Customer Reviews for

Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    BIG FAN OF TOY TIPS

    Smart advice. Truly an independent voice. Toy Tips is everywhere. I read blogs that feature this book all the time. I love the report cards on the website for all the toy reviews. Great resource for any parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    5 stars for Toy Tips!!!!!

    I've read this book three times now. Once when it first came out while I was pregnant with my firstborn. Then, again when Jake turned into a toddler and we started really stocking up on the toys for him and now again because he is a preschooler and I needed some reminder tips. I just put it down last night for a third time and each time, I miss something and learn something new. I like how the authors breaks down the learning process for the parent and teaches rather than preaches. The chapters are easy to read and meant to be earmarked as your child grows to the next 'toy stage.' I'm now pregnant again so a review of the best infant toys along with my experiences from baby #1, really guide me. I also saw one of the authors 'Marianne' on television a couple times now including the Rachael Ray Show and she really knows her stuff. This book is so credible.. so interesting and so worth the $10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    Great resource for parents

    Thanks so much for writing this great book for parents and grandparents. I look forward to your next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm a single dad and I got this book from my buddy for my 'guy shower' 'new trend I'm told'. The first thing I thought about when my son, Dylan was born was to get him a slot race car set. Mostly because I don't remember what I played with before that. This book helped me choose some great things for Dylan for the infant and toddler years (not another Elmo, please) and until he can play with the slot car set! It breaks down ideas age by age and I recommend this for other guy 'showers.' It's not too girly of a parenting- type book. It's actually cool and filled with some great facts including a toy quiz on classics you'll remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    GREAT BOOK FOR EVERY PARENT

    I too bought this book during the toy recall scandal. I saw the author, Marianne on the Rachael Ray Show and bought this book AND her magazine, Toy Tips and Parenting Hints. They are both GREAT! I have 5 children and am also a kindergarten teacher and wish I had this book years ago when I could have really used the advice. However, her tips and reviews I can use in my classroom daily and although my children are 10+, we still have toys scattered around and the information is very interesting. I recommend this book to any preschool or kindergarten teacher and EVERY parent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Great information in this time of toy recalls

    I bought this book during the whole toy recall scandal of toys made in China. It really is a thorough guide on how to buy toys in general. The author's perspective is fair, straight forward and independent. I was able to learn how to make better choices and I would recommend this book to any new parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    GREAT BOOK!

    I read all the books out there that I could find about buying toys for children. This is the only one I found that I liked and learned from. I think this should be a book for college classes in early childhood development. I really liked the technology toys chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    I never thought there was a science to toy buying!

    By the last chapter, I was amazed at how much I learned about how to pick and choose the right toys. Most parents buy what their children want without adding thought in order to appease their children and rid their own guilt. I found this book to be an effective tool for parents as well as kindergarten and primary school teachers. I have one child who is months old and when I start to choose toys for him, I will refer to excerpts and chapters in this book often. I plan to assign this as a read in my mothers' book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Great idea!

    I first read about this book in the newspaper talking about how it teaches you to be a better toy shopper. I thought about that for days. As a mom, I think every parent should learn this. It's like a thick Cliff Notes course in buying better toy choices and I now feel like a better mom for researching toys before buying them for my daughter. It's a handy guide to keep in your purse to help you save money too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    This book is great for teachers

    I'm a preschool teacher in Montana. I bought this book on barnesandnoble.com (service was speedy and reliable!) I wanted a book about buying great toys and I got not only that but an excellent teaching tool for me as a teacher. There are so many great nuggets of information that I now use in my classroom. I've learned the better kind of toys to buy for students and I also got a few great tips on how to arrange them in my classroom. One chapter I LOVE talks about toy shopping and there are lots of little tips I have learned. (I'm a big online shopper) This is a great book for teachers. Buy one as a graduation gift for anyone you know working on a preschool or elementary teaching degree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Wish I could give this book 7 stars.

