Customer Reviews for

Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

posted by booksonmynook on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not so great

I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton see...
I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton seems to have mental issues. I am losing interest fast and don't know if I want to bother with the rest of the series at this point.

posted by mysteryluvr1966 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Why are they touting this as a new release?

    Why is this listed as a new release? This is #13 in the scarpetta series and we are up to #20 now. NOT NEW!!!!!! I almost purchased this because of the new cover. DO NOT BE FOOLED!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    I want my money back!

    I have assumed the Scarpetta novels have been written as a series, but this book clearly states Scarpetta was fired from her position in Virginia...the previous book had her resigning that position. What happened? Of the main character, a lot more of the same: Scapetta is a legend in her own mind. In this installment, the Benton and the Lucy characters seem to have been 'forced' into the story. It probably would have been a better story without them. Actually, the Lucy character should be dropped altogether. She was a potentially wonderful character with extraordinary intelligence and amazing talents, but the author has turned her into something most despicable: Lucy is a murderer and a homosexual predator preying upon young women who often happen to be in an emotionally challenged stage of life. Lucy also appears to be a pyschopathic personality who has trouble controlling her actions and only due to the intervention of others, she has somehow avoided disastrous results. This is not a good role model for your sister or daughter! Finally, the author has painted a most unflattering picture of the person (Dr. Marcus) who took Scarpetta's job in Virginia but failed to give the reader closure on that front: What happened to the Marcus character? If buying future Scarpetta novels is the price to pay to get that answer, the price is too high. I will not be reading any more of Cornwell's books and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I am extremely disappointed and feel cheated by the author and t

    I am extremely disappointed and feel cheated by the author and the publisher. I pre-ordered this book thinking it was a new one by Ms. Cornwell. Due date was July 3 and I have just opened it. Ms. Cornwell gave a 2012 prologue however the book itself is listed as a 2004 publication and I have found I had read this at that time. It seems the author has really gone downhill. Her last several books have not been her best or anywhere near what she used to be. I for one will not be scammed again and accept her on long ago reputation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    This Sucks!

    As a, previously, avid fan of PC, it is difficult to accept the fact that either she has either lost interest in her craft or become divorced from her previous standards for storytelling. Blow Fly was a odd book but still readable. Even her laughable Jack the Ripper tome was entertaining. This one...well, perhaps I am old-fashioned, but a book should have a beginning, a middle and an end. Trace starts out interestingly enough with a call back to Richmond, a place of painful memories, from someone Scarpetta does not know, for an investigation to which she will not be made privy until she arrives. Why would any consultant possibly accept? Why did she? The mid-book is a series of glimses into the angst of her recurring characters which does little to help the reader understand them or strengthen the plot. The nearly unbelieveable plot is a masterpiece of clues appearing deus ex machina. Finally, what happens to anyone in the book. Of the multiple threads in the book only one, the conflict between Lucy and her lesbian lover Henri, is resolved. Major characters, such as the new ME, Dr. Marcus, dissappear from the book 2/3 or the way through after his serious psycological problems and loathing of KS is well developed. What happened to the villian in the piece after he was tracked down by Marino (by following clues across the eastern seaboard based on cigars?). Hopefully, PC will donate whatever she makes on this book to some charity helping readers who are traumatized by their erstwhile favored authors. Wait for the paperback in the used book section of BN.com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2005

    If you must read it, rent it from the library!

    I was an avid Cornwell reader (of her early Scarpetta work), but Trace is the worst yet. I can't get past chapter 10, the writing is high school level at best. I can't focus on the story for the sloppy writing. What a disappointement. What happened to the Cornwell who grabbed you in the 1st chapter and drug you through the rollercoaster world of Kay Scarpetta and didn't let go? Come on Cornwell, we know you can do much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    What a let down

    I can say this is the first P.Cromwell book I have read and might be my last. I normally read a book very quickly 'if' it is interesting enough. This one I started twice because it was slow and boring, although I love forensic talk and a good thriller...this just lacked! Just when it started getting interesting it was over and I felt like the book ended in mid sentence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Not Quite the Same Scarpetta

