Customer Reviews for

Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

posted by booksonmynook on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not so great

I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton see...
I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton seems to have mental issues. I am losing interest fast and don't know if I want to bother with the rest of the series at this point.

posted by mysteryluvr1966 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    not so great

    I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton seems to have mental issues. I am losing interest fast and don't know if I want to bother with the rest of the series at this point.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Why are they touting this as a new release?

    Why is this listed as a new release? This is #13 in the scarpetta series and we are up to #20 now. NOT NEW!!!!!! I almost purchased this because of the new cover. DO NOT BE FOOLED!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    I want my money back!

    I have assumed the Scarpetta novels have been written as a series, but this book clearly states Scarpetta was fired from her position in Virginia...the previous book had her resigning that position. What happened? Of the main character, a lot more of the same: Scapetta is a legend in her own mind. In this installment, the Benton and the Lucy characters seem to have been 'forced' into the story. It probably would have been a better story without them. Actually, the Lucy character should be dropped altogether. She was a potentially wonderful character with extraordinary intelligence and amazing talents, but the author has turned her into something most despicable: Lucy is a murderer and a homosexual predator preying upon young women who often happen to be in an emotionally challenged stage of life. Lucy also appears to be a pyschopathic personality who has trouble controlling her actions and only due to the intervention of others, she has somehow avoided disastrous results. This is not a good role model for your sister or daughter! Finally, the author has painted a most unflattering picture of the person (Dr. Marcus) who took Scarpetta's job in Virginia but failed to give the reader closure on that front: What happened to the Marcus character? If buying future Scarpetta novels is the price to pay to get that answer, the price is too high. I will not be reading any more of Cornwell's books and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Mostly in Agreement

    I am mostly in agreement with most of the other reviewers. I am dragging myself through this book, I have put it down 5-6 times and force myself to pick it back up again. I bought it for a beach read and I am ready to fling it into the ocean.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I am extremely disappointed and feel cheated by the author and t

    I am extremely disappointed and feel cheated by the author and the publisher. I pre-ordered this book thinking it was a new one by Ms. Cornwell. Due date was July 3 and I have just opened it. Ms. Cornwell gave a 2012 prologue however the book itself is listed as a 2004 publication and I have found I had read this at that time. It seems the author has really gone downhill. Her last several books have not been her best or anywhere near what she used to be. I for one will not be scammed again and accept her on long ago reputation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    This Sucks!

    As a, previously, avid fan of PC, it is difficult to accept the fact that either she has either lost interest in her craft or become divorced from her previous standards for storytelling. Blow Fly was a odd book but still readable. Even her laughable Jack the Ripper tome was entertaining. This one...well, perhaps I am old-fashioned, but a book should have a beginning, a middle and an end. Trace starts out interestingly enough with a call back to Richmond, a place of painful memories, from someone Scarpetta does not know, for an investigation to which she will not be made privy until she arrives. Why would any consultant possibly accept? Why did she? The mid-book is a series of glimses into the angst of her recurring characters which does little to help the reader understand them or strengthen the plot. The nearly unbelieveable plot is a masterpiece of clues appearing deus ex machina. Finally, what happens to anyone in the book. Of the multiple threads in the book only one, the conflict between Lucy and her lesbian lover Henri, is resolved. Major characters, such as the new ME, Dr. Marcus, dissappear from the book 2/3 or the way through after his serious psycological problems and loathing of KS is well developed. What happened to the villian in the piece after he was tracked down by Marino (by following clues across the eastern seaboard based on cigars?). Hopefully, PC will donate whatever she makes on this book to some charity helping readers who are traumatized by their erstwhile favored authors. Wait for the paperback in the used book section of BN.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Got to be good!

    Kind of hard to comment when it isn't out. But it will be good I am sure!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2006

    Disappointing

    It seemed to me that PC was trying to prove in her new style of writing that she is a good writer. Unfortunately, she wrote a bad story well. This story drug on, didn't connect the sub-plots very well (or at all), didn't use all the characters like she has in the past, and was just not exciting. Instead of not being able to put the book down, like her previous books, I could barely keep reading this one. Very disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    If you must read it, rent it from the library!

    I was an avid Cornwell reader (of her early Scarpetta work), but Trace is the worst yet. I can't get past chapter 10, the writing is high school level at best. I can't focus on the story for the sloppy writing. What a disappointement. What happened to the Cornwell who grabbed you in the 1st chapter and drug you through the rollercoaster world of Kay Scarpetta and didn't let go? Come on Cornwell, we know you can do much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    WHAT ABOUT THE PAST?

