BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Touching the Clouds: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Historical romance

This 290 page historical romance was interesting. It is about a woman pilot in 1935. She decides to be a bush pilot in Alaska. The 1935s were a time when the only thing women were thought capable of were keeping house, cooking and having babies. The heroine also wanted ...
This 290 page historical romance was interesting. It is about a woman pilot in 1935. She decides to be a bush pilot in Alaska. The 1935s were a time when the only thing women were thought capable of were keeping house, cooking and having babies. The heroine also wanted to get away from a past tragedy, which acquired seven years before. She breaks off her engagement, leaves the family farm and forages a new life for herself in an untamed land. As she makes new friends and learns to love her new country, two men enter her life and she wonders if one of them will fill the emptiness in heart. This book does not contain sex, cursing or violence. It would be a a good book for tweens on up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Touching the Clouds Review

Book: Touching the Clouds
Author: Bonnie Leon
Publisher: Revell
ISBN: 978-0-8007-3359-9
Genre: Historical Romance

I recently received Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon through Baker Publishing Group. My first impression was positive. Although it was a dreaded "h...
Book: Touching the Clouds
Author: Bonnie Leon
Publisher: Revell
ISBN: 978-0-8007-3359-9
Genre: Historical Romance

I recently received Touching the Clouds by Bonnie Leon through Baker Publishing Group. My first impression was positive. Although it was a dreaded "historical romance" it had very little cliche about it. Bonnie's characters were believable and interesting and the storyline was intriguing. Other than one or two small references to the depression and the sexist culture, the book could have easily been in the present day.

The storyline: This is the story of "Fearless Kate". A pilot since she was little Kate is running away to the great north of Alaska to find adventure and escape her past. Once there she discovers that the glamorous stories she heard of life as a bush pilot are exaggerated. It is dangerous territory, fraught with winds, storms, and deadly winters. However, Kate also finds love and friendship. She finds a sense of community she has never felt elsewhere. And she finds the adventure her heart so desperately seeks. Will she be able to escape her past or must she face it before it threatens to destroy her?

What I liked about this book: My favorite part of this book was the timeline. For once, romance and love took longer than 5 minutes to develop! Bonnie portrays the story over a year of more and because of that when Kate finds love in the end, it is not so unrealistic. The story is interesting, the romance is satisfying, and the characters are believable.

What I didn't like about this book: All right, any good romance has some cliche right? Kate is the typical damsel in the distress. She is just the one who doesn't know it yet! She is cliche. She is stubborn and headstrong, always getting herself into trouble that warrant a rescue, or some man to look out for her. At the same time, none of the situations are unbelievable and she doesn't swoon at them, so they aren't quite so sickening as some :)

Who this book is good for: I really enjoyed this book. It is a great book for a rainy day. It is not a thriller or suspense, you can put it down and read it when you have the time. Most women would most likely enjoy this book. It is an easy read but not too short. Overall, very satisfying.

**I received a complimentary review copy of this book through Baker Publishing Group

posted by rspooner on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Touching the Clouds

    This young woman is adventurous and loves to fly. She leaves her family apple orchard in Yakima, Washington and flies to Alaska to become a bush pilot. She has spirit to fly her own plane and go out on difficult flights always with a positive outlook and thanking God for her blessings.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Great Read!

    I couldn't put this book down. This book is about searching your soul and forgiving yourself. The romance (learning to love and trust, not smutt) thrown in was just icing on the cake to make this book even better.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Love and Adventure in Alaska

    Take two people trying to escape their past. Add in the beauty of the Alaskan wilderness. Season it with fascinating details of early aviation, and you have the recipe for a memorable story. Bonnie Leon's latest book, Touching the Clouds, is exactly that: a memorable story. Readers will root for Kate as she struggles to overcome prejudice against women pilots. (It's 1935, and women pilots were few, especially in male-dominated Alaska.) They'll fall in love with Paul, a man with a secret. And they'll stay up way too late at night to find out whether this couple will have a happily-ever-after.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Great read!

    I like this book because it is a christian book. The author puts you right up there in the cockpit with the pilot. You soar with her and feel the granduer of the scenic flights. I would reccomend this to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Bonnie brings yet another fantastic book to us...

    "Touching The Clouds" was a great read for those looking for a story filled with adventure, some romance and a great message from Christ spread through the pages. Kate will inspire you from beginning to end with her amazing courage and determination to make it as a woman bush pilot in the great Alaskan wilds. Along with Paul, Mike, Sassa and the others, Bonnie will make you fall in love with the characters in this book and keep you reading well into the wee hours of morning ( as she did me lol). I give this book 5 stars and encourage all of you looking for a great , fun, summer read to snatch this book up before another day goes by! Amazing work Bonnie!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Recommend

    Enjoyed reading and living the life of the people the author wrote about. Very touching and a heartfelt story. It really is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Thunderclan camp

    Res 1=maps and ruls res2=bios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Liz

    U here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    CAN'T WAIT TO READ THE OTHER TWO BOOKS THAT FOLLOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Good Read

    Excellent book of adventure in the Alaskan wilderness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this adventurous and exciting book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Good read - very authentic

    As a private pilot I was especially interested in this series. The flying sequences are very true to life and I was able to fly vicariously the Alaskan wilderness - something I would never do in real life. I have read three books in the series and the third is as good as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Recommend this book

    I enjoyed this book about an early woman Alaskan bush pilot. Well written. Good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Excellent

    This is a fantastic book. I love christian fiction and this one really stands out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Very enjoyable read

    Bonnie Leon put a lot of effort into this piece of work to make it historically accurate ... making it a very enjoyable read.
    Sure, it occasionally tends to ddrag and get a bit wordy, but overall, it is one of those books you jukst hate to put down ... very enjoyable.
    Bonnie intertwines to emotions of a broken relationship, the loss of a good friend, and leaving her family thousands of miles away, with a newfound lifestyle in the wild reaches of early Alaska ... when women were not supposed to do certain things ... like fly bush aircraft.
    I enjoyed it very much. I think you will too if you are looking for a relaxing, enjoyable, well-written novel of a woman flying in an untamed, yet undeveloped area when Anchorage's airfield was primitive, at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book!

    It takes a lot to keep me attached to a book but from the second I got this book I enjoyed it! Keeps you on your yoes for what could happen next with a little romance put within.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Strong female character

    If you like strong female characters, then this is a book for you. A very independent female Alaskan bush pilot takes you on some fun adventures in the Alaskan wilderness. I didn't really understand the romance, but the flying was cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    great novel

    This is an awesome read, would recommend it to any female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Ezcellently written

    A very moving book where the characters seem to come to life right before your eyes. Great story line. I can't wait to read the 2nd and 3rd books in this series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5