thing got this sooo wrong. It's PETER Driscal, not ALEX Driscal... Either way, I love this book. The characters are so touching to the heart and sooo realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An easy read that teaches the all ages not to give up on a young

    An easy read that teaches the all ages not to give up on a young person, no matter how bad they appear to be. The book is inspiring and heart-warming, Better for teens because they can relate to what the young man is going through, but also may find it a bit unrealistic. As a teen myself, the character really struck me as someone that I would dislike. I could picture several people in my school in place of this character, and I never really fully believed that a person this bad could change so dramatically. But hey, you never know. It gives me a little more hope for some people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Good book

    I love this book. It is soooo gooood :3 Read it. I dont care what other people say, i love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Neat premise

    Another 8th grade summer reading book. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this story. Main character is a teenage boy who has been in lots of legal trouble. As a consequencce for his most recent crime, he is banished alone to an island for one year. (His parents and the juvenile justice system agree he should try a Native American program for repeat youth offenders.) Great plot details as the boy learns life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    DANIELA

    This book was a wonderful novel that i enjoyed very much ... i recomend it to eveyone :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A little confusing

    When i read it(which i still am) it kind of like it goes back and forth from the place the guy cole is supposed to stay at to the jail! But it is good so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Good

    I had to read this book as a school requirement. I would have liked it more except that we went SO SLOW. I would recommend it. Note: The summary says it's Alex Driscal as the person Cole attacked, but it was actually Peter Driscal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Hightly recommended

    Good example of how teenagers can be cruel to one another. Makes you think about the choices you make in realtion to others. Not sure I'd be stront enough to survive on an island for that long by myself.

    Would be a good book for English classes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Good book for troubled. defiant teens

    As a family therapist, I was lent this book by a client. After reading it, I recommended it to several teen clients as an introduction to spirituality and personal responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Good

    First of all the kids name is peter note alex and everything else on what explains it is wrong

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Boring at first, but gets a lot better.

    What is with alex? I thought his name was peter?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesome

    This book is amazing I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    So far

    Looking at the cover makes me want read this!!!???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Andrea

    Not a bad book at all. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Awesome

    Last year we read this book in language arts. It is a good story about forgivness and making the right choices. Its a story for aanyone to read tho some parts might b scary for young children. So i reccomend this book to everyone 6th grade and beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6