Customer Reviews for

Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

Average Rating 3
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

posted by booksonmynook on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

not so great

I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton see...
I really loved the first few Scarpetta books and couldn't wait to read the next in the series. As soon as Cornwell brought Benton back to life the books have gone downhill. Lucy is annoying and stuck up, Kay seems to be in a depressing daze with no purpose, Benton seems to have mental issues. I am losing interest fast and don't know if I want to bother with the rest of the series at this point.

posted by mysteryluvr1966 on January 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    I loved this book. very well written. Finished it very quickly

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    One of the most interesting of the Scarpetta Novels

    I really enjoyed the sub plots or 'mini' stories in this book. I like the forensics, but the 'mini' stories also add to the story line because life has 'mini' stories in it. I have read all of the Scarpetta novels and found this one to be one of the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    A Must Read for Kay Scarpetta Fans!

    I love this book! While many reviewers and fans complain that Patricia Cornwell has left too many unfinished details, that has been part of the allure of this series! I can't wait to see what happens in the next book! The characters are all well-developed. The main characters are all flawed and that keeps them real. They usually manage to be ethical and professional despite the horrible turns of fate they are dealt. Trace is no exception. Scarpetta, Lucy, Rudy, Benson, Marino are all emotionally exhausted and scarred, yet manage to solve frightening crimes while trying to keep themselves and each other from falling apart. Thanks, Patricia, for giving us very human characters who are able to do amazing things!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2004

    Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

    I liked this novel much more than Blow Fly. I enjoy the third person writing style because it makes for a good crime novel -- being in the antagonist's mindset is fascinating. It's impossible for PC to write a bad novel, Blow Fly certainly wasn't amazing but it didn't deserve a star and a half rating. When authors get enormously famous, people like to bash them for absolutely no reason. Which is why even people who haven't read Trace feel obligated to rate it one star. Sure the plot skipped around a bit and the ending was abrupt, but the forensic pathology were fascinating, as always, and the characterization was first rate. I, for one, am sticking by Cornwell. She's never steered me wrong before!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    THE VERY BEST; PAT HAS DONE IT AGAIN!

    Could not put the book down, all the plots were real and I could put myself in her place. Kay Scarpetta always take on this real life quality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Timmy to natebecause i do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Redtears story chapter 2.

    The wild cats padded away into the bushes. Missy was shocked. They had invited HER to join their clan and she was just a house-cat who hunted only in dreams! Suddenly she had doubts. What if she couldnt hunt well? What if she slept to late? What if she couldnt fight? The warm bed food bowl and the water bowl values instantly shot up. Missy didnt know what to do. She decided to ask Stella what to do. She went over to the two-leg nest beside her and called. "Stella? Are you out here?" A yellow kitten climbed up the fence. "Hi Missy! What is it?" "Well," Missy said hesitatingly. "Are you alright? Are you hurt? Are they feeding you? Are they getting rid of you?" Stella asked. Missy smiled. It was good to have a best friend. A rather talkitive friend but still a friend. "No its not that. Some wild cats asked me to join their clan. Whats a clan and should i join it?" "A clan,"said Stella. "Is a group of cats that live in the forest. Middle aged cats take care of old and young cats. And should you join it? If it makes you happy Missy. But no one will pet you or feed you and you'll have to fight in battles." "Well i dont care." Said Missy fiercely. "Im tred of having a coller and being fed and washed. I want to do al those things myself Stella." Then a thought struck her. "But you wont be there with me." Missy knew Stella would never leave her twolegs. Stella said. "Its ok Missy just do what you want." Missy looked gratetfully at her friend. "Thanks Stella. I'll try to slip away and vist you every now and then." Stela opened her mouth to say something but then her twoleg called. Stella looked behind her then said. "Bye Missy. Catch a mouse for me will ya?" And with that she jumped off the fence. For the first time Missy realized what she was truly giving up. Not just her food and her bed but her friends and alll the places she knew she would now never see again. She decided to stay outside all day and say goodbye to everyone she knew. She set off down the Thunderpath and as she went she looked back at her nest for what would be the last time.
    By Dragonstar (Butterflykit is asleep. I was going to kill her to get revenge on her writing a chapter without me but i decided this would be better.) Do you like it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Great Author

    Patricia Cornwell has always been a favorite author of mine. Her books don't require you reading the previous book in the series. I always recommend reading the books in sequence, but that is just my opinion. All of Patricia Cornwell's books are page turners. If you just want to relax or lose yourself in a good book you can't go wrong with this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Another Winner!

    I love the Scarpetta seies of books and this one does not disappoint.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    from an rn reader...

    too fabulous!!! every line i cherished, sometimes at work in lull moments i'd read, come across a conversation between scarpetta and marino, and want to show the rest of my co-workers how witty it was!!! truly enjoyed every minute....a golden work of art!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2005

    Another compelling novel

    This is by far Patricia Cornwell's most awesome novel. One can read, sense, feel and smell every scene from chapter to chapter. Very difficult book to put down!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    Cornwell's Best

    TRACE is a remarkable novel, one of her very best. I have read many of her novels but this is probably the one I enjoyed best.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    The Best Read in a Long Time!

