Customer Reviews for

Tracker

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Tracker by Gary Paulsen(review)

Tracker by Gary Paulson is the best book I have ever read in a while. It is about a thirteen year old boy named John that lost his parents in a plane crash when he was little. He now lives with his grandparents on a farm. Hunting is not a sport a sport to them it's how ...
Tracker by Gary Paulson is the best book I have ever read in a while. It is about a thirteen year old boy named John that lost his parents in a plane crash when he was little. He now lives with his grandparents on a farm. Hunting is not a sport a sport to them it's how they live. His grandpa has an illness and isn't able to hunt with John the upcoming deer season. So John has to go out and shoot a deer to have meat on the table. His grandma is weird to me.She always knows when to have Johns food ready. John thinks his grandpa is going to die so he thinks he can cheat death by touching a deer instead of shooting it to put meat on the table. He spends two days and one night in the woods chasing the deer with no sleep. So he sees a deer and stays with it and never stops hunting that deer till he gets to touch it. So if you want a book that will keep you on the edge of your seat and want to find out John touches the deer you should read this book.

posted by 2031465 on October 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pointless

This book is deep, haunting and dark. The boy's mind is twisted with grief and he crazily thinks that if he touches a certain doe then his grandpa won't die of cancer. He tracks the frightened deer for two days until she vomits and collapses of exhaustion. He then proce...
This book is deep, haunting and dark. The boy's mind is twisted with grief and he crazily thinks that if he touches a certain doe then his grandpa won't die of cancer. He tracks the frightened deer for two days until she vomits and collapses of exhaustion. He then proceeds to touch her and walks home, feeling like he won the Newbery medal or something and thinks he cheated death. You never even find out if the grandpa dies or not. I thought it was stupid and weird, and didn't have a proper storyline. It's also way too short, only 90 pages. Take your money elsewhere and get something actually worth your dollars.

posted by 8960291 on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    very good book

    I really like this book because I am a hunter and this is about deer. That is why I really like this book. A young boy has to do the hunting because his grandfather got sick.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I liked this book because the grandpa taught the boy new things he never knew before. I didn't like it when the grandpa got really hurt. But there where a few bad words in it. I recommend this book because it is awesome. And you would say the same to. I think it was sad, mysterious, and action-packed. And the end is awesome. It is awesome for kids 4th grade and up.

    By: Chris Freeman

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Good auther

    I love gerry paulson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Descriptive and awesome

    I am a hunter. This book has one of the best hunting descriptions I have ever read. The discription of the air the wind the snow. Beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    To:Cool Book

    Do you know what cool means

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I love it!!!!!!

    Its so butiful

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    My son read this book at school. And asked if I could buy a copy for him so he could read it again. He's read alot of Gary Paulsen books, but Tracker is his favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    check it out ITS AWSOME

    This author is very recommendable to all kids. His name is Gary Paulsen he has some popular books like tracker, hatchet, wood song, and more. But when you read this book you better like hunting and tracking deer because this book is all about. This boy and his grandpa hunting together every year. But this year his grandpa got sick so this boy had to go all by his self he thought he couldn't do it but he did what he couldn't do. So the first day he goes out and sees a couple but he thought they were too little so he waited then he saw it so he shot but he only wounded it. So he started tracking it but he just could not find it but at near dark the sun wasn't totally gone yet he found it. He was really proud of himself. He thought he couldn't do it but he really did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    A Very Challenging Book

    I loved the book The Tracker because it is by Gary Paulsen and his books are always very exciting and sort of mysterious. The Tracker is about this thirteen year old boy named John. John lives with his grandparents on they`re farm and he helps out with the crops and the animals. Since he was little, every Fall John and his grandfather go out hunting for game to put some meat on the table for winter. There is only one problem though, John`s grandfather can`t go out hunting because he has a severe type of cancer and could possibly end up dying before Winter comes. So his grandfather insists on him going hunting alone in the forest. John ends up going by himself, and finding a nice big doe. John shot the doe and it charged away leaving no signs of where it could have gone. He searched for the doe for 2 days and 1 night trying to find that beautiful doe. Finally, John found the doe lying on the ground slowly breathing and all he did was walk up and touch her. When John got home his grandfather told him it was a brave thing to do and he learned that it was mostly about living life not killing it. I would recommend this book for children in an age range of 12-15. Also, I would recommend this for hunters, and people who love a good Gary Paulsen book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    TRACKER

    Tracker
    This book will keep you at the edge of your seat you will want to read more. I recommend this book for teens because the little kids would not get the concept of this book. The hunters should like this book to.
    He says that that "It maybe fifteen below but I have to put food on the table for the rest of the winter for grandpa and grandma.'' What he is trying to say is that is the only resources are the
    In the entire book is a great book for hunters that have had that experience.
    It is sad that his grand pa dies. The deer was probably glad it was not killed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great coming of age story...

    I remember when I was in middle school reading a passage from this book for class. Then I remember some of my friends that went to other high schools having to read the book for class, so I was somewhat familiar with this book before I picked it up.
    This is definitely a book for younger people, but I'm glad I read it. It's about a boy named John who lives with his grandparents because his parents are dead. Now he's having to deal with the fact that his grandfather's cancer can no longer be treated, and he's dying.
    This is a book about John coming to terms with the fact that his grandfather is going to die. He does this through an activity that he and his grandfather have always done together, but that he now must do alone...hunting. His family depends on the hunt for their meat.
    The bulk of the book is John tracking a doe in the woods, and what that doe ends up signifying and meaning to him, and how it helps him come to terms with his feelings and thoughts about his grandfather's death.
    Great book. I'm passing it along to my 13-year old now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    Review on Tracker.

    Hi, I had read this AMAZING book with my classmates.<BR/>It had the almost BEST writing i have ever saw.<BR/>Emotions ran wild.<BR/>But as that happened...He had learned that just because you save something...doesnt mean that it will save the other person/place/thing/idea/feeling.<BR/><BR/>Read this book.<BR/>it was AMAZING and i would recamend this book to ANYONE who has an older loved one, or likes to hunt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Something Scary....and scared!

    Boys who live in a farm.Bored to death.So they go hunting. They see big,small,and medium deer.Until one of the Boys shoots one.Parilized with fear,afraid that someone is going to shoot HIM.Scared out of own mind.gives a strange look to guns, bullets,AND hunters.Read the book~what happens in the book,stays in your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    a Tracker Review

    i felt that the boy and the dear bonded and i loved it. i felt like i was about to die and i was very stunned. i have to say it was a amazing book that i couldn't drop. i thought it was a great book and everyone should read this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    tracker book exelent

    this book was really wonderful i loved how put together everthing and made all of it go together. it really showed that you understood the mean ing of the things and showed how the meaning of death was put in this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2