Customer Reviews for

Tough Customer: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 482 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(100)

2 Star

(53)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

fantastic non stop action thriller

Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected...
Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected to see either of them again.

One night Caroline calls him to come home because Berry desperately needs him as she is being stalked by Oren Starks. The psychopath entered her house while she was in the shower and aimed a gun at her. Her co-worker ran inside when he heard her scream; but Oren shoots him and yells at Berry he will return to kill her. While in hiding Oren kills an elderly man and a young woman so the pressure is on the sheriff to apprehend him before someone else dies at the hands of this lunatic. Dodge knows he still loves Caroline and adores his daughter. He teams up with Merritt County Sheriff's Deputy Ski Nylander to go after the maniac as each vows to never quit until they either die, or Oren is stopped and captured alive or dead.

The lead in Smash Cuts, Dodge returns, but remains a loner who is unable to allow any woman get close to her since he never moved passed his love for Caroline who in spite of the decades still rocks his world while the scars of their break-up haunts him today. Even with that emotional hang-up, this is a fantastic non stop action thriller with an underlying second chance romance as Sandra Brown will rock the reader's world.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Terrible, unoriginal, cliched ending.

"Tough Customer" is not one of Brown's finest creative productions. Is there a point that every author arrives at where they look to cliché, overused endings as their own? I was bitterly disappointed with her ending. I felt cheated and Brown honestly insulted my in...
"Tough Customer" is not one of Brown's finest creative productions. Is there a point that every author arrives at where they look to cliché, overused endings as their own? I was bitterly disappointed with her ending. I felt cheated and Brown honestly insulted my intelligence. As part of the reading audience, shouldn't we be given the chance to solve the mystery with hints that the writer drops throughout the book? As far as I can recall, Brown didn't give the reader any such chance to figure out the ending.

What kept "Tough Customer" from bombing completely was the story behind Dodge and Caroline. It gave the book its only pulse. There was more action going on in the flashbacks then there were during the entire novel. Throughout the story I became more and more exasperated with Berry, who kept back a plethora of details from the police and made her less credible throughout the novel.

I'm very disappointed in this book, as I am an avid Brown fan. This was not one of her best - but personally, it's a slight step up from "Smash Cut", which was absolutely terrible.

posted by spinspinnsuga on August 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic non stop action thriller

    Dodge Henley is an investigator for a defense attorney. He and real estate manager Caroline King had a child together, but Dodge betrayed her so she turned her back on him. The last time he saw his daughter was when she was born thirty years ago. Dodge never expected to see either of them again.

    One night Caroline calls him to come home because Berry desperately needs him as she is being stalked by Oren Starks. The psychopath entered her house while she was in the shower and aimed a gun at her. Her co-worker ran inside when he heard her scream; but Oren shoots him and yells at Berry he will return to kill her. While in hiding Oren kills an elderly man and a young woman so the pressure is on the sheriff to apprehend him before someone else dies at the hands of this lunatic. Dodge knows he still loves Caroline and adores his daughter. He teams up with Merritt County Sheriff's Deputy Ski Nylander to go after the maniac as each vows to never quit until they either die, or Oren is stopped and captured alive or dead.

    The lead in Smash Cuts, Dodge returns, but remains a loner who is unable to allow any woman get close to her since he never moved passed his love for Caroline who in spite of the decades still rocks his world while the scars of their break-up haunts him today. Even with that emotional hang-up, this is a fantastic non stop action thriller with an underlying second chance romance as Sandra Brown will rock the reader's world.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Sandra brown

    Holds my undivided attention every time, all are "must read"'s

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have loved everything I read by Sandra Brown and this was no exception. It was a great read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Sandra Brown is a new author for me and will definately become another one of my favorites. I loved this book and the Character of Dodge Hanley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Must read

    Sandra Brown never dissapoints

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Very exciting! A must read!

    Dodge for President!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Well write

    Awesome book full if thrills and twists you wouldnt expect

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Another Sandra Brown hit.

    I still have a lot of her books to read. Glad I discovered her after she wrote so many books I have yet to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyed it :)

    This was one of the first books I've read of Brown. I really enjoyed the book and have decided to keep moving through her novels.

    After this book, I went to "Play Dirty". Which- if you liked "Tough Customer", you'd probably enjoy it as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Even thou this book has a lot of horrible review I loved it! I really loved Dodge, I just believe in flat out honesty even if it comes out crude. I just wish we could have more Caroline & Dodge without everyone else. hope there is another Dodge story and this time I want more of him and Caroline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    HIghly Recommended

    My neighbor lent me this book and I honestly couldn't put it down. In fact, I have already finished two of Sandra's Brown's other books and cannot wait to get another!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Love Sandra Brown

    I have yet to come across a book written by Sandra Brown that I have not loved! I have read this book 3 times already!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved It ~~~~~

    I hadn't read a Sandra Brown book in ages. I saw this in Barnes and Noble and the story line looked very interesting. I read it in a short time and I enjoyed it very much. Maybe there is a sequel in the near future ... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    Sandra Brown is never disappointing.....

    GREAT book. Great romance (two in one), great surprises, great writing. I was very pleased with this book. Didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Two Great Love Stories for the Price of one

    Dodge Hanley (Smash Cut) has spent the last 30 years trying to forget the biggest mistake of his life, he's done it by drink and by smoke and by recklessness, it only took a 30 second phone call to bring it all back. Thirty years ago Caroline King threw away the man she loved, she couldn't live with his betrayal, but now she needs him because the daughter he's only seen once needs him more. Berry is a successful advertising employee, she's got the world by the tail until it stops turns around and bites her, she's got a stalker, someone she knows and now fears and he's getting more and more seriously unstable. Deputy Ski Nyland has investigated a lot of crime in his time but there is something seriously wrong with this one, he has to use all his ingenuity and all his tricks to solve this one. But it doesn't stop at stalking and Dodge and Ski and Caroline have to unite their efforts to protect Berry from a "tough customer".
    Sandra Brown is the reigning queen of romantic suspense and her crown can be fitted for more jewels after this one. Her plot is thoughtful, imaginative and creative and could be plucked out of any large city or small town news report. Her dialogue is the no-nonsense you'd expect from private eyes and seasoned cops mixed with the southern belle narrative of Caroline and a combination of the two for Berry. Her characters are memorable, in fact they're unforgettable and the four main protagonists share the spotlight equally in their importance and what they bring to the story. The two couples are very different and yet very right for each other and we have two very different love stories one of second chances and one of getting it right the first time and both for all practical purposes both a love at first sight story too which make the emotions more intense. The love scenes are sensual and spicy and yet leave some room for the imagination.
    So if your meter is running low for a great romantic suspense, a chilling thriller, a commanding mystery or just a must read. Give Tough Customer a try, you won't be sorry you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Another great Sandra Brown book

    I loved this book. Sandra can bring characters to life like no other author I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I enjoyed it!

    I thought the book was a very good read. I loved all the characters. Dodge was great and I loved Ski. I cannot wait for her to write her next novel. I wish she would write them quicker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9