    Cornwell's writing is primo in this new novel. She has conquered 3rd person, bringing the pages alive! This is an exciting book that you will not want to put down for long!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2004

    A huge fan!

    I don't know what all the fuss is about this book. I read PC's previous books in this series in a month and a half last summer. I was compelled to read because I cared (kind of scary) about these characters. Give her a break. This book had all the right stuff. I was thrilled in a few days to read the entire book and only to find I wanted more. This book (and series) are page turners! Great Job Patricia!! Keep them coming!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2004

    Hooray -- the real Kay is back!

    After Blowfly, I swore I'd never read another book by PC. To think that the sick and obsessed death-row inmate Jean-Baptiste had escaped again and would surely resurface in her next book was too much! Like thousands of others, I was so sick of the hairy one and his nutsy brother and French family that I said Nevermore. But my wife bought Trace anyway, and I said oh give it a few pages --and was hooked immediately. The book to me was a delightful surprise. To PCs' everlasting credit she does not even mention Jean-Baptiste and it's clear that she has seen the light too --put Kay back in the lab, talking in first person again, chasing the perps through blood and gore. Ah, it was wonderful. I loved it. Patricia, you are forgiven.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2004

    Blows away Blowfly

    Hmmm, after putting this book under the microscope and checking it for prints I can understand why the fans are coming back in droves as Scarpetta at last emerges from treading water and bobbing about aimlessly. TRACE is gripping stuff, full of surprises and hot shocks to the system. May Kay live a long and dangerous life!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

    Having been marginally disappointed with the last Scarpetta installment, Blow Fly, I still didn't feel any trepidation whatsoever about picking up this novel. I had confidence in Cornwell and knew she was still capable of turning out another winner. And I wasn't let down. Trace is the 13th novel in the Scarpetta canon and tells the story of a young girl who for all intents and purposes shouldn't even be dead. No one suspects foul play but that's exactly what Scarpetta uncovers. One of the major problems with Blow Fly was the complete absence of any of Cornwell's staples: Kay never even did an autopsy. However, Kay is back in top form in Trace, with several ingenious visits to the autopsy suite and to various different crime scenes. Another shocking occurence of note is what happens between Kay and long-time partner Pete Marino in his hotel room, which will change the two of them forever and will no doubt be evident in future novels. A colorful cast of characters are introduced throughout, including the bereaved yet psychosexual mother of the victim, Lucy's new girlfriend, Henri, Scarpetta's successor as Chief Medical Examiner, Dr. Joel Marcus, and Scarpetta's sociopathic former employee, Edgar Allan Pogue. My only gripes are the rushed ending (although that's a Cornwell trademark, so it didn't bother me much) and Benton's subdued role. Here's to hoping that he has more to do in future novels. I was also disappointed that Rudy and Lucy's interactions were so minimal, especially since their dynamic reminds me of Kay and Marino's in the early books -- platonic, but still compassionate and caring. They're best friends. Trace is a solid novel written with fluidity and is reminiscent of the early Scarpetta novels with its vibrant descriptions of crime scenes and its superb dialogue and characterization. I would definitely recommend this novel to old and new Cornwell fans alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

    I was really impressed with Trace. I was wary of it because of the disappointing Blow Fly, but this book finds Kay back to her old self. This book gets back to the basics and mirrors the earlier Scarpetta novels in many ways, with less focus on Scarpetta's psyche and more on criminals and trace evidence and forensic pathology. All the subplots came together with a solid fluidity, although I didn't care for Benton's character much in this novel. He seemed useless. Hopefully he'll come more to the forefront in future Scarpetta novels. All in all, this was another good read from Cornwell!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

    This is to all the naysayers that felt that the Scarpetta series was going downhill. Patricia Cornwell is back in top form with this dazzling entry in the Scarpetta saga. Dr. Scarpetta is back in Richmond investigating the mysterious death of a 14-year-old girl who for all intents and purposes shouldn't be dead. Working in her old OCME building, Scarpetta and her loudmouth partner Pete Marino begin to realize that the murdered girl's death is connected to another death and something far more bizarre still. Meanwhile, Lucy and her partner Rudy Musil are in southern Florida investigating why a stalker broke in to Lucy's house and beat her live-in girlfriend nearly to death. The two investigations soon merge in a horrifying way. Superb characterization and dialogue, top-notch forensics, a tale full of twists and turns and red herrings, TRACE is fantastic and vastly better than Scarpetta's last outing, BLOW FLY. Highly recommended. Patricia Cornwell once again shows why she leaves all her competition in the dust and reigns supreme as crime fiction's leading lady.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    Trace (Kay Scarpetta Series #13)

    Cornwell's writing is top notch. I can't believe how amazing her descriptions are. 'Stone the hue of old blood,' 'eyes the color of winter,' just a few of my favorites. The mystery was intriguing, I really had no idea where the storyline with Gilly's parents and her murder was going and how Cornwell could possibly tie things together, but she did and it was a creepy, yet extremely masterful resolution. All the characters are well-written and enjoyable as always, and the forensics are so detailed and brilliant that it's no wonder Patricia Cornwell outsells everyone else in her fiction field. I will recommend this book to everyone I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3