Customer Reviews for

Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat, Lazy Slob Who Did Good

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Like Kevin Smith, I'm a comic book collecting nerd. I've been a

    Like Kevin Smith, I'm a comic book collecting nerd. I've been a nerd / geek all my life and have had people treat me poorly because of it. That's why I love this book. It's great to see a fat, lazy slob like Kevin make it big. Like many nerds, I couldn't get a date in high school and didn't exactly attract the women in college. I'm not a great catch.
    But Kevin is a normal guy like me. Except he's done very well for himself. I especially love the parts where he riffs on good-looking Hollywood types like Bruce Willis.
    If you like Kevin Smith, you'll love this book. It's one of very few funny memoirs written by nerds-done-good-for-themselves. This is a small, but really entertaining genre in itself.
    I also loved "In Stitches" by Dr. Anthony Youn. He's a comic-collecting, skinny, Asian nerd who became a plastic surgeon and describes how he found himself and the secret to getting a good woman. I LOVED this one. Absolutely hilarious and touching.
    I also recommend any of Rob Sheffield's books if you are a music buff. He's a geek, too. In the end, kudos to Kevin Smith for giving nerds like me someone to root for!

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Funnnnnny f*in sh*t

    Just read the free sample and it was so funny im so gonna get the book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is yet another fantastic book by Kevin Smith, the lovable a

    This is yet another fantastic book by Kevin Smith, the lovable and personable director/writer.

    If you dig his movies, you'll dig this book!
     
    Smith is beginning to reach the status of Kurt Vonnegut Jr. in that he can make you laugh and cry in the same sentence.

    Always a pleasure to read a great mind bare their soul,

    Just buy it, you won't regret it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Amazing read

    As an avid fan of Smiths work, this book really gave me somewhat of an inside view of what exactly goes on in his dome. His advice really struck a chord with me, mainly to go out and do it. What ever it is, just go and make your dreams come true.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    Sir Smith entertains as always and drops some knowledge.

    He's so smart and funny. He makes you wish you could hang out with him even more than you already do. And pay attention, kids, there's some good advice in here about life and sh*t.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Loved it

    Kevin Smith is a great aurthor. I loved the book and i couldnt put it dow .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Loved It!

    I'm a huge Kevin Smith fan to begin with. I listen to his podcasts, I've watched all his movies many times, and I go and see him every time he is in town. I'll start by saying that this book is not for the easily offended. Smith talks about everything from his conception to being deemed "too fat to fly" to his difficulties working with Bruce Willis to the death of his father. The main point of the book is that you can overcome any situation and Kevin Smith is living proof of it. He went from the son of a Post Office worker in the suburbs of New Jersey to the director of some of the best movies of my generation. Excellent book, especially if you enjoy his movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Pretty good sh*t here

    Interesting guy, funny stories, very entertaining read. Some may find his language a bit raw but honestly he has many good perspectives on life and an entertaining delivery. So it seems silent Bob speaks, and has much to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Fyt

    Love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Katana

    Hiya

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Shadow

    He waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    From too fat to fly, to too funny to put down.

    If you follow Kevin Smith, you know what to expect. If you don't you'll be entertained by his wit, his sense of humor and the real warmth for his dad and those close to him that he shares. Kevin is a deep and intense personality and no matter what, at the end you'll be glad you spent the time with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    LOL

    Loved everything about the book. I found it very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2