Customer Reviews for

Towering

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!!

I have never read a single book by alex flinn untill a kiss jn time. Now that I have found this book I don't think I willever out it down! He's skill is truley amazing! A toast to Alex Flinn!!

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wyatt's best friend has recently died. To help him, his mother s

Wyatt's best friend has recently died. To help him, his mother ships Wyatt off to her childhood town in upstate NY. Wyatt’s mother arranges for him to stay with an elderly woman whose daughter, Dani, has gone missing years ago. From the moment Wyatt enters the Adirondac...
Wyatt's best friend has recently died. To help him, his mother ships Wyatt off to her childhood town in upstate NY. Wyatt’s mother arranges for him to stay with an elderly woman whose daughter, Dani, has gone missing years ago. From the moment Wyatt enters the Adirondacks he starts hearing a mysterious song. Wyatt discovers a hidden journal belonging to Dani and it was written right before she disappears. He slowly starts to unravel Dani’s past.

Rachel is trapped in a magical tower. She watches the snow fall and sings. No one ever comes to see her except a woman she calls mama. Wishing to experience the outside world she hopes someday to live like everyone she reads about in her books.

This is a dark, young adult, modern retelling of Rapunzel's story. Towering is definitely takes a unique twist this well known fairy tale. I found the story a slow starter that built as it went along. The story switches between Rachel and Wyatt’s perspective, with more time given to Wyatt since Rachel is trapped in a tower. The connection is almost instant love, which I guess works for the fairy tale take. I liked reading Towering, this distinctive fairy tale adaptation was positively worth reading.

This ARC copy of Towering was given to me by HarperTeen in exchange for a honest review. Publication Date May 14, 2013.

posted by Sailon on May 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There's something magical about Fairy-tale retellings. They take

    There's something magical about Fairy-tale retellings. They take your imagination to places you don't usually go. But I think it's more than that - they allow your inner child to come out and play. It allow adults to relive their childhood and teenagers to dream a little.

    Rachel is a girl who is caught in a destiny that was not of her making - one who is trapped until her prince, in this case, Wyatt, comes to aide her to free herself and her people from the 'Rhapsody' that is slowly killing them.

    Rachel was kind of weird to me. She had an innocence about her that just isn't real in the world of today, but I guess that was just a part of her charm. I liked her. In a world filled with cynicism, her naivete was kind of refreshing. And I really liked that when she decided to do something, she did it.

    Wyatt was harder to connect with. I felt that he came into the picture with me missing half of his story. I don't know if he was in a previous book or not. I still liked him, even with all that. He represented the 'prince', but he wasn't the 'hero' in the book. He had this kind of frailty about him that gave Rachel a sharper edge.

    The plot itself was a little unsatisfactory - not between Wyatt and Rachel, even though there was a bit of insta-love - but because I expected more from the story for her reason for remaining hidden so long. I understood what the 'Rhapsody' represented, but I still felt a little disappointed. The ending felt a little anti-climatic too. I felt a bit frustrated that the ending seemed to come out from nowhere.

    I still enjoyed it though. I liked that the novel was in duo voices and the character voices were good too. The pace was a bit choppy in places - it was slow in some places, faster in others. But, despite that,I enjoyed the writing.

    All in all, I thought this book was okay. It did appeal to me and I came away from it with a good feeling.  

    Book review by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wyatt's best friend has recently died. To help him, his mother s

    Wyatt's best friend has recently died. To help him, his mother ships Wyatt off to her childhood town in upstate NY. Wyatt’s mother arranges for him to stay with an elderly woman whose daughter, Dani, has gone missing years ago. From the moment Wyatt enters the Adirondacks he starts hearing a mysterious song. Wyatt discovers a hidden journal belonging to Dani and it was written right before she disappears. He slowly starts to unravel Dani’s past.

    Rachel is trapped in a magical tower. She watches the snow fall and sings. No one ever comes to see her except a woman she calls mama. Wishing to experience the outside world she hopes someday to live like everyone she reads about in her books.

