Customer Reviews for

Townsmen

Average Rating 3.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Excellent - but buggy I have been looking for a Dragonville styl

Excellent - but buggy
I have been looking for a Dragonville style game, and this is perfect. Easy to get started, very addictive, and just challenging enough to keep my interest yet not frustrating. However, the game has quite a few bugs that I hope will be worked out...
Excellent - but buggy
I have been looking for a Dragonville style game, and this is perfect. Easy to get started, very addictive, and just challenging enough to keep my interest yet not frustrating. However, the game has quite a few bugs that I hope will be worked out in an update soon. When I try to start one of my two saved games, it always starts the other one. A second try opens the correct game. Sometimes when I click on the building icon nothing happens; saved games take a long time to load; the touch feature is very, well, touchy (e.g. when building paths). Despite the bugs I still look forward to playing the game, and still feel it deserves 5 stars because the game is so new that I would expect some bugs.

posted by 2633384 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Well...

I love this game but causes terrible glitches to the entire nook. Just typing this was difficult. Dont buy!!!

posted by 17275450 on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Excellent - but buggy I have been looking for a Dragonville styl

    Excellent - but buggy
    I have been looking for a Dragonville style game, and this is perfect. Easy to get started, very addictive, and just challenging enough to keep my interest yet not frustrating. However, the game has quite a few bugs that I hope will be worked out in an update soon. When I try to start one of my two saved games, it always starts the other one. A second try opens the correct game. Sometimes when I click on the building icon nothing happens; saved games take a long time to load; the touch feature is very, well, touchy (e.g. when building paths). Despite the bugs I still look forward to playing the game, and still feel it deserves 5 stars because the game is so new that I would expect some bugs.

    54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Finally. It's about time

    Very similar to an Age of Empires type of game. Sadly, no combat - at least not that I found yet.

    39 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Wow

    Really fun game u can manage ur own town tis awsum!!!!!!!!!

    28 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Fantastic

    This game is great. It has beautiful graphics and simplistic gameplay which is well organized for the user. If you enjoy games like dragonvale, or just like building mini cities, this is the game for you. I was dissapointed by lack of combat or armies, but see this as no reason to deduct any stars. You dont need to buy anything in game to speed up production or get a leg up in the game, WHICH I LOVE, unlike other games like this. Buy this game once, and you gert all of the bennifits!

    25 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    I love it

    One of the best games ever!

    24 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Well...

    I love this game but causes terrible glitches to the entire nook. Just typing this was difficult. Dont buy!!!

    21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Looks like a good game, but almost unplayable.

    It seems that this game was not designed to work on a NOOKcolor. I frequently get a notice from the operating system saying that the application is not responding and wanting to know if it should wait or force the application closed. The game usually takes about five seconds to respond to input. Worse, it often does not notice when you have finished stroking and the pan does not stop until it hits the edge. I have spent several minutes simply trying to get the view to look at the location I want. A game this poorly implemented could ruin the company's reputation. They need to remove it from the shop and produce a working version.
    Jack Moellering

    15 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Great game

    I would like to be able to delete saved games that begin to crowd my save page. Great game well worth the money.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome gameplay and even though you don't get to conquer anythi

    Awesome gameplay and even though you don't get to conquer anything the goals are well worth it. It is a very good game that I would recommend.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Dont buy yet

    Game will only work till a little ways into the tutorial then i get a error message and it disapears before i can read what it is... so please fix the bug !!! First app i have gotten and not work... I have a nook tablet 16 gig... and over 100 apps...please fix game looks wicked !!!

    13 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Townsman

    This game is one of the best games in the nook store!!!! Its a bulding style game but DONT let that detour you. This game is constantly different every time you play it but not in an agervating way in a GOOD way!! Im not addicted to the game dont get that idea but we all know the nook store does not have any good stratigy games or any good games in my personal opinyon. But this app CHANGES that. Now on the negative side it does glich every now and again and its a small bit confusing to start out depinding on how computer savy you are, which im NOT by any means computer savy, but all in all it a GREAT APP!!!! I highly recomend this app!!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Fix for Nook Color

    This game used to lag and be unresponsive on my nook color. I turned the volumne all the way down through the 'in-game' menu, and the game instantly stopped lagging and became responsive. Turning the volumne down on your nook will not help, you have to turn it down through the in-game menu. Turn down 'music', 'sound', and 'speech'. Not sure why this helps, maybe a memory/processor issue.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Very addictive

    Great game, fun and addicting. I bought this and played it for 3 hours first time. I haven't experienced any bugs and also you can delete saved games just click and hold on the save you want to delete.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Now this is a game worthy of the Nook HD+!

    This is a great game! If you're a fan of Sim City type games this ones for you. It is advanced, yet simple. The premise is you are a mayor of a town under the king and you must make this town grand. You start with simple houses and work your way from there. You have many options in terms of buildings and you must weigh your peoples happiness with your towns money making. All in all this is a big game with tons to do. It works and looks beautiful on the Nook HD+. As a side note for those with issues deleting your saved games. Go to the game load screen and hold down on the file you wish to erase. The option will appear.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Fun and very addictive. Some users have mentioned the lack of c

    Fun and very addictive. Some users have mentioned the lack of combat, but for me that is a definite plus. Since my favorite part is building my town, I get the fun of building without worrying about forming an army and getting invaded. Each time I play a map (three so far) I learn more about the game, and as for replay? Tons. What I learn on one go around I apply to the next. Wish there were more like this.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    AWSOME!!!!!!!

    This game turned out pretty great. I don't seem to haveany issues and/or glitches about it. It's a really good game that actually is simple and easy to play. It would be great if they made an edition with some form of medivel stratagy combat with troops. Thats all mainly can ask for at this moment. But it would also be a good addition to add in some extra campain and sandbox levels/maps. As well as some other types of structures like castle walls, towers, and another way to get food like a cow or animal farm. It works along well and it would be a great game that I would reccomend to others. It also would be great if they added and updated a game tutorial for those who are having difficulties with the controls. Its one of the best stratagy games that I have seen so far and I willl be looking forward to the future updates.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Really fun

    You learn more and more as you play, and my towns got better planned. One thing that is driving me nuts, though, is that some of my townies "can't find the path to their destination" even though THEY ARE STANDING ON IT! I carefully made roads to every shop and house I built, so this is really aggravating.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Works like crap on nook color!!!!!

    Screen lag during game play, game prompts force close. Contacted B&N Cust. Care to see if it was the device or the app, after full checkout of the nook emailed app developer. My advice, AVOID THIS APP AT ALL COST!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    NG

    On nook color movement is jerky & erratic. Poor instructions,

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Nice

    This is a Really fun gaMe. Nd ita realY diffiCuktt,o tltyppe om, the nook color. !its ,realy Stipid

    5 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4