    I'd like to give this book 7 stars. This book is a great teaching novel every grandparent and parent can learn something from. This is why I like it: I watch talk shows all day long. I'm tired of seeing these boring toy people showing 'the next best toy' when most of the time they never tell me anything about it except who makes it. I was flipping channels the other day and saw this book on a morning news show on CBS. The title, Toy Tips, captured my attention so I thought I might learn something. One of the author's, Marianne Szymanski, was talking about learning toys. I was completely engaged in her information about how children will learn by playing with each toy she showed. She was a delight to watch and I enjoyed each toy she spoke about. I bought her book and read it in two days. This is an advice book for a grandma like me and one of the best that I've read in a long while. I have 9 grandchildren and have spent thousands of dollars on not-played with and not- appreciated toys over a 22 year time span. I've always wondered why the toys I picked never really got played with or my grandkids never really learned anything from them. And, until I read this book, I never realized this. Now, I see why my husband and I wasted so much money on toys...I just usually bought what I was told was the best toy, according to these TV shows and thought the kids would like it. What a mistake I made. I've decided to be my own expert (as she suggests) from now on. This woman leads the pack as far as TV shows go and what she is saying about toys. My oldest grandchild is about to be a father and I am now passing this book to him. I also think I remember seeing this woman on Oprah a long while back. I'm pretty sure she is the same person and I'm glad to see she is still doing this. It's a nice service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    As a mom of a newborn son, I am very thankful to have learned about this book. Jonathan Daniel is 4 months and I just starting looking for the most appropriate developmental kinds of toys to buy him. This book is SO HELPFUL not just for his age now but also as he grows. I also have 2 school-age nephews (11 and 12) who I thought might be a bit too old for toys but this book gave me some new ideas. I liked the quizzes and the little stories from the Toy Tips Toylab. It's the best resource I have found on real information for parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Intersting Read

    I'm an uncle who lives out of town. I am not a parent. When my nephew, David was born, my sister sent me this book when I asked what kinds of toys I should buy for David. Instead of sending the steel Tonka trucks, train sets and footballs I would have, I actually learned that a mobile stimulates vision, a rattle helps balance hand eye coordination and a book should be read every day to him. My sister told me David likes my gifts best! I actually bought a copy for my friend who is pregnant now. It is a good read. It has my thumbs up. Also, I saw the author on TV a few times. That is kind of cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    I picked up this book after I met the author at a fundraising event for kids. It is a great book filled with tips and facts about the right kinds of toys to buy. It is written in short chapters so you can easily pick it up and read it for reference. I really like her website, www.toytips.com. I found so many reviews on toys that my kids already have and of course more on toys they want. I would suggest this book as a gift for anyone with a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    BEST TOY SHOPPER GUIDE

    All the information you need to be a smart and saavy toy shopper. I've learned how to make better choices myself and have noticed that my picks have been a big hit for birthday parties and for my son. Great gift for non-parents too. I bought a copy for my sister because she always asks me what to send my son, Nate.. Now, she can make her own choices!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    I'm a first time father and newly single parent. My daughter is 6 months and I have no clue what kinds of toys are safe or appropriate for her. My boss gave me this book and it really gave me some guidance. I give it the guy-seal of approval for dad books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    This book focuses on encouraging parents to really understand what they are buying to boost a child's development. Our book club read it and it was a big hit! Now, we all feel like better toy shoppers. A wonderful resource for all parents and child care owners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    As a mother of 5 children age 2-10, I buy a lot of toys! What I like best about this book is that the authors really focus on informing how to buy toys rather than what to buy. Learning how to buy rather than what to buy is so much more valuable to me. Their website, toytips.com, lists full toy reviews and I have used it many times for the numerous birthday parties my children get invited to. TIP: This is an easy read and has fun little stories. Great mom book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    This is a wonderful resource on how to buy toys. There are so many toys to choose from and this book actually teaches you how to buy them. I was an audience member at the Jane Pauley show where the author appeared and she gave the whole audience each a copy. I am very grateful she did. She made the whole toy shopping experience for me much easier and more fun! Now, I feel I buy better quality toys rather than the same commercially-driven ones my girls ask for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Toy Tips: A Parent's Essential Guide to Smart Toy Choices

    Our first grandchild was just born and I have not bought toys in 25 years. I plan to buy many but needed a refresher on where to start. This book made it so easy to reintroduce the best kinds of toys to choose. The truthful information now makes me think twice about some of the other toy advice I have seen on television. I think the authors did a very good job making this fun to read. I suggest this book for any grandparent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2