Customer Reviews for

A Town Like Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    Best. Book. Ever.

    I read constantly, and have never found a book that captured me the way this book did. I can't believe more people haven't read this book...and I spend many conversations convincing people to read it! The first 50 or so pages were hard to get into, but once I did, I could NOT put it down. Fabulous.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    Oh, my word, what a bonza book

    Well if you need to be encouraged to read something great yet clean and nice this is it!! Jean Paget is the heroine in this book. read and study how she works the way into the confidence of her capturers. Wow.. No wonder she had the confidence to work miracles for the town and for the people there. The romance between Joe and Jean works because they respect each other for what they went through separately and together so they can handle what is coming next. Good read for your book club.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Outstanding!

    This book took me to places I've never been. I experienced feelings I've never felt. During the war, there actually was a forced march, though in Sumatra, not Malaya. I was so into this book that I had to go online to find out even more than the book told me. WOW! What a great read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    I was speechless!!

    I tried this book because I figured it would be a very good read. It was not a good read. It was a great read. The author is a literary genious!!! As I read the last paragraph and concluded the book, I nearly cried. It was a very emotional book. If this book does not affect you, something is wrong. Jean and Joe were so very deserving of the good things that happened in the end. They had waited for so long and finally were reunited. It is a truly lifechanging story and makes you think about how precious life and all that is in it really is.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    well what can you say

    This book is one of the best books I have ever read. It really should have been longer. I was sad that it ended. Its the greatest romance ever. Its sad, happy, exciting, and just all around great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    For this months bookclub title I chose A Town Like Alice and I'm thrilled to say everyone from the club really enjoyed it! I found the book full of surprises which held my interest to the very end. Bonza book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Favorite book

    I have reread this book many times. Facinating story, superb characters. Old fashioned yet timeless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Angela Shikany

    Sometimes I need to cleanse my palate when I've read a glut of current genre fiction. This book accomplishes that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Has Become An All Time Favorite

    In a word, wonderful. A treasure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Wonderful novel.

    Loved this book that was written right after WWII, but reading it now 50 years later it reads like an historical novel. Truly lovely story about some strong characters who endured the atrocities of war with grace and determination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Overwhelming, tender, and often brutal. I defy you not to love it!

    I read this book eons ago under it's original title. (The Legacy I think?) Then my mom and I watched it on Masterpiece Theater, and then we both read it.

    It's a simple story of love, and all the many ways it manifests itself. It also captures the unflinching brutalities of war, and how humanity can fall prey to it's basest elements.

    Anyone who considers themselves well-read should have this book in their collection. I think it's one of the most important books of the 20th century, and once you read it, I think you'll agree.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    It captured my interest within the first pages. One of the best books I've had the pleasure reading in the past year. I recommeded it to my book club and everyone enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    One of the best novels written

    I saw this as PBS miniseries first. It is one of the best movies I have seen. The book is excellent as well. I often read parts of the book over again to relive parts of the story. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great novel of WWII, friendships, and a good love story as a bonus

    This is Nevil Shute at his very best. The story is told from the experiences of an English Solicitor about the lives of a young woman and an Australian soldier, both prisoners of the Japanese. They meet on the road and become friends. After the war she inherits a decent sum and sets off for Asia to do good works for those who helped the women prisoners then Australia to find the soldier when she learns that he survived the war and punishment for stealing food for the women.

    It is a good story of the better side of human nature and of those who make it so. Highly recommended reading for all above the age of 14!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    I'm buying it.

    My mom's favorite book....and she's a reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    A very good read

    Even though this book was published 60 years ago, it is an absorbing story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    Story of a Strong Woman

    Nevil Shute was way ahead of his time. Many of his books feature women of particularly strong character. This book is certainly no exception. Could this be a romance that even a modern career woman can love. This man, and what do we know, says yes. YES!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    Had to finish the book so I could go on with life!

    I didn't expect this book to be a 'couldn't put it down' type, but it was!!! It is a very well written love story - definitely not sappy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    This is one of the best books I've ever read . . . and have done

    This is one of the best books I've ever read . . . and have done so 4 times. To think that it started from a true story is absolutely incredible and makes the story that much more interesting. I can't see how anyone would not love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Guthix

    What?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2