Customer Reviews for

Towers of Midnight (Wheel of Time Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(624)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a fe...
The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

posted by Alanna87 on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Why no ebook?

Things like this force me to pirate. BN, you coulda had my money.

posted by 3764259 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

    The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

    58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Rate the book not the lack of a E book version!!

    A great addition to the Wheel of Time series. I am just tired of seeing a bunch of 1 star rating due to the fact there is no E book version available. Rate the book and send a complaint via Email. This book was amazing and deserves to be rated as such.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Please read

    Please don't review if you haven't read the book. I pay attention to the ratings and would like to see ratings about the books and not other grievances. Its not the place for it.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    ToM was Great ! i cannot wait for the completion

    I started reading the series in the early 90's when it first came out. The early books captured my imagination and found the main characters' development inspiring... I have since waded through the detail and the slow crawl of the many volumes of the series since; losing that inspiration and Jordan's world becoming more blurry... But NOW.. after just having finished the ToM (Towers of Midnight), the spirit of the WOT (Wheel of time) Fantasy within me is REBORN anew... Sanderson did an excellent job! RJ would be proud ! This book had me glued for the 4 days it took me to complete it. So much fulfillment of so many character plot lines... the progress to the Last Battle is substantial...Loved it ! highly recommend -- especially to those who started reading and interest tapered off.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Stop The Madness

    I know e-books are the future but what is so horrible in holding an old fashion book in your hands. I have just started Towers Of Midnight and I love the series. Please just review the book and stop complaining.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    Simply amazing (unless you love mat)

    Extremly fast paced compared to most of the previous WoT books. Many answers given from way back when, lots of old chars reintroduced, and some forum/contest favorite chars are added into the series.

    we're finally getting down to the wire, and everything is feeling like its about to happen.

    Perrin is finally a char to be reckoned with! tho it seems that BS is still missing something about how to write mat.


    and to wrap it up: Stop complaining about the E-book, it was originally pushed back almost a year, but some talking at Brandon, who wrote a letter to "Lady Dragon" got it moved up to february: this series has been 20+yrs in the makeing; if you dont have patience by now..

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    eBooks, hardcovers, and pirates, oh my!

    I love it. "You leave me no choice but to pirate, Barnes & Noble!" What are we, high schoolers? You have a choice, boys and girls. Buy it and read it, steal it and read it, or don't read it at all. Any way you choose, it's you doing the choosing. No comment here on the morality of the decision, but at least grow up and own the choices you make, please. We're fortunate to be able to read the end of this series. As someone who's followed the story from the start, this has been many long years coming and I'm glad to be able to finish it (well, almost), regardless of the format. Hat's off to Mr. Sanderson for taking on this project and getting it done faster than you'd see from just about any other author on the market.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Waiting for E-book

    Sorry to post a review having not read the book yet.
    Just wanted to post some information I have found about why the E-book has not been released yet. I contacted Macmillian (parent corp of TOR publishing). I asked them why the e-book has not been released and requested a release date. I received the following reply; "The publication for the ebook has been delayed at the request of the author's estate. Thanks"

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Highly Recommend!

    Just finished the book. Thought it was fabulous. The book seemed to be very fast moving, every chapter brought a new POV. Did not plod along like some of the other books. Can't wait for the last one! Very impressed with the speed Mr. Sanderson is writing, they couldn't have picked a better person to finish the series on schedule. Readers should definately check out this series if they haven't already!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    ebook version?

    Where's the ebook version for the nook?

    7 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Great book!

    I like the way Brandon Sanderson moves the action forward in this last series of books. Just as in The Gathering Storm he ties off plots that appeared to have gotten away from Robert Jordan and moves the story forward. I also lament the lack of an eBook release. I love to hold a book and read but having multiple eBooks saves me space on a bookshelf and saves some paper. Its also easier on my eyes since the iPad will light it up!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Stop the eBook griping!

