Customer Reviews for

Bob Books Set #2: Advancing Beginners (Bob Books Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Great Books!!!!

    Great Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good for beginning readers

    My daughter is using these to help her with her reading. These were recommended to us by her teacher, and we have found them useful in supporting foundational level reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great for beginner readers

    I read this with my son who is in kindergarten. It is hard to find beginner reader books that kids can actually read. There are ususually words that are certainly more advanced in many beginner reader books which can be frustrating for little ones. The vocabulary is this set is not very advanced and there is a lot of repetition to make the beginner reader feel successful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent early to prereader

    I've used the whole series with several children and helped them get off to a great start in reading. The children enjoy the stories, laugh often while reading and have a lot of pride in being able to read or figure out the words with little to no help.They are an exceltent value, hold up well to pre-schooler hands, are easy to use and store.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great tool for learning to read

    The BOB book series is a great tool to assist your child who is learning to read. The books have simple but effective stories that foster using context in reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent tool for tutoring reading.

    Using for tutoring a kindergarten child. Repetition of simple words is helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love these books!

    Great way for a beginning reader to feel successful. The pics are cute and the characters funny. My son was so thrilled with himself when he could read a whole book with hardly any prompting. We got the beginning set and the Kindergarten sight word set. Well worth the investment. I was skeptical but now I love the BOB series and highly recommend. It really works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Bob Books Are Good Beginning Readers

    My four-year-old granddaughter really liked this series and she felt a huge sense of accomplishment as each book was completed. For future editions, I would suggest that the "fancy a" be used in these books since that is generally what is found in most print. The drawings are humorously charming even without much color.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Help your Child Read

    The series really help children read. Stories are short, funny and engaging for boys and girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Beginning Reader for the reluctant

    I have a reluctant reader (4 1/2 year old boy). Even though the stories are very simple (read boring to mom), he loves that he can "read" a book by himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    work on reading skills

    Our daughter loves these books. She like the accomplishment she feels when reading these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Where would we be without Bob?

    I use these books with my 3 year old grandson who has already mastered the previous sets. He is challenged (for now) by these word families. Since the story line is simple and easy to follow/comprehend we like to embellish as we go along. Sometimes we use only rhyming words, sometimes words that start with a particular letter, etc.We use these books in the bathroom, at the dinner table, in bed, in the car, in the wagon, on the airplane. We never leave home without them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    bob books

    my granddaughter loves reading these books. she is 5 and can easily read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great books

    great for begining readers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bob Books are great for learning to read!

    My son is in kindergarten and is learning to read. These Bob books are a great tool to use. Bob Books set 2 is a great addition to set 1. It uses some of the same characters, review a lot of words from set one, but at the same time are a little harder to read. My son was so excited to be able to read books all by himself without any help. The Illustrations are very dull and simple, and they do not have very much color, but my son still loves reading them. The stories are very simple and sometimes repetative, but again this is how children learn to read. They only have three and four letter words, so they are easy for the learners to read. I would and have recommended the Bob Books set 2, to any one learning to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    GREAT series for beginner readers

    My daughter had to read all 12 books in two nights (it would have been in one night, if I did not make her go to bed!) She was so excited by the size of the book and the readability. Graphics could be better, but she was very happy being able to read the repetitive words. Great series to boost confidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Bob Books

    My 4 year old grandson just devoured these books. He LOVED learning new words and feeling the 'success' of reading on his own. He eagerly awaited each new set of books and loved each as much as the last. He goes back to the beginning and re-reads them to his little brother regularly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Bob books set #2 -great!!!

    I bought this set for my granddaughter that is in kindergarten and she can read a little so I gave her the advanced beginner reader set #2 and she can read all of them so now I must purchase the next set for her. These are great for kids and my grandson also loves them, he is 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Great for learning to read

    My son really enjoys the Bob books. They have been fun and challenging for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW

    WHEN I WAS A LITTLE GIRL I WOULD READ THESE BOOKS ALL THE TIME

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2