    Not too much was wrote about the fact that Benton, Marino and Lucy, allowed Kay to believe that Benton was dead. He was shown to be alive in Blowfly, but where is the fall out and consequences of such a lie. I couldn't see Kay accepting the lie and deceptions so easily, at least without any explanation or detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    What happened to the writing style?

    I tried so hard to get started in 'Trace' but I realized that the thing that was keeping me from getting hooked was the writing style. Typically, PC writes in the first person as though I'm reading Kay's thoughts. But this book and I think the last two books as well are now in the third person. 'She did this and Kay felt that.' I hate it! I enjoyed the first PC books because of the intimacy I felt reading what Kay was thinking. I wish and hope PC returns to her old style. It was much better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    Thoughts

    I did enjoy this book as I have enjoyed all of the Scarpetta books. I've read all of them except for the last one Predator. Kay has been touched by the horrors she works with and they have changed her. The writting style I think changed because the character has changed so much over the years. Kay is no longer young. She is in the middle of a mess that she has no control over. The change of 1st to 3rd person really helped to show that she was a part of something she wasn't pulling the reins on. It was refreshing for Mrs Cornwell to show that Kay was a person that had lost control over what had been hapening and that she was getting that control back in Trace. She was taking back her sence of self.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    Doesn't Measure Up

    Disappointing book. I have always loved reading about Kay Scarpetta, Lucy, Marino and the rest of the gang. I always buy her latest Scarpetta books as soon as they are out. Regrettably, the last 2 have not been worth the time to read. This book was a real disappointment. It was hard to get into and just wasn't entertaining. I really hope PC goes back to her old writing style, I miss it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Took forever to finish it

    I usually rush to the store as soon as a new Kay Scarpetta story is released, but the last two I have read have been disappointing. Usually I can't put it down, but this one I had to keep forcing myself to finish reading it--hoping it would get better. Even the characters seem different. Benton always worshipped Kay. Now he was ready to throw their relationship away over some tramp that Lucy had him babysit? Bring back the 'old' characters and their hysterical interaction. The reparte, the wit. These last two books just seem to drag instead of capture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2005

    By far . . . not her best work!

    I have read all of Patricia Cornwall's books and for the most part really enjoyed the read! Usually I love her writing style but this book was sluggish, and the characters had little life to them. Benton's character was better off dead as far as this book is concerned. However, I am looking forward to reading her next book Predator as I have been a big fan of Cornwall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2005

    What happened?

    I love the Kay Scarpetta novels, and have been disappointed by the last two. I started this summer reading the whole series, and I could not put them down. I read the first nine in the month of August. When I started reading Blowfly, I noticed a change. Cornwell seemed to be writing differently, and unfortunatly, it wasn't for the better. I am still a huge fan, and will continue to read anything that Cornwell writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    What a let down

    I can say this is the first P.Cromwell book I have read and might be my last. I normally read a book very quickly 'if' it is interesting enough. This one I started twice because it was slow and boring, although I love forensic talk and a good thriller...this just lacked! Just when it started getting interesting it was over and I felt like the book ended in mid sentence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    A Total Disapointment

    I have read the continuing series of Kay Scarpetta, and I can't believe how let down I was of this one. First off there was way too many story lines going on and in the end the lose ends were not acknowleged. What was the whole deal with Dr. Marcus, and how come the 'Doc' never talked to Feilding after that one meeting. Also what was the whole deal with Lucy's neighbor.I just hope 'Predator' is better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    another good read, but........

    I have enjoyed the Scarpetta books, going way back. However, when I began this book, I was a little annoyed by its style, something I don't usually notice. But it jumped out at me - every paragraph was loaded with sentences using the word 'and' ( Marino was breathing heavily and he was annoying - the heat was stifling and it was beginning to bother me, Lucy was coming to visit and she was angry) OK, I made these up, but it is the general style of the writing. It's very lazy, there is no real attempt to give characters or situations a thorough, revealing description. It's done in shorthand, it's choppy and seems tossed away, as if no real thought was put into the writing. In fact, I went back to Postmortem and Cruel and Unusual, just to see if Cornwell had always had this writing style - No surprise, she hadn't. It seems like she is now churning out the books and not paying attention to the quality of the writing. However, I did enjoy the story - the plot and resolution fell together nicely - but it seemed more like an outline thrown together, rather than carefully put together as a novel. Choppy, unsatisfying writing, yet still a good story, and I will certainly read her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11