    'Trace' is definitely not one of the best Scarpetta novels, better than her last few. 'Blow Fly' being the worst. The first Sarpetta novels were the best. Dr.Scarpetta, Marino and Lucy arn't the characters they used to be. Scarpetta seems depressed just a shell of her original self. Marino lately has been portrayed as a boob and not the tough cop we've come to love. Lucy is just a lost soul. Benton was better when he was dead, his character brings nothing to the story. In PC's latest novel she starts to set into the villian's minds again as she once did in the older books but the story often ramble's on. Or she begin's to get deep into a particular character then dead ends them. She also has been bringing her novels to abrupt endings without the usual climax we use to see in the early books. I think and hope PC is bringing Scarpetta and the rest of the gang back to their earlier forms like in the stories we all love. I'm going to try the next one but if the downward spiral continues it may be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    disappointing

    I have read all of the Scarpetta series and could not put them down when I was reading them. This, on the other hand, I couldnt wait to finish because it was nothing like her previous works. She doesn't even seem like the same author. She also needs to get the details correct in her latest novels because she contradicts herself. My opinion, not worth the time spent reading!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2005

    No stars deserved

    I have always enjoyed the Scarpetta novels. However, I couldn't even make it through the first two chapters without tossing this book out. Her characters are tired, whiney, annoying and just need to move on with their lives. There was nothing interesting about the story line to make me want to find out how it ended. I just know I wanted it to end. This was her second Scarpetta novel to be a dissapointment. 'Kay' needs to get on with the business of her profession, and get rid of her angst and self-pity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2005

    Who really wrote Trace & Blowfly?

    I must state that I intensely dislike first person narratives for more than a few paragraphs. Having an entire book written in the first person was exceptionally annoying and I found that I lost interest in the plot about a third of the way through Trace. The forensics were still interesting, but the characterizations seemed flat. I couldn't finish Blowfly. Her earlier books are much better written & plotted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Awful

    I'm a huge Cornwell fan but this is terrible. So bad in fact that I'm convinced someone else wrote it for her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    writing at it's worse

    february 8.2005 i have read all of cornwall's books. the scarpetta books were great until the last precinct, blowfly and now trace. i will not waste my money nor time on any of her books again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Who Wrote This Book?

    I truly felt someone other than Patricia Cornwall wrote this book. It was very disappointing. Let's get the old Scarpetta back soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    What a total waste of time!

    I have read all the Dr. Kay Scarpetta books and I must say, this will be the last one. What a waste of my time. When Patricia Cornwell started the series, they were most interesting with forensic information leading to the subsequent crime solving. Now the books are more driven by dysfunctional characters. The Scarpetta character feels so sorry for herself it is depressing. The Lucy character is just plain dysfunctional and the Moreno character has been turned into a boob. As for forensic information, forget it. Corneell's previous book 'Blow Fly' was no better. What a shame Cornwell took this series to this end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Cornwell's Lost It!

    Have all her books, loved them all....except this one. What happened?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Another lame read

    I used to look forward to her books and would even buy them the first day. It seems that she is pushing her books out too fast. This is the third book in a row I was disappointed. The story drags on and leaves you hanging at the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Don't even borrow it from the library

    This is the first Cornwell book that I felt was a total waste of time to read. Fragmented doesn't begin to describe it. It appears to have been written in spurts, with nothing to join sections. Cornwell has lost it. What a shame.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Timewaster

    This was the last one of hers for me, it was so inane, trivial, trash. She will truly lose all her avid followers after these last couple. I only got halfway thru, and am surprised that people actually finished it. I cut my losses

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Characters Flawed

    None of Cornwell's characters are consistent anymore. Lucy makes out with her male partner after stressful situations. Wesley fakes his own death, comes back to the land of the living- and Scarpetta isn't any sort of angry? What is Wesley's job now anyway? Marino working for Lucy? Over the top doesn't begin to quantify how difficult it is to suspend disbelief to get into these books anymore. What next? Lucy going straight? Are Scarpetta and Marino going to become an item? Its just impossible to reconcile the bitter feelings from Wesley's abandonment with the ho-hum reaction to his return, and dodging her while he's busy doing his work. Its like each character has three different personalities and she's throwing darts while blindfolded to pick which one to use in any given chapter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2004

    Last Cornwell Read For Me

    I won't be reading anymore Patricia Cornwell after this. I have read all of the Kay Scarpetta novels and I have been disappointed with the last three. I found this book hard to get into, but once in, I was able to get through it rather quickly. I am very disappointed with the ending, too many unanswered questions and far too many loose ends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3