Customer Reviews for

Tourist Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Good Start as a Solo Author

When searching for early Carl Hiaasen novels, I noticed that his earlier publications were co-authored. Tourist Season seemed to be his first solo effort. The first couple of chapters were a little disjointed, but it didn't take time for Mr. Hiaasen to find his stride...
When searching for early Carl Hiaasen novels, I noticed that his earlier publications were co-authored. Tourist Season seemed to be his first solo effort. The first couple of chapters were a little disjointed, but it didn't take time for Mr. Hiaasen to find his stride. It reminded me of early Janet Evanovich. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to reading another of his early novels, until I work my way to his more current works.

posted by JimJAG48 on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but Not Great

My first Hiassen novel and I will read more of his work. This one was a decent first effort, but was not as strong as the works of others. The book starts out a little jumbled and several characters seem to be introduced too quickly. For the majority of the book, t...
My first Hiassen novel and I will read more of his work. This one was a decent first effort, but was not as strong as the works of others. The book starts out a little jumbled and several characters seem to be introduced too quickly. For the majority of the book, the story moves quickly, has several twists and holds one's interest. By the end, however, we're back to a slower pace, bogging down in places and offering a less than satisfactory conclusion. It is a good book, but not at all great!

posted by SlapShot62 on July 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    shame on me, I've lived in Florida for 30 years now and this is

    shame on me, I've lived in Florida for 30 years now and this is the first Hiaasen book I have read, it will NOT be my last. super enjoyable. any time you think this is outrageous or over the top, know from someone who lives here that every character rang true. Not one false note. Lots of laughing out loud. THANK YOU 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    A Good Start as a Solo Author

    When searching for early Carl Hiaasen novels, I noticed that his earlier publications were co-authored. Tourist Season seemed to be his first solo effort. The first couple of chapters were a little disjointed, but it didn't take time for Mr. Hiaasen to find his stride. It reminded me of early Janet Evanovich. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and look forward to reading another of his early novels, until I work my way to his more current works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good but Not Great

    My first Hiassen novel and I will read more of his work. This one was a decent first effort, but was not as strong as the works of others. The book starts out a little jumbled and several characters seem to be introduced too quickly. For the majority of the book, the story moves quickly, has several twists and holds one's interest. By the end, however, we're back to a slower pace, bogging down in places and offering a less than satisfactory conclusion. It is a good book, but not at all great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Not What I Expected. A disappointed Fan

    I've been a fan of Carl's for a long time and I have read most of his books. For fast easy fun reading he is, in my opinion, the best. The plots were always imaginative if not always plausible. In addition, there never was calousness or cruelty except maybe towards a really bad guy who richly deserved it. This book, which apparently was written early in his career, has a plot requiring incomphensible behavior by the characters and contains mindless cruety to innocent people and animals. I suppose every author has a bad book or two in him so let us hope this is Carl's only one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Wild, Funny Ride!

    As per usual, Hiaasen gives a funny and enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Autumnclan border

    Autumnclan border

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    6/20/13

    6/20/13 Was incredibly funny at times, then just downright violent at others. Towards the middle it just became repititous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love

    Vernon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not just for tourists

    Frankly I was bored with this novel for the first four chapters. Eventually I started to understand the story line and it became a can't put down type of novel. The main idea of the novel is that tourists and those who go from tourist to homeowners can inspire real estate people to wreck havoc on the environment as they try to make a fast buck. The villians in this novel are basically people who want to protect nature from those who want to destroy it. Their solutions, are what makes this an interesting book. Who are the real villians in this story might make you expend some extra brain power, but it is worth the effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Good Read

    I've become a fan of Hiassen and this is the 4th book I read by him. It wasn't my favorite, but still a good read overall. If you like this, I recommend his other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Really Should Read Between the Lines!!!

    When reading the other reviews the word DARK and FUNNY were used many times. That describes this book. I really do not like to read DARK Humor and so I can't recommend the book to everyone. If you do like something along those lines this book would meet your needs. Just like a previous review this would be a good book for those who want to get to know the characters. This would be the book to read first. I am a huge fan of Robert Parker's Spencer Series. This book did not thrill me as much as the Spencer Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Hiaasen always delivers!

    You gotta wonder about a guy who makes up such wild characters, theater of the absurd plot twists, and downright laugh-out-loud dialogue. Understand that if you pick up one of his books, you will have a hard time putting it down. They are best read lolling on the beach in a warm sun, to put you in the mood of a hot and swampy Florida. Or maybe in the winter, when you think you'll never be warm again, Hiassen can make you think you need to swat the mosquitoes off your parka. You will never be disappointed with his books -- they are consistently hilarious and creative and the bad guys always lose. What more could you want in a novel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hiasons first and one of the best

    If you've never read Hiason, this is the one to start with. Here you meet the usual suspects that appear in other books and find Hiasons style.
    The laughter is only part of the equation, the look at a native Floridians view of politics, environment and the mad mouse make these books informative and entertaining.
    Don't miss the kids books, Flush, Hoot, and Scat.
    Always a treat Hiason can't be beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My husband loves these books

    My husband hasn't picked up a book in years and he bought one of Carl Hiaasen's books to read on the plane and he is now on his sixth one. If these books could get someone to read after many years, I had to find out what the attraction was. I have read three now and I find them very entertaining and a great summer read. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's funny

    How best to describe it? It Fargo meets Florida. Dark, sick and funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Tourist this

    If you liked Jackson McCRae's 'Katzenjammer' with its wacky characters and mind-bending plot. Second only to 'Basket Case,' this quirky Hiassen novel is over the top and wild. Set in Florida, like almost all his books, he takes his usual swipe at government, corruption, and the state itself. The main event that propels this novel along is the murder of the Miami Chamber of Commerce President, who is found with his legs cut off and a rubber aligator stuffed down his throat. It just gets better from there, with a who dunnit type of scenario and live and fake reptiles used for harmful purposes. Rip-snorting laughs and a serious undertone give this five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    Hiaasen has a new fan

    OMG. This book was awesome. The dialogue was incredible and sooooo funny. I couldn't beleive the crazy situations that I was laughing at. Looking forward to reading the rest of Hiaasen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    A Masterpiece.

    A brilliant mix of Humor and violence. Using an Elmore Leonard style Carl Hiaasen has reached areas many authors have not. The conversations that take place in 'Tourist Season' are both Hillarious and deep. He described everything well without becoming Mello-dramatic (untill the end). The charecters are easy to relate to and the only thing I didn't enjoy about this book were the Shriner charecters. You couldn't relate to them nor were they interesting. But that complaint is drowned out by the wonderful writting Carl Hiaasen has done

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Laugh-out-loud funny

    I really hate to admit this, but I read my first Hiassen novel (Sick Puppy) because I liked the way the cover looked. Fortunately I discovered a great writer and plan to read all of his novels! Tourist Season has his signature humor, irony, and absurdity. Hiassen's style is fun, refreshing, and different. Anyone who hasn't tried him should wait no longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2002

    Very entertaining!

    A very good book. This is the second Hiaason book I've read and I've enjoyed both of them. I don't understand why more people don't know about him! Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3