BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bob Books Set #1: Beginning Readers (Bob Books Series)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Teach your kids

    This is an excellent book series to teach your child to read.<BR/>Each set consists of 10 or so books. You start from short sentences, like 2-4 short words (like "Sam sat on Mat"), with simple illustrations. Then you progress step by step.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great 'first' book for readers

    My daughter is in kindergarten and this book series is excellent for learning sight words and word families...which is how they are taught to read in our school district. It's a great suppliment to what the school is teaching. I plan to buy the other sets as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great learning tool

    My son is really enjoying reading to me. It's really helpful to have the sounds at the beginning for each book that will be in that story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good for kids learning to read

    Helps your emerging readers to have the satisfaction of saying, "I read it all by myself!" It is the right length and level of difficulty. They are not the most exciting stories in the world, but that's not the point is it?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    My teenager says, 'Bob Books Rock your Socks'

    My teenage daughter remembers Bob Books so well she wants me to purchase them for her cousin's 4th birthday. I bought my daughter Bob books at age 4. She read the first three books in the car on the way home from the book store. The simple subtle progression of each book and set is key. The illustrated 'stick' type pictures were fun to color and duplicate and we had a great time playing with the finger puppets used imagination and made the books our own. I believe that this first reading success has helped translate into the great success and confidence she has had so far in all subjects throughout her Elementary and Middle school years. I recommend them to all parents who would like to see their child succeed in reading and possibly much much more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    A must have to teach beginning reading

    My kids have used this series and I can't promote it enough. The books are small so the child feels successful. The words are easy to decode, and the books build upon each other. I wouldn't start to teach a child to read without this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bought for my 5yr old

    Starts out really easy and by the last book its a tad bit tougher. I recommend this to anyone teaching their kid to read or improving their reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Great start for new readers!

    My child loves these and last night read the first two books successfully on her own -- sounding out the words! Each book progresses in difficulty. This gives her a sense of challenge and accomplishment. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    As a retired reading specialist, I used the Bob books with my students. I have purchased now for all my grandchildren. I LOVE BOB!!! and THEY love Bob!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Excellent!!!

    I bought this set of books for my 5-year-old. He's been reading the books for over a month already, and is able to read the basic sight words without sounding them out. The text and the pictures are very engaging, which gets him motivated to read over and over again. I'm very happy with the purchase, and highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exactly what I was looking for!

    I have a four-year-old who already knows her letter sounds, and was beginning to piece together letters to make words. I couldn't find any books for her that were a good fit, until I picked these up. These books work in a progression, starting with very simple and slowly working toward more difficult words. The stories in this series are simple and silly, and very easy to understand. I'm so excited to say that my daughter is reading! Don't let the price intimidate you, these series of books are worth every single penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Great tool to teach your child to read!

    This is the second time I have used this book to tech my kids to read. This is a real inexpensive way to teach your child to read while also spending some great quality time with your kids. They will pick it up fast and reading fluently before you know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Great for early readers!

    My five year old is reading these fluently. Great for my older seven year old who was having reading difficulties - built his confidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Excellent for beginning readers and teachers!

    My daughter started on these at her kindergarten; they would give her one per week. But I wanted her reading more, so bought the whole set. They are great for sounding out words and beginning readers. We try to read at least one every night and are great for starting short vowel sounds, word recognition, using pictures for context of the story. Also, my 3 year-old likes to sit by and listen and he is trying to "read" them as well. I highly recommend these for anyone who has a child who is learning to read and also for a parent trying to teach someone to read without getting frustrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I highly recommend these books.

    Books are very good for children who are slow in learning to read. Each of the 12 adds becomes slightly more difficult by adding new words. I have used with my grandson and he enjoys reading the books and grown significantly in his reading skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    BOB BOOKS are very EDUCATIONAL

    My 4 year old grandson began to read with these books & LOVED THEM!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Great beginner books!

    These are excellent books for first-time readers. I taught my daughter the fundamentals of reading with the entire series and am preparing to do the same with my stepson. The first series has nice and easy three letter words and the books are short enough to get through in one sitting. A real confidence builder for kids. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Fantastic for early readers!

    This is a must for a early reader. My 4 year old is reading these and building her confidence. Great simple words for readers to practice sounding outloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2