Customer Reviews for

Tough Customer: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

fantastic non stop action thriller

Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected...
Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected to see either of them again.

One night Caroline calls him to come home because Berry desperately needs him as she is being stalked by Oren Starks. The psychopath entered her house while she was in the shower and aimed a gun at her. Her co-worker ran inside when he heard her scream; but Oren shoots him and yells at Berry he will return to kill her. While in hiding Oren kills an elderly man and a young woman so the pressure is on the sheriff to apprehend him before someone else dies at the hands of this lunatic. Dodge knows he still loves Caroline and adores his daughter. He teams up with Merritt County Sheriff's Deputy Ski Nylander to go after the maniac as each vows to never quit until they either die, or Oren is stopped and captured alive or dead.

The lead in Smash Cuts, Dodge returns, but remains a loner who is unable to allow any woman get close to her since he never moved passed his love for Caroline who in spite of the decades still rocks his world while the scars of their break-up haunts him today. Even with that emotional hang-up, this is a fantastic non stop action thriller with an underlying second chance romance as Sandra Brown will rock the reader's world.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, unoriginal, cliched ending.

"Tough Customer" is not one of Brown's finest creative productions. Is there a point that every author arrives at where they look to cliché, overused endings as their own? I was bitterly disappointed with her ending. I felt cheated and Brown honestly insulted my in...
"Tough Customer" is not one of Brown's finest creative productions. Is there a point that every author arrives at where they look to cliché, overused endings as their own? I was bitterly disappointed with her ending. I felt cheated and Brown honestly insulted my intelligence. As part of the reading audience, shouldn't we be given the chance to solve the mystery with hints that the writer drops throughout the book? As far as I can recall, Brown didn't give the reader any such chance to figure out the ending.

What kept "Tough Customer" from bombing completely was the story behind Dodge and Caroline. It gave the book its only pulse. There was more action going on in the flashbacks then there were during the entire novel. Throughout the story I became more and more exasperated with Berry, who kept back a plethora of details from the police and made her less credible throughout the novel.

I'm very disappointed in this book, as I am an avid Brown fan. This was not one of her best - but personally, it's a slight step up from "Smash Cut", which was absolutely terrible.

posted by spinspinnsuga on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 488 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic non stop action thriller

    Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected to see either of them again.

    One night Caroline calls him to come home because Berry desperately needs him as she is being stalked by Oren Starks. The psychopath entered her house while she was in the shower and aimed a gun at her. Her co-worker ran inside when he heard her scream; but Oren shoots him and yells at Berry he will return to kill her. While in hiding Oren kills an elderly man and a young woman so the pressure is on the sheriff to apprehend him before someone else dies at the hands of this lunatic. Dodge knows he still loves Caroline and adores his daughter. He teams up with Merritt County Sheriff's Deputy Ski Nylander to go after the maniac as each vows to never quit until they either die, or Oren is stopped and captured alive or dead.

    The lead in Smash Cuts, Dodge returns, but remains a loner who is unable to allow any woman get close to her since he never moved passed his love for Caroline who in spite of the decades still rocks his world while the scars of their break-up haunts him today. Even with that emotional hang-up, this is a fantastic non stop action thriller with an underlying second chance romance as Sandra Brown will rock the reader's world.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrible, unoriginal, cliched ending.

    "Tough Customer" is not one of Brown's finest creative productions. Is there a point that every author arrives at where they look to cliché, overused endings as their own? I was bitterly disappointed with her ending. I felt cheated and Brown honestly insulted my intelligence. As part of the reading audience, shouldn't we be given the chance to solve the mystery with hints that the writer drops throughout the book? As far as I can recall, Brown didn't give the reader any such chance to figure out the ending.

    What kept "Tough Customer" from bombing completely was the story behind Dodge and Caroline. It gave the book its only pulse. There was more action going on in the flashbacks then there were during the entire novel. Throughout the story I became more and more exasperated with Berry, who kept back a plethora of details from the police and made her less credible throughout the novel.

    I'm very disappointed in this book, as I am an avid Brown fan. This was not one of her best - but personally, it's a slight step up from "Smash Cut", which was absolutely terrible.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Tough Customer

    I usually enjoy Sandra Brown's book but this one made me crazy. One of the main characters of the book is a rough-around-the edges kind of guy named Dodge. He smokes.....okay we get that. Ms. Brown mentions this at least 100 times throughout the book. Every other page she has Dodge going outside for a cigarette or fishing in his pocket wishing he could smoke. Because she mentioned cigarettes, smoking cigarettes or the fact that Dodge was about to have a fit because he couldn't smoke so often throughout the book it makes me wonder how much the tobacco companies paid her for "product placement".