    People who are using the review process to complain about the availability (or lack thereof - whatever) need to stop NOW! This is not the place for that and you're not doing any favors to Brandon Sanderson or to the memory of Robert Jordan. Stop being immature and selfish. Instead, contact the publisher with any issues you might have. All you're doing is driving down the ratings for this wonderful book. True fans wouldn't do that.

    As for myself, I loved this book! Once again, Mr. Sanderson has proven himself to be the perfect choice to complete Mr. Jordan's epic saga. Bravo!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Mostly great, style needs a little work.

    Overall, I think the book was definitely a winner. I very much enjoyed how many of the hanging plotlines were resolved. The overall tone of the novel was upbeat, which was a welcome relief from the tension of the previous books in the series (and I mean that in a positive sense, I enjoyed the previous books very much). I think Sanderson has done a brilliant job at a monumental task.

    However:

    I think Sanderson needs to pay more attention to the tones and the characters in the books Jordan wrote. I find myself rolling my eyes (and not in an amused way) over some of the stuff Mat says and does - yes, he's a bit of a buffoon, but a clever buffoon, not an idiot. The way the author harped on "looking at women as potential hookups for his friends" over and over at the beginning just got annoying. Also, the note he wrote to Elayne with all the crossings out and "that means..." notations was also rather obvious and overworked. It almost feels like Mat is perhaps the author's favorite character, and so he decided to overwork and emphasize his traits, instead of keeping in context with the rest of the novel.

    Some of the dialogue also seemed inappropriate for the series, too. There were several points in the novel where the characters speech strayed a bit into the "american contemporary", instead of keeping with the tone and style set by previous books.

    There were also some practical errors, such as the author referring to the country the Seanchan live in as "Seanchan". I believe it was referred to as "Seandar" in previous books. I know this isn't a huge deal, but it does serve to sort of pull the reader out of the world of the book, particularly for those who have been following (and rereading) the series.

    I felt that the "Moiraine" plotline was dragged out throughout the novel with nothing happening, then kind of smushed into the end as a bit of an afterthought.

    I very much enjoyed the novel and look forward to the conclusion!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Good but,

    This one really didn't click with me. It felt like the time line was a bit convoluted in this book. I do not know if the different author really showed through in that area, or if it is just the tension of knowing that it is almost over, but I didn't feel nearly as hooked in this book. I still finished it at 3 this morning, but I was really just pushing to find those chapters that you go back and reread a couple times a year. The book had so much going on, and yet I felt like almost nothing happened. I am almost left wondering how it will all fit into a last book. I still of course would recommend it to other readers.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No Ebook- Protest

    I understand that my dissatisfaction with the lack of ebook availability has nothing to do with the quality of the book itself; I have the utmost respect for Mr. Sanderson's writing talents and his treatment of The Wheel of Time series. However, I feel that rating the book one star is the most effective way to protest the exclusion of a very large reader base.

    5 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    It's not B&N holding back the eBook version.

    No one has an eBook advertised, not B&N, Amazon, Apple iBook, etc. This tells me that it is the publisher and not the distributors restricting the eBook release. Lots of publishers are doing this. We need to be putting pressure on Tom Doherty Publishing instead of B&N.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    eBook Please!

    Can't wait for the next installment but would love it even better on my Nook!!!!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    where's the ebook for pre-order?!?!?!?!

    can't wait! i neeeeeeeeeeeeed to get this book the day it comes out, but i won't buy it if it's not in ebook format!!!!!!!!!!!! don't make me go to the library barnes n noble!! although that's not such a bad idea...

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a good one.

    this book things started to come togather i felt like it made the most of both the writers to make one of the best wheel of time books that i read .Can't wait to see what brandon does with the last book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Ebook

    For those of you complaining about not having an ebook version: It is not BN's fault. Try the publisher. Before you write a review, remember it is for the BOOK and not BN. You can't get this yet in ebook anywhere, even Amazon.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 877 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 44