Customer Reviews for

The Towers

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Readable, with a grain of salt.

    Good book, typical of Poyer. It was not necessary to characterize President Bush as "simian", however. To do so invites us all to characterize ALL our presidents as other than humanoid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    Poyer hits a homer with this action packed novel. His superb wri

    Poyer hits a homer with this action packed novel. His superb writing and deep military experience bring to life a snapshot of how the war on terror has become the new doctrine. His rich descriptions will keep readers on the edge of their seats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    An exciting realistic novel

    I have read many of Poyers books over the years and unlike the more popular authors who write military action novels, Poyers books are always well written, acurate and most importantly have real characters, warts and all.

    This book in has several characters from previous novels that each share a part of the tradgety of 9-11 and its aftermath. Poyer ties them altogether into a fast paced tale of what it might have been like to lunch our attack on Afganistan and the hunt for Bin Laden.

    I found this book to be exciting and realistic. I looked forward to coming home each evening and reading more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Another Great Lenson Novel

    I am a big fan of all Poyer's novels especially the Lenson series, The Towers is another good read although it might be painful for anyone who lost a friend or loved one on 911. Poyer is very respectful with the subject matter and gives some good insight on what happened that day and the events in the military that came there after. I except his next novel will continue the story line of this book and I look forward to its publication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    EXCELLENT READ

    As someone who has read all the Dan Lenson novels, I found this one to be the same excellent read as the others, but more "today" since it starts on 9/11. From where it ended, I only expect more great stories in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing Read!!

    Once again Mr. Poyer outdoes himself. A great work of fiction intertwined with real life. I couldn't put it down once I started. It gives in depth descriptions of what these people in the towers probably went through. It was also very descriptive of the search for Bin Laden. Mr. Poyer makes you feel like you are there in the middle of the hunt. His research of his subjects is phenominal. You can tell he spends endless time researching, as well as, using what he has learned in his service to this country in the US NAVY. I recommend this book and author that enjoys naval/armed services adventures. I can't wait for the next one in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Not recommended.

    This book is not Mr. Poyer's best. I wanted to read this book because it is the next in the Dan Lenson series. This series has been full of action, high adventure and naval politics. This book however reads like the author just had to get something out. The hero, Dan Lenson only has a bit part and it is over written. I would not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a great tale

    On September 11, 2001, unhappy Navy Commander Dan Lenson visits the Pentagon still upset after being passed over for promotion to the rank of captain in spite of his heroic successful efforts; while he considers retirement, the brass detests his stubborn independence. At the same time his wife Beth Blair is at the South Tower on a job interview. Both are impacted mentally and physically when the planes crash the Pentagon and Twin Towers. He escapes the flames but fears for his spouse as he loses phone contact almost immediately reaching her.

    While Beth struggles with her injuries, Dan and his SEAL team are assigned to Task Force Rhino whose mission is to capture or kill Bin Laden and his Taliban allies. His unit deploys to Afghanistan but deals with DC, Kabul and Islamabad politics at the isolated mountainous Tora Bora border. At the same time in Yemen, Muslim-American FBI special agent Aisha Ar-Rahim learns the hard way what being a Muslim-American means on September 12 2011.

    The latest Lenson military thriller (see The Crisis and The Weapon) is a great tale in spite of the reader knowing the outcome. The keys to The Towers are the harrowing descriptions of death, destruction and survival on 9/11, the racism that ignites starting on 9/12, and the insightful look at how well (or not) the civilian and military elements of the government work together in hostile scenarios thousands of miles away from DC where the leadership resides. This is an excellent glimpse at the immediate post 9/11 world in which crises (real does not matter) are needed to fuel the avenging vendetta.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1