Customer Reviews for

Towers of Midnight (Wheel of Time Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(624)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a fe...
The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

posted by Alanna87 on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Why no ebook?

Things like this force me to pirate. BN, you coulda had my money.

posted by 3764259 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 44
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    sad fan

    I love these books, I have read them over and over again since I was in college. I bought the roleplaying book just to get more detail and tidbits about the story. Unfortunatelly, I will not be buying the book until it is released in the ebook format. This makes me a sad fan.

    4 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    I bought the book and am about 1/3 of the way through it. So far, it is awesome! Sanderson has done a fantastic job taking over and concluding the series. I cant' wait to finish the rest!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was FANTASTIC! Anyone that says differently should either go back and reread it or stick to kiddie fantasy. Robert Jordan stated this series off with a bang, for me personally it got a little slow after book 6, 7, and 8 but was still worth reading. Then Jordan picked back up on the writing again as he did with the first five books and until his tragic and untimely death continued to enthrall me as I dived eagerly into his story again.

    Brian Sanderson breathed new life into these books while continuing in Mr. Jordans same style as those first 5 books. Towers of Midnight is incredible I picked it up the day it hit the shelves and was finished the next day...I couldn't put it down. I have introduced my wife to the series and she is currently on book 3 "The Dragon Rising" and I am rereading the entire series as well on our new color Nooks. Do not miss out on Mr. Jordans and Mr. Sandersons works. Despite what you hear from the naysayers...if you pass on any of these books its your loss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Amazing Book + a complaint.

    Rand is just so amazing in this book. I like the was Sanderson has continued with Jordan's work. In my honest opinion I was beginning to think that Jordan was becoming senile in his old age, not because the books were becoming bad, no! But because the way the later books dragged on and on...at least that's what I believe. The books were still good though. And I'd just like to point out how disgusted I am that people have the nerve to complain about a book because there isn't an eBook yet. Only here in America could you find such lazy disgusting slobs with nothing better to do than attack a wonderful book for not being more readily accessible.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Again, no ebook, no buy.

    What a horrible choice to make your readers who have chosen to go to a digital format wait. Tor you really need to get with the times.

    3 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Can I do "No Stars?"

    I would've paid hardcover price to get an e-book version since I'm trying to cut down on the DTBs and utilize my nook more, but waiting to offer the e-book version at all has probably lost any money they would've made from me. If they offer the e-book version at full price after this book is already available used for a fraction of the cost, forget it.

    3 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    No "E" version? (do you see a theme with these reviews?

    Mrs. Jordan, please just put the thing out in electronic format already. Why are you punishing the fans of your husband's work that just happen to prefer ereaders?

    3 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Avoid this until ebooks are available

    1 star until this book is available to the ebook readers. Mr. Publishing industry open your eyes and stop killing trees. You can deliver excellent literature and with your outrageous markups make more money from the ebook content than you do with the print copies.

    3 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    All EBook versions held back by Jordan estate

    Sanderson twittered that he requested that the ebook release date be moved up from the original 12 months after hardback release, and RJ's widow agreed to release the ebook in February. I personally am boycotting this book. This is the kind of idiocy that will ruin Jordan's legacy...Guess I will get this from the public library, and everyone will lose out an the money that I was more than willing to spend on this.

    3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I devoured this book in a matter of days. I found myself laughing at times and almost in tears at other times. I feel that Mr. Sanderson did an excellent job of picking up where Mr. Jordan left off. I was so pleased to hear that the series would be finished in spite of Mr. Jordan's passing. Now, I find out that I have to wait for about a year for the final chapter in this series. I guess I'll have to start from the beginning and work my way through it yet again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Outstanding book that I could not put down!

    Brandon Sanderson has realy tied all the lose ends and made this book what the readers were looking for. Can't wait for the last book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Good Read, Better than Books 5-11

    The book was an enjoyable read. The pacing is not quite spot on but is considerably better than books 5-11. The book has one point that bothers me. Each character's story isn't at the same point in time as the others therefore sometimes support character's like Tam Al'thor are in two spots at the same time reading wise.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down!

    I should have known better to buy this book before a nursing exam. It was too good to think about putting it down. Yes, I know it wasn't written entirely by Robert Jordan, but he did a fantastic job in keeping it close. There were a few times in the book I could tell it wasn't jordan just from what he would have a character say, but all in all it was another awesome Wheel of Time book!!(and take it from me, I have read the entire series twice and named my daughter after one of the characters) Its just one step closer to knowing FINALLY what happens!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Great Book, Finally Get Plot Resolution

    Taking into account a new author, I loved this book. It's the first book of the series that I'd say you really need to have read previous books to keep everything in context due to Sanderson jumping around in the timeline a little, but the pace of what's happening in the story is getting so fast this isn't totally unexpected. Ss the Final Battle gets closer (what seems like days or maybe months in the storyline) Sanderson and Jordan had to bring lots of plotlines together in a way that make sense. My favorite chapters by far were those about Matt finally killing the gholom and Perrin's new hammer. And the ending was great, love the suspense! Final book is going to awesome, can't wait to see how this amazing story finally unfolds. My only hope is that we get a look into the future a little to see how the main characters' later generations play out (referring to Avie's vision). Who knows, maybe we have an entire new storyline for future readers, the start of the 4th Age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Excellent setup for the last battle!!

    Wasn't real sure were he was going with the string about the tower of ghengi, but it worked out fine. He did well with Perrin's wolf saga and Mat's gholam but Jordan did a much better job with the female characters. I would recommend it to any WOT fan with the thought that Sanderson is trying very hard to follow Jordan's style. Well done overall!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    No EBook?

    Will not be buying, forked out the cash for a Nook and can't get books I want to read on it. Complete failure B&N, NOT IMPRESSED!

    2 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    No Ebook!

    Lost another sale. I will not buy this book on hardback or ebook even though i love the story

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No eBook?!

    Seriously, the 21st Century is here Tor. Get with the program. I own every other book in this series and WILL not buy it unless it's electronic. Your loss.

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No Ebook, no buy. Boycott Tor.

    If they are going to intentionally hold back the ebook, then I am going to intentionally not buy any version of the book. The publisher is only encouraging piracy by not offering a legitimate electronic version. Now you get nothing, Tor.

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    To all those who request ebook

    To everyone who gave this a 1 star for not having the ebook available , "please go jump off the nearest pier" a review has nothing to do with weather its out on ebook or nook or anything to do with the format its writen on. please stick to how well its writen

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 44