BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Towers of Midnight (Wheel of Time Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 865 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(624)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a fe...
The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

posted by Alanna87 on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Why no ebook?

Things like this force me to pirate. BN, you coulda had my money.

posted by 3764259 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 624 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    A fantastic book, and a note about the ebook

    The book was fantastic. So many thing WOT fans have been waiting for happened in this book, and every one lived up to my expectations. I really enjoyed reading it. I found Mat to be much more like himself in this book than in the last one, though I admit there were a few moments he was a little off. But even those bits, I still loved. About the ebook - Yes, it was delayed at the request of the author's estate. Harrit, Robert Jordan's wife and editor, explained at a book signing that they delayed it because unfortunately, ebooks sales do not count towards sales in the New York Times Bestsellers list. Every other book in the series has always made it onto the list, which is notonly prestigious but gains the series more readers. So as disappointing as it is, I think that is an acceptable reason to delay it. So yes, please don't complain to B&N, Amazon, Tor/Macmillan, or Brandon Sanderson, because they have nothing to do with it and cannot do anything about it. In fact, originally, the ebook was going to be delayed by a year, but Brandon Sanderson persuaded Harriet to delay the release by only three months. And I agree, please don't give the book a low rating because you're disappointed about the ebook. People look at those ratings to determine if the book is worth a read, and this one definitely is.

    58 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Rate the book not the lack of a E book version!!

    A great addition to the Wheel of Time series. I am just tired of seeing a bunch of 1 star rating due to the fact there is no E book version available. Rate the book and send a complaint via Email. This book was amazing and deserves to be rated as such.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Please read

    Please don't review if you haven't read the book. I pay attention to the ratings and would like to see ratings about the books and not other grievances. Its not the place for it.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    Simply amazing (unless you love mat)

    Extremly fast paced compared to most of the previous WoT books. Many answers given from way back when, lots of old chars reintroduced, and some forum/contest favorite chars are added into the series.

    we're finally getting down to the wire, and everything is feeling like its about to happen.

    Perrin is finally a char to be reckoned with! tho it seems that BS is still missing something about how to write mat.


    and to wrap it up: Stop complaining about the E-book, it was originally pushed back almost a year, but some talking at Brandon, who wrote a letter to "Lady Dragon" got it moved up to february: this series has been 20+yrs in the makeing; if you dont have patience by now..

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    eBooks, hardcovers, and pirates, oh my!

    I love it. "You leave me no choice but to pirate, Barnes & Noble!" What are we, high schoolers? You have a choice, boys and girls. Buy it and read it, steal it and read it, or don't read it at all. Any way you choose, it's you doing the choosing. No comment here on the morality of the decision, but at least grow up and own the choices you make, please. We're fortunate to be able to read the end of this series. As someone who's followed the story from the start, this has been many long years coming and I'm glad to be able to finish it (well, almost), regardless of the format. Hat's off to Mr. Sanderson for taking on this project and getting it done faster than you'd see from just about any other author on the market.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Highly Recommend!

    Just finished the book. Thought it was fabulous. The book seemed to be very fast moving, every chapter brought a new POV. Did not plod along like some of the other books. Can't wait for the last one! Very impressed with the speed Mr. Sanderson is writing, they couldn't have picked a better person to finish the series on schedule. Readers should definately check out this series if they haven't already!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Stop the eBook griping!

    People who are using the review process to complain about the availability (or lack thereof - whatever) need to stop NOW! This is not the place for that and you're not doing any favors to Brandon Sanderson or to the memory of Robert Jordan. Stop being immature and selfish. Instead, contact the publisher with any issues you might have. All you're doing is driving down the ratings for this wonderful book. True fans wouldn't do that.

    As for myself, I loved this book! Once again, Mr. Sanderson has proven himself to be the perfect choice to complete Mr. Jordan's epic saga. Bravo!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    It's not B&N holding back the eBook version.

    No one has an eBook advertised, not B&N, Amazon, Apple iBook, etc. This tells me that it is the publisher and not the distributors restricting the eBook release. Lots of publishers are doing this. We need to be putting pressure on Tom Doherty Publishing instead of B&N.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    eBook Please!

