Customer Reviews for

Towers of Midnight (Wheel of Time Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(624)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a fe...
The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

posted by Alanna87 on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Why no ebook?

Things like this force me to pirate. BN, you coulda had my money.

posted by 3764259 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    ToM was Great ! i cannot wait for the completion

    I started reading the series in the early 90's when it first came out. The early books captured my imagination and found the main characters' development inspiring... I have since waded through the detail and the slow crawl of the many volumes of the series since; losing that inspiration and Jordan's world becoming more blurry... But NOW.. after just having finished the ToM (Towers of Midnight), the spirit of the WOT (Wheel of time) Fantasy within me is REBORN anew... Sanderson did an excellent job! RJ would be proud ! This book had me glued for the 4 days it took me to complete it. So much fulfillment of so many character plot lines... the progress to the Last Battle is substantial...Loved it ! highly recommend -- especially to those who started reading and interest tapered off.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Stop The Madness

    I know e-books are the future but what is so horrible in holding an old fashion book in your hands. I have just started Towers Of Midnight and I love the series. Please just review the book and stop complaining.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    ebook version?

    Where's the ebook version for the nook?

    7 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Great book!

    I like the way Brandon Sanderson moves the action forward in this last series of books. Just as in The Gathering Storm he ties off plots that appeared to have gotten away from Robert Jordan and moves the story forward. I also lament the lack of an eBook release. I love to hold a book and read but having multiple eBooks saves me space on a bookshelf and saves some paper. Its also easier on my eyes since the iPad will light it up!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Mostly great, style needs a little work.

    Overall, I think the book was definitely a winner. I very much enjoyed how many of the hanging plotlines were resolved. The overall tone of the novel was upbeat, which was a welcome relief from the tension of the previous books in the series (and I mean that in a positive sense, I enjoyed the previous books very much). I think Sanderson has done a brilliant job at a monumental task.

    However:

    I think Sanderson needs to pay more attention to the tones and the characters in the books Jordan wrote. I find myself rolling my eyes (and not in an amused way) over some of the stuff Mat says and does - yes, he's a bit of a buffoon, but a clever buffoon, not an idiot. The way the author harped on "looking at women as potential hookups for his friends" over and over at the beginning just got annoying. Also, the note he wrote to Elayne with all the crossings out and "that means..." notations was also rather obvious and overworked. It almost feels like Mat is perhaps the author's favorite character, and so he decided to overwork and emphasize his traits, instead of keeping in context with the rest of the novel.

    Some of the dialogue also seemed inappropriate for the series, too. There were several points in the novel where the characters speech strayed a bit into the "american contemporary", instead of keeping with the tone and style set by previous books.

    There were also some practical errors, such as the author referring to the country the Seanchan live in as "Seanchan". I believe it was referred to as "Seandar" in previous books. I know this isn't a huge deal, but it does serve to sort of pull the reader out of the world of the book, particularly for those who have been following (and rereading) the series.

    I felt that the "Moiraine" plotline was dragged out throughout the novel with nothing happening, then kind of smushed into the end as a bit of an afterthought.

    I very much enjoyed the novel and look forward to the conclusion!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    Good but,

    This one really didn't click with me. It felt like the time line was a bit convoluted in this book. I do not know if the different author really showed through in that area, or if it is just the tension of knowing that it is almost over, but I didn't feel nearly as hooked in this book. I still finished it at 3 this morning, but I was really just pushing to find those chapters that you go back and reread a couple times a year. The book had so much going on, and yet I felt like almost nothing happened. I am almost left wondering how it will all fit into a last book. I still of course would recommend it to other readers.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    another vote for quick release of the digital version

    Even better, the digital version should be released more quickly then the paper copy.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    What is the Point of a Nook? (a poem of protest)

    What is the point of a Nook,
    When I can't even download the book
    To the brain of my reading device?
    Do they think that I'll purchase it twice?
    I have followed this series for years,
    And it pains me and brings me to tears,
    To rate this book only a one
    For what the d*** publisher's done.
    I hope others follow my lead
    And protest while waiting to read,
    For e-ink and ink bleed the same,
    And the publisher should be ashamed.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    Decent Read, hard to follow.

    But I can say, that the books have been great in this series. Even the last one that was written after Mr. Jordan's passing was a great read. Looking forward to the completion of the series, wish Robert was still here to complete it himself.


    *Update - I finally got through the book last night, and overall I have to say that it was a decent read. Not one of the best in the series, but that has to be expected since Mr. Jordan passed away before completing his series. I think the editors have been rushing the last three books, and it seems the timelines of the different characters are off.

    This book for the most part follows what happenned to the other characters as the Dragon finally gained a sense of peace at the end of the last book. The problem with this is that the story bounces from one character to another at some different points in time, it makes the story hard to follow. And while their stories are being told, the overall plot is being continued as we follow Rand. You don't really fully grasp whats going on until close to the end of the 800 pages are so.

