Customer Reviews for

Touching the Clouds: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 216 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Historical romance

This 290 page historical romance was interesting. It is about a woman pilot in 1935. She decides to be a bush pilot in Alaska. The 1935s were a time when the only thing women were thought capable of were keeping house, cooking and having babies. The heroine also wanted ...
This 290 page historical romance was interesting. It is about a woman pilot in 1935. She decides to be a bush pilot in Alaska. The 1935s were a time when the only thing women were thought capable of were keeping house, cooking and having babies. The heroine also wanted to get away from a past tragedy, which acquired seven years before. She breaks off her engagement, leaves the family farm and forages a new life for herself in an untamed land. As she makes new friends and learns to love her new country, two men enter her life and she wonders if one of them will fill the emptiness in heart. This book does not contain sex, cursing or violence. It would be a a good book for tweens on up.

AD

posted by 19189092 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Touching the Clouds Review

Book: Touching the Clouds
Author: Bonnie Leon
Publisher: Revell
ISBN: 978-0-8007-3359-9
Genre: Historical Romance

I recently received Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon through Baker Publishing Group. My first impression was positive. Although it was a dreaded "h...
Book: Touching the Clouds
Author: Bonnie Leon
Publisher: Revell
ISBN: 978-0-8007-3359-9
Genre: Historical Romance

I recently received Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon through Baker Publishing Group. My first impression was positive. Although it was a dreaded "historical romance" it had very little cliche about it. Bonnie's characters were believable and interesting and the storyline was intriguing. Other than one or two small references to the depression and the sexist culture, the book could have easily been in the present day.

The storyline: This is the story of "Fearless Kate". A pilot since she was little Kate is running away to the great north of Alaska to find adventure and escape her past. Once there she discovers that the glamorous stories she heard of life as a bush pilot are exaggerated. It is dangerous territory, fraught with winds, storms, and deadly winters. However, Kate also finds love and friendship. She finds a sense of community she has never felt elsewhere. And she finds the adventure her heart so desperately seeks. Will she be able to escape her past or must she face it before it threatens to destroy her?

What I liked about this book: My favorite part of this book was the timeline. For once, romance and love took longer than 5 minutes to develop! Bonnie portrays the story over a year of more and because of that when Kate finds love in the end, it is not so unrealistic. The story is interesting, the romance is satisfying, and the characters are believable.

What I didn't like about this book: All right, any good romance has some cliche right? Kate is the typical damsel in the distress. She is just the one who doesn't know it yet! She is cliche. She is stubborn and headstrong, always getting herself into trouble that warrant a rescue, or some man to look out for her. At the same time, none of the situations are unbelievable and she doesn't swoon at them, so they aren't quite so sickening as some :)

Who this book is good for: I really enjoyed this book. It is a great book for a rainy day. It is not a thriller or suspense, you can put it down and read it when you have the time. Most women would most likely enjoy this book. It is an easy read but not too short. Overall, very satisfying.

**I received a complimentary review copy of this book through Baker Publishing Group

posted by rspooner on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching the Clouds Review

    Book: Touching the Clouds
    Author: Bonnie Leon
    Publisher: Revell
    ISBN: 978-0-8007-3359-9
    Genre: Historical Romance

    I recently received Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon through Baker Publishing Group. My first impression was positive. Although it was a dreaded "historical romance" it had very little cliche about it. Bonnie's characters were believable and interesting and the storyline was intriguing. Other than one or two small references to the depression and the sexist culture, the book could have easily been in the present day.

    The storyline: This is the story of "Fearless Kate". A pilot since she was little Kate is running away to the great north of Alaska to find adventure and escape her past. Once there she discovers that the glamorous stories she heard of life as a bush pilot are exaggerated. It is dangerous territory, fraught with winds, storms, and deadly winters. However, Kate also finds love and friendship. She finds a sense of community she has never felt elsewhere. And she finds the adventure her heart so desperately seeks. Will she be able to escape her past or must she face it before it threatens to destroy her?

    What I liked about this book: My favorite part of this book was the timeline. For once, romance and love took longer than 5 minutes to develop! Bonnie portrays the story over a year of more and because of that when Kate finds love in the end, it is not so unrealistic. The story is interesting, the romance is satisfying, and the characters are believable.

    What I didn't like about this book: All right, any good romance has some cliche right? Kate is the typical damsel in the distress. She is just the one who doesn't know it yet! She is cliche. She is stubborn and headstrong, always getting herself into trouble that warrant a rescue, or some man to look out for her. At the same time, none of the situations are unbelievable and she doesn't swoon at them, so they aren't quite so sickening as some :)

    Who this book is good for: I really enjoyed this book. It is a great book for a rainy day. It is not a thriller or suspense, you can put it down and read it when you have the time. Most women would most likely enjoy this book. It is an easy read but not too short. Overall, very satisfying.

    **I received a complimentary review copy of this book through Baker Publishing Group

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Good story

    Author does a good job at telling a story of an Alaskan adventure. I did find it to drag on a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Not Bad

    Good book, but there were many scenes that switched with no transition and it was confusing. I think the editor may have gotten a little cut-crazy or something. Overall though, I enjoyed the book and would read the entires series and the author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Enjoyable read

    Enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    good read

    I like reading historical fiction and about different places, I love alaska and cant wait to go back there I will read the other books in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    A good read.

    For a day of relaxing, a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Good

    Good book. Could have added more to the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Enjoyable read but nothing too memorable

    Cute, enjoyable story but nothing special. I didn't find myself connecting with the characters; they lacked a bit of realness. The writing style was okay for the most part but could be a little juvenile at times and lacked proper transitions (ie, a paragraph ends, next paragraph starts a few weeks or months later, yet the author fails to mention any passage of time at all, which can be very confusing to the reader).

    I'm not much for romance novels, so this was a nice light introduction to that style. I finished the book feeling like I enjoyed it, but not finding myself eager to read the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. Interesting plot/setting that steps

    I really enjoyed this book. Interesting plot/setting that steps outside of the usual romance formulas. Nice wholesome romance that isn't preachy. Definitely worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good read for traveling

    Gives an interesting description of Alaska in the 1930s from a female pilot's perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Again, poor ending

    This is the second bbook i have read writen by Leon. While the book is interesting and predictable, the last pages left much to be desired. Again, the author could have put more work into the ending. It just leapt to the climax without connection. It felt like the author got tired of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Okay book

    The story line is good. It gets a little mundane with details at time. Such as she brewed coffee, she poured it in a cup, and then added creamer..... The ending came suddenly and seemed abrupt and out of place. The romance development was lacking as the main characters barely spoke throughout the story. Still it wasn't a waste of time and had many interesting moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    okay

    fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Fair

    I would recommend it for light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Okay, not great

    I would read another book by this author, but it wasn't a favorite. Characters were too predictable. I liked the setting and th fact that she fought to be a pilot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Good

    I didnt think i would like this book. But it made for a good quick read, though the ending was kind of ho-hum. Still a good book worth a chance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2