    Can't wait for the next installment but would love it even better on my Nook!!!!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    where's the ebook for pre-order?!?!?!?!

    can't wait! i neeeeeeeeeeeeed to get this book the day it comes out, but i won't buy it if it's not in ebook format!!!!!!!!!!!! don't make me go to the library barnes n noble!! although that's not such a bad idea...

    5 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a good one.

    this book things started to come togather i felt like it made the most of both the writers to make one of the best wheel of time books that i read .Can't wait to see what brandon does with the last book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    Ebook

    For those of you complaining about not having an ebook version: It is not BN's fault. Try the publisher. Before you write a review, remember it is for the BOOK and not BN. You can't get this yet in ebook anywhere, even Amazon.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Awesome!!!

    I bought the book and am about 1/3 of the way through it. So far, it is awesome! Sanderson has done a fantastic job taking over and concluding the series. I cant' wait to finish the rest!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was FANTASTIC! Anyone that says differently should either go back and reread it or stick to kiddie fantasy. Robert Jordan stated this series off with a bang, for me personally it got a little slow after book 6, 7, and 8 but was still worth reading. Then Jordan picked back up on the writing again as he did with the first five books and until his tragic and untimely death continued to enthrall me as I dived eagerly into his story again.

    Brian Sanderson breathed new life into these books while continuing in Mr. Jordans same style as those first 5 books. Towers of Midnight is incredible I picked it up the day it hit the shelves and was finished the next day...I couldn't put it down. I have introduced my wife to the series and she is currently on book 3 "The Dragon Rising" and I am rereading the entire series as well on our new color Nooks. Do not miss out on Mr. Jordans and Mr. Sandersons works. Despite what you hear from the naysayers...if you pass on any of these books its your loss.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Amazing Book + a complaint.

    Rand is just so amazing in this book. I like the was Sanderson has continued with Jordan's work. In my honest opinion I was beginning to think that Jordan was becoming senile in his old age, not because the books were becoming bad, no! But because the way the later books dragged on and on...at least that's what I believe. The books were still good though. And I'd just like to point out how disgusted I am that people have the nerve to complain about a book because there isn't an eBook yet. Only here in America could you find such lazy disgusting slobs with nothing better to do than attack a wonderful book for not being more readily accessible.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    All EBook versions held back by Jordan estate

    Sanderson twittered that he requested that the ebook release date be moved up from the original 12 months after hardback release, and RJ's widow agreed to release the ebook in February. I personally am boycotting this book. This is the kind of idiocy that will ruin Jordan's legacy...Guess I will get this from the public library, and everyone will lose out an the money that I was more than willing to spend on this.

    3 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I devoured this book in a matter of days. I found myself laughing at times and almost in tears at other times. I feel that Mr. Sanderson did an excellent job of picking up where Mr. Jordan left off. I was so pleased to hear that the series would be finished in spite of Mr. Jordan's passing. Now, I find out that I have to wait for about a year for the final chapter in this series. I guess I'll have to start from the beginning and work my way through it yet again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Outstanding book that I could not put down!

    Brandon Sanderson has realy tied all the lose ends and made this book what the readers were looking for. Can't wait for the last book in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    Loved it! Couldn't put it down!

    I should have known better to buy this book before a nursing exam. It was too good to think about putting it down. Yes, I know it wasn't written entirely by Robert Jordan, but he did a fantastic job in keeping it close. There were a few times in the book I could tell it wasn't jordan just from what he would have a character say, but all in all it was another awesome Wheel of Time book!!(and take it from me, I have read the entire series twice and named my daughter after one of the characters) Its just one step closer to knowing FINALLY what happens!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Great Book, Finally Get Plot Resolution

    Taking into account a new author, I loved this book. It's the first book of the series that I'd say you really need to have read previous books to keep everything in context due to Sanderson jumping around in the timeline a little, but the pace of what's happening in the story is getting so fast this isn't totally unexpected. Ss the Final Battle gets closer (what seems like days or maybe months in the storyline) Sanderson and Jordan had to bring lots of plotlines together in a way that make sense. My favorite chapters by far were those about Matt finally killing the gholom and Perrin's new hammer. And the ending was great, love the suspense! Final book is going to awesome, can't wait to see how this amazing story finally unfolds. My only hope is that we get a look into the future a little to see how the main characters' later generations play out (referring to Avie's vision). Who knows, maybe we have an entire new storyline for future readers, the start of the 4th Age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 624 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 32