    Now, the other downside to this is that because the editors are rushing the story to conclusion, a lot of details are rushed and skipped over in the story. And although Mr. Sanderson has done a wonderful job, you can tell the characters are not his own. Unfortunately, one can only do so much with notes and outlines.

    Anyhow, I look forward to the conclusion of the series, although I imagine I will be a little disappointed since I have been following this series since I was in high school, and it has been one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There was a point in this series when you couldn't have convince

    There was a point in this series when you couldn't have convinced me that the conclusion THE WHEEL OF TIME would live up to all its potential. Robert Jordan seemed to be drowning in the sheer quantity of characters and plots he'd created, and as he meandered his way through the middle books of the series, it seemed as though the juggling act had overwhelmed him. There were simply too many characters, too many plots, and the story seemed to have lost its focus. The same scope that made WHEEL OF TIME stand out from the crowd had proven too much for the author to bear.




    But having completed the penultimate tome in this landmark series, I'm pleased (and somewhat stunned) to realize that Jordan and Sanderson have brought the story entirely back on track -- to the point that it may be better ever, including the opening books that drew me into the story in the first place.




    I realize most will be quick to hand Sanderson the bulk of the credit, and he certainly deserves it -- he's brought a much-needed focus to the storytelling that has elevated these final books. But KNIFE OF DREAMS, Jordan's final completed book, showed signs of righting the ship, and I'd hate to fail to credit from the man for creating the framework of such an epic tale.




    For a 1,200-page book, TOWERS OF MIDNIGHT moves quickly, something the middle books in this series struggled to accomplish. All the major characters get their time in the spotlight, and each of them see their plots move forward toward Tarmon Gai'don. Mat is a slightly different character, but I still like him -- and he's a character I didn't like in the early books. I still love reading Perrin's chapters -- and he seems better than ever in this book --and Rand's chapters have gotten significantly stronger.




    Almost all the characters have set aside their fears and the whining that was getting in the way of the storytelling, and it's amazing how big a difference that makes, not only in allowing the plot to move forward, but also in allowing us to actually enjoy these characters' company. There's even a bit of humor in these books, moments where I  laughed at the dialogue and interplay between characters. Since this didn't happen often in the first 11 books of the series, I have to assume that's Sanderson's touch shining through.




    Really, my only criticism of this book lies with Egwene, who was such a strength in THE GATHERING STORM. Her relationship with Gawyn turns into something of a power struggle, and she determines that she won't let him close until he proves his subservience. It's off-putting, especially considering that Gawyn was a likeable character before he started mooning over Egwene.




    This was a series that had a lot of promise early on, then seemed to wander off the path. It was impossible to see how the pieces would fit together, but the last two books have really brought the characters and their plotlines into order, and if you aren't looking forward to the final book at this point, then I really can't understand how you could have gotten through the first 13 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Excellent Way to Re-Read Series

    Now that WOT has finally ended, I've started re-reading the series, and the ebooks make this projects much more user friendly. TGS and ToM have their flaws, but I'd rather have these instead of no ending at all!

    Waiting anxiously for the ebook version of AMoL ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Love this!

    I know like many of you this series has sometimes been tough, but like so may things we still love it. While it's been many years in the telling of it, we just can't wait for more. I actually went back to the beginning and re-read all of them and couldn't believe how much I had forgotten! And now with Brandon finishing the books, I was worried they would be 'different' somehow. But I'm totally in awe of way this one flows from the rest. Yes the style is a little different, but it only makes it even better! I can't wait for the last one, although I'll be sad too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    A great beginning of an end.

    My only issue is how different Mat is portrayed. It feels as though the new author is trying too hard to demonstrate Mat's strange yet comical personality. Maybe Ive only noticed because he has always been my favorite but he is an entirely different person in the hands of this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Loved this book

    I truly didn't think that Brandon Sanderson could live up to Robert Jordan's masterpiece series. I had never read anything from Brandon before. I can say now that I am so happy that Brandon took over finishing up the series for Jordan. I loved every moment of reading "The Gathering Storm" and "Towers of Midnight". I hated putting down the book to work or go to sleep. There is something about almost everone in this book in particular which I loved. I can't wait for "A Memory of Light" to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Caution - a lot of off-topic vitriol in these "reviews"

    It would be great if BN would clear out all the off-topic "reviews" of this book and leave only those from people who have actually read the book. I find the use of this forum, which is supposed to provide reader insights into the quality of the book, to spew forth some "social agenda" about BN, the publisher, or the late author's widow extremely distasteful. Clearly one gains only a sense for the moral quality of these "reviewers" and nothing for the literary quality of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Another Nook Request

    Please please can we get the EBook format at the same time!!!!!!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 137 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7