Customer Reviews for

Townie

Average Rating 3
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If you read only one memoir this year ...

This is the most compelling memoir I've read in decades. Not only does it entertain (un-put-downable) but it imparts one lesson after another on dealing with life's issues in the best and worst of times!

This is a memoir of survival. It's beautifully and honestly w...
This is the most compelling memoir I've read in decades. Not only does it entertain (un-put-downable) but it imparts one lesson after another on dealing with life's issues in the best and worst of times!

This is a memoir of survival. It's beautifully and honestly written and it will no doubt be read as a classic by generations to come. Thank you Mr. Dubus.

posted by mlspitz on March 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great literature but, an okay book.

Highly oversold. The marketing is better than the read and sells to slumming, literary adults expecting noir. But, where the subjecture deserves grit, you get "The room smelled of almonds..." (not an excerpt)

I'm not trying to knock the effort. More to target the ...
Highly oversold. The marketing is better than the read and sells to slumming, literary adults expecting noir. But, where the subjecture deserves grit, you get "The room smelled of almonds..." (not an excerpt)

I'm not trying to knock the effort. More to target the audience. The marketing doesn't tell you the subject(s) are adult but, the book itself is not. If you can invision all of the reviews to be written by bright, Jr. High boys, who's parents don't censor - you'll know if it is or is not for you.

posted by JellyBean1919 on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    If you read only one memoir this year ...

    This is the most compelling memoir I've read in decades. Not only does it entertain (un-put-downable) but it imparts one lesson after another on dealing with life's issues in the best and worst of times!

    This is a memoir of survival. It's beautifully and honestly written and it will no doubt be read as a classic by generations to come. Thank you Mr. Dubus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Insightful view of the working class in the 60s

    It seems I liked this more than most readers. Perhaps because I am the same age and economic background as the writer. Still, I thought is was a really good read and showed a slice of American life not usually written about today. Somewhat reminded me of an adult version of The Outsiders.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Not great literature but, an okay book.

    Highly oversold. The marketing is better than the read and sells to slumming, literary adults expecting noir. But, where the subjecture deserves grit, you get "The room smelled of almonds..." (not an excerpt)

    I'm not trying to knock the effort. More to target the audience. The marketing doesn't tell you the subject(s) are adult but, the book itself is not. If you can invision all of the reviews to be written by bright, Jr. High boys, who's parents don't censor - you'll know if it is or is not for you.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    This is a tremendous read!

    Andre Dubus III has brought to life a painful place and time with such insight and forgiveness.As he spans his life and gains distance from adolescence his ability to forgive his father, his tormentors and himself is compelling. The personal growth and insight he shares is a testament to his heart. This is a memoir to devour and savor.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Oak

    You sure?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Earthstep

    "Im allright"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Not recommended

    The rough times, fights and lifting weights Andre spends so much time describing was common amongst myself and other young men at this age. The area in which I grew up was much worse. I'm sure others had it harder and didn't have to write about how tough they thought they were. Come on, it's Boston. You can also only mention the music of the era, song by song, so much. It got old fast.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    My husband and I both read this book and really enjoyed it! I grew up in a town close to Haverhill and I came to town with my High School for sporting events. I remember all of downtown being either boarded up or having bars and a rough crowd. It was a scary place in those days and I was forbidden by my parents to go downtown. We live even closer to Haverhill now and are enjoying all the benefits of the restoration. The restaurants are wonderful and the entire downtown area has new shops and and lots of places to explore. I just watched Chronicle on Channel Five and they highlighted "Townie," Andre Dubus III and the "new" Haverhill! This book is a true depiction of life in Haverhill if you lived on the wrong side of the Merrimack River in those days. Congratulations to Andre Dubus III for a wonderful read, I couldn't put it down! Hopefully, the book becomes a movie soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    A Contemporary American Master

    Dubus makes the seamless switch from fiction to nonfiction look easy. This is a gripping, genuine, and visceral memoir that grabs hold of you on the very first page and never lets go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting!

    I was interested from the very first page. I found the author's story to be so inspiring. This book reminded me at time of This Boy's Life by Tobias Wolf except it was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    powerful !

    Painfully honest....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7