Customer Reviews for

The Towers of the Sunset (Recluce Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Where's the First book

    In The Towers of the Sunset I didn't know what was going on I figured the main character from the first book was going to be the main character in the second one but I guess I was wrong I enjoyed the book greatly I just like the main character in the Magic of Recluce book better Great book tho recomend it to fantasy lovers all over

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Complex and Mysterious. This explains the origin of Recluse.

    For those interested in Recluse, this is almost a "must read". These is plenty of action, and lots of delving into motivations.
    I plan to read the rest of the series, and am also interested on the Corean Chronicles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    Excellent

    Wonderful and thought provoking series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    I just finished this book and I can not wait to read the rest of

    I just finished this book and I can not wait to read the rest of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    The Saga of Recluce, a great read

    so far, four books into the series, i find it much better than the sword of truth series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Have read all of Recluce...This is the best!

    I have read all thirteen books in the 'Recluce' series and while I hate elevating one above the others, 'Towers of Sunset' is far and away the best. The story of Creslin helps to illustrate that one should always push themselves in order to attain what is desired, even if what is desired is for generations to come. The only negative comment I have for this book is that Creslin is one of two characters in the 'Recluce' series that only gets one book (the other being Dorrin from book 3). The 'Saga of Recluce' only affords one book to its founder, which seems odd! I reccomend this book to any who enjoy rich, detailed fantasy that remains somewhat more realistic in nature. The Towers of Sunset will not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Possibly the Weakest of the Recluse Series

    This book, which details the founding of Recluse (from the Magic of Recluse), is good, but not my favorite, though I can't really put my finger on why. However, if you are reading the Recluse series, this book gives important information about the history of Recluse, and so you shouldn't skip it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    modesitt fan

    i truly enjoyed all of modesitt's books. after finishing his spellsong cycle series (a must read) i looked for more, and found the magic of recluce. i loved it. i then picked up this one, and appreciated the background history. i think with this series you need to know what happened previously, for customs and factual sort of things, but each saga is self-inclusive. the characters are all different. i like that. it makes it more fun to read. i'm now reading the third and absolutely love it. my favorite yet. can't wait to finish the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2004

    Annoying style

    I read this book a few years ago, and I found the author's writing style to be very annoying. I love epic fantasy, and I thought the overall story was okay, but Modesitt wrote everything in the present tense, and included a lot of annoying details like people relieving themselves. If you're interested in reading a book by this author, I'd suggest that you go to the bookstore and read the first chapter or two before you buy. I won't read another!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Loved it!

    Loved it, little confused in beginning but loved it! Tells of background of Recluse... More about the founding of it then anything else. Can't wait to get my hands on the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2