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a Tough Customer

    I am a enthusiastic reader of Sandra Brown and really enjoyed Smash Cut. So, I was looking forward to reading Tough Customer. I was so disappointed with the book that I took it back to my local Barnes & Noble. The writing was extremely choppy. For example, Brown has the younger female character (Dodge's daughter) suddenly confess to several "mistakes" that were critical to subsequent events without even inviting the reader into the thought process. She tells her mother that she has figured out that Dodge is her real father even though we again have not been invited into her thinking. There is no real character development and I was not invested emotionally into who they are - I didn't like them. Brown's editor did her a disservice by not doing the job.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    Where Oh Where Has Sandra Brown Gone?

    Okay I am going to try and help Sandra out here, b/c though I have rated this book low, some of her earlier work (i.e. anything from 2001 or before)is absolutely incredible and is why I have such a low opinion of some of her most recent works. If you have never read a book by Sandra Brown, don't bother with this book at all...Don't look at it, don't even flip through it, to be honest its crap and I have no idea what in the world has happened to Sandra Brown's writings in the past few years. Now no more negative...lets talk about books of hers that you SHOULD read, b/c they have some of the richest character developments and some of the best twists I have ever read. My favorite is Envy!!! This, to me, was her last amazing book! Other novels of hers that are fantastic are French Silk, Fat Tuesday, Mirror Image, The Alibi, and basicly anything before 2001. For those of us avid fans that have read every piece of work by her and now pray each October for the newest novel to be more like her older work and less like her water downed, predictable, blah work that she has put out in the last few years, we just need to hold on and hope that she sees the light :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    This could not have been written by Sandra Brown!

    I'm a big fan of Sandra Brown novels, and I've real all of them, including her early works done under a different name. This book was a huge disappointment! The main character was poorly drawn and not particularly likable. The dialogue was dull and not what one would expect from such an accomplished author. I can't help but have a a sneaking suspicion that this book was written by someone else. Or perhaps Ms. Brown was distracted by "Rainwater" and not able to concentrate on her character development properly. The reasons why people behaved the way they did seemed to be thrown in when the editor or reader required an explanation. I do hope we get to read more Sandra Brown stories, but I also hope that they are the type of novels that her loyal readers look forward to and expect from her. This was not a page turner and it definitely was not worth the price paid to download to my Nook! Wait until you can get it at your local library.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Sandra brown

    Holds my undivided attention every time, all are "must read"'s

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    So disappointed!

    I have probably read everything Sandra Brown has written, starting with her romance paperbacks, and enjoyed them for what they were at that time. I am still wishing she would leave out all of the graphic sex details because she has grown beyond that as a writer - or I thought she had in the past years with her wonderful hardback thrillers. This was a good book when I started it, but I actually had to wonder if she wrote it because there were parts that didn't flow. Then there was all the references to cigarette cravings. Parts in it that seemed to just be misplaced. I still could have recommended it until I reached the end of the book, and then I wanted to throw it down and stomp it. The story stopped. It didn't end. I kept wondering if there were pages missing. I even looked to see if there was a note that said something about "look for Part 2 coming out in October"! When I invest my money on a hardback book, and my time reading it, I certainly expect it to have an ending. The characters may continue in another book, but this story should have ended in this book. Am totally surprised that Ms. Brown's editor didn't do a better job for her with this book. Don't know if I'll spend my money on another Brown book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have loved everything I read by Sandra Brown and this was no exception. It was a great read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Sandra Brown is a new author for me and will definately become another one of my favorites. I loved this book and the Character of Dodge Hanley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Must read

    Sandra Brown never dissapoints

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Forget it!

    I enjoyed Sandra Brown's romances early on and when she switche to mystery I kept reading with mixed reactions. Tough Customer follows "Smash Cut" with some of the same characters, however, it's not nearly as entertaining. Ms. Brown resorts some some trite overdone plot developments especially at the end. I was disgusted that I had wasted so much time when the end was so disappointing. Don't bother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Okay read

    This was an okay book, considering what I usually see from Sandra Brown. I read all types of books and I have been a fan of SB for a while, the writing style was classic SB, but it was still missing the little extra something Sandr Brown has become famous for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    NOT HER BEST

    One of the worst Sandra Brown books I've read. Really enjoyed Smash Cut but barely remembered the characters from it since it was so long ago. The characters were weak and didn't enjoy any of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Disappointing

    I found most of the lead characters unlikable, the derogatory references to gay people offensive, and it took me a long time to get involved in the story. The twist at the end was dumb. I doubt I buy another book by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read that keeps you guessing

    I love Sandra Brown and this book was no exception. The characters were fascinating and the plot kept you guessing. It was a thriller that kept you wanting to keep turning the pages. The ending was a complete surprise that I doubt you would guess.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Very exciting! A must read!

    Dodge for President!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Well write

    Awesome book full if thrills and twists you wouldnt expect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sandra Brown is a great author!

    I love all of Sandra Brown's books! She really knows how to weave the characters together and keep you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Lamest book ive ever read. Cant believe i finished it

    Half the book was just a repeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 488 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25