    This is a dark, young adult, modern retelling of Rapunzel's story. Towering is definitely takes a unique twist this well known fairy tale. I found the story a slow starter that built as it went along. The story switches between Rachel and Wyatt’s perspective, with more time given to Wyatt since Rachel is trapped in a tower. The connection is almost instant love, which I guess works for the fairy tale take. I liked reading Towering, this distinctive fairy tale adaptation was positively worth reading.

    This ARC copy of Towering was given to me by HarperTeen in exchange for a honest review. Publication Date May 14, 2013.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Awesome!!

    I have never read a single book by alex flinn untill a kiss jn time. Now that I have found this book I don't think I willever out it down! He's skill is truley amazing! A toast to Alex Flinn!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Not the best from Alex Flinn. I read the most of her other retel

    Not the best from Alex Flinn.
    I read the most of her other retells and was disappointed with Towering. There was no real growth or development in Wyatt/Rachel relationship. It was too instant and perfect, true for most fairy tales but not compared to Flinn's tales. Her other characters had to work for it, which seems more realistic to me and what gives those characters their charm. If I were to recommend one of her books I'd stick to Bewitching or Cloaked. They're the best of the bunch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great

    Love all of alex flinns fairy tale books. They are always perfectly paced and excting with just a little romance and a dash of humor. This book is no diffrent. 10 star book but unfortunantly that is not possible i loved the origonal fairytale and Towering does the fairytale a great justice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Very suspenseful, kept me reading until the end.  Some elements,

    Very suspenseful, kept me reading until the end.  Some elements, in hindsight, were a little strange (SPOILER--why does her hair only grow when it needs to?  Things like that, not explained very well).  Overall, it was enjoyable and I liked it, but it could have been slightly better.  Still recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    While I did find the book highly entertaining and exciting I fou

    While I did find the book highly entertaining and exciting I found the ending to be a little slow, obvious, and  many loopholes. It was a great read however

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Jacob

    So what does this little girl got

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Brianna

    I think lags back... im gonna go to bed... night

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Dwc

    And read what i posted at second res here. Lie on the bed and read or somethingm be natural since its a scene. Youre an actress, remember? MAKE IT BELIEVABLE

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Rachel has been locked in a tower by her momma to keep her safe.

    Rachel has been locked in a tower by her momma to keep her safe. She spends her time reading, singing and watching her hair grow. She is very lonely and just wants a friend. Wyatt has been sent to live with his mothers best friend to help him forget. He is in the mountains with nothing to do. He goes into Dani's room and finds her journal. He hides it and reads it. All the while he is unraveling a mystery that happened years ago. He explores and finds Rachel. They have to finish the puzzle of Dani's journal to have a chance at a happily ever after.




    I love retelling of fairytales and looked forward to reading this one about Rapunzle. It was an ok book that I had a few issues with. Sometimes in the beginning I had to go back to reread thinking I had missed something cause the story wasn't to clear. The more I read the more I understood what was going on. I liked how the author made this her own version. At times it seemed a little to instant love but I understand Rachel is starved for attention and Wyatt is lonely his self. There is more than he saves the girl in the tower. There is an element of mystery trying to see what happened to Dani and also an element of danger as it seems drugs are tied up in the story plot. This book moved at a decent pace. If you like fairy tale retellings you may enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it but it was a littler predictable. Girl in tower, guy fin

    Love it but it was a littler predictable. Girl in tower, guy finds tower, girl leaves tower for true love. But the drugs part is a new one for me lol 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    G

    I really like this book, it is interesting, suspensful, hopeful, adventurous, and romantic. I haven't finished it yet, but so far-I really do think this book is a definite page turner and a great read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Great book but----

    It was very giod and i really enjoyed it but it wasnt the best out of all of alex flinns fairytales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I really enjoy this book.

    I really enjoy this book a must read it was highly enjoyble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1