Customer Reviews for

Bananagrams Game

Average Rating 5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Best Game

This game is contagious. We have so much fun playing you can play by yourself, with a small group or large group. Small enough to take with you anywhere you go. take it out to eat while waiting for food, take it camping play it at home. Whenever you play it you just can...
This game is contagious. We have so much fun playing you can play by yourself, with a small group or large group. Small enough to take with you anywhere you go. take it out to eat while waiting for food, take it camping play it at home. Whenever you play it you just can't stop. It is very similar to scrabble but a lot faster. Buy you'll love it.

posted by Anonymous on July 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fun Game But...

This is a cheap, watered down version of Syzygy. We've played Syzygy with mixed groups of all ages including one with both a 6 year old and an 89 year old. We've played with people for whom English is a second or third language and with dyslexics. All of the above ha...
This is a cheap, watered down version of Syzygy. We've played Syzygy with mixed groups of all ages including one with both a 6 year old and an 89 year old. We've played with people for whom English is a second or third language and with dyslexics. All of the above had great fun and no one dominated the games. Syzygy has twice the number of tiles as Bananagrams, so it's more suitable for larger groups. The letter distributions (number of tiles per letter) are also better, making for a more challenging game. The physical quality of the tiles is also superior. And best of all, the game is still being sold and distributed by the woman who created it, not some huge toy company.

posted by GGinPA on November 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Bananagrams

    Always looking for a game to play at lunch with my co-workers.
    this game is fun and we don't have to count up any points or continue the next day. the Peel and dump drive us nuts. but It is a fun game.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    Easy and Travel friendly

    This is a great game for on the go and at home. It packs easily for trips but I wouldn't recommend using it on planes or in cars as pieces may slide around and easily get lost. It's a simple game that requires good thought in a scrabble like way but you work independently of your opponent, ultimately trying to be the first to use up all your letters. The game offers suggestions on alternative ways to play and mix it up, but additional methods could be thought up as well. I would recommend this game to anyone looking for some simple fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    good times

    My family loves this game. Its played best with at least 3 people,we usually play with 4. U need a large table so everyone has room to set out there tiles. We have tried various variations of the game but the original rules play the best. If you like scrabble or other word games u will for sure love this game,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    great fun

    fun and easy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Bananagrams Game

    My granddaughter has been enjoying this game. It comes in a cute banana zip storage case and is easy to carry. It builds word skills and was a good gift. My granddaughter is 10 years old. I would recommend this for tweens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Good family game try it!

    Great game goes everywhere in my purse teaches kids to spell and the oldies too! Its our coffee shop favourite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Bananagrams Game

    Was given this game as a gift from my grandson last Christmas.
    Its our favorite game to share when we visit.
    Since then I have given it as a gift many times to share
    with other families.
    It is easy to transport when visiting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Clever "new" word game

    I say "new" because the instruction sheet has a photo that looks like it's from the 80's. This game is great fun for those who love words, and unlike Scrabble, it can be played by people of varying ages. I usually play with my kids (11 and 15). Anyone who's fast enough to use up their letter tiles can win, as opposed to Scrabble, where points are accrued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    good summer fun.....

    RULES CAN BE EASILY CHANGED TO ACCOMODATE MOST AGES........VERY NICE PACKAGING.......AGES 10 TO ADULT ENJOYED PLAYING ON VACATION.........A REAL FAMILY FUN GAME WITHOUT TOO MANY RULES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick and fun, but a bit frustrating

    Bananagrams is a fast, easy game to play with a group of people--kind of a sorbet to cleanse the palate between longer, more strategic games. The concept is simple and madcap and plays quickly. Serious gamers may be frustrated, however, by the fact that there is no advantage to longer words or to being the one to form your crossword and use all your letters most quickly most often. Instead, victory is decided just by who finishes the final crossword most quickly at the end--leaving a quick and accomplished player at the mercy of getting a q or z or j as his or her last letter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Much more fun than expected!

    I bought this as a stocking stuffer for my 20 year old who is impossible to buy for, without expecting much of the game. We took it with us on a trip to a resort after Christmas and ended up playing it in the lobby almost every night while having drinks before dinner with our children, ages 21, 20 and 15.<BR/>It is a great travel game, a good alternative to cards, and a lot of fun for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Go Bananas!

    A great little game, better played by 3-4 people. Not as time consuming as Scrabble as everyone is making their own crossword puzzle-like grid at the same time. Each round takes 10+ minutes so decide how many rounds you want to play. All you need is a table or flat surface - beware of cats who like to steal your tiles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Easy to play

    We have only played with two, but it looks to be fun with more also. I had been searching for games for two and this fit the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1