Customer Reviews for

Trackers (Trackers Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    a fantastic book mysterious, thrilling and very interesting

    Trackers by Patrick Carman is a thrilling book about four friends trying to get their identities back. Adam, Lewis, Emily, adn Finn have tracking in there blood they are tracking two people who stole something very important to them. It all started with Adam he was the smart one out of the group. Lewis was the cautious one he should had seen it coming, but when you¿re busy tracking somebody it¿s hard to remember who you are. Emily was brave and didn¿t take anything from anybody, but she was scared about what was happening now. Finn does everything to the extreme he pushes everything to his limit and isn¿t afraid of anything, but now he¿s afraid what¿s going to happen next. It was very intersting and I recomend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo

    In the digital age, tracking someone is easy for a computer whiz like Adam, especially when tracking is in his blood. In Adam's own words, "Everyone leaves a trail. Some of them shouldn't be followed." Adam and his three friends track a mysterious computer hacker, only to be pulled into a dangerous situation they aren't sure they'll escape. I've never read a book like this before, and I enjoyed every minute of it. Not only do you get one amazing mystery to follow, but there are codes and a website which allows you to watch videos of the team's tracking experiences and you can break the codes online, as well. You get both the reading and the viewing experience, which adds a whole new level to reading in the digital age. Unfortunately, I'm a "late night" reader and was in bed while I read this, so I wasn't able to access the videos at the time. Thankfully, there's a transcript in the back of the book, so if you don't want to go online you don't have to and will still be able to follow the story. Even though I'd already read the book, I did go online and watch the videos the next day. I had a blast seeing the characters come to life, and wished I had watched the videos instead of reading the transcript first! I completely enjoyed this book and hope to track along with Adam and his team in book two, SHANTORIAN, when it's released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    what a cool book!

    This is one of the coolest books I've read. It is the latest book in a new genre that is taking the reading experience to a different level. What am I referring to? The "Vook" genre; in other words, multi-media storytelling-a melding of traditional storytelling with online components. If you've got a kid at home (girl or boy) who would much rather be sitting in front of the computer screen than reading a book, this one's for them.

    The Trackers is a group of four friends who, although different in character, make a great team whose skills complement each other as they play spy games with highly sophisticated cutting-edge inventions. Their game suddenly becomes dangerous when they take up the challenge to track a dangerous criminal. Suspenseful, fun, and innovative, this book caught my attention.

    The story unfolds as Adam, the team leader, sits in a classified location and is interrogated by a secret agent about his activities as a Tracker. He tells the story about how he met the other three friends who make up the Trackers, leading up to their hunt for the criminal hacker and culminating in an exciting and satisfying conclusion that opens up more questions and leaves us in expectation of Book Two.

    I felt like an excited kid as I read the book and then went online to watch the videos accessed by typing in the passwords provided at intervals throughout the book. The novel delves into the world of high technology and how easily one can become embroiled in the world of Internet safety. It was a fascinating and fast-paced read. I have no doubt that middle-graders will devour this one quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun multimedia hi-tech mystery

    This hi-tech mystery incorporates online videos and content. If you are interested in computers, the Internet, and hi-tech gadgets then this book is for you. Fun read! I look forward to the next book in the series since the first book ends on a cliff hanger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unique, Mysterious, and Enthralling!

    "Trackers," by Patrick Carman, author of the bestselling Skeleton Creek books, is an incredible, unique book sure to grab the reader's full attention from the very first sentence! The book is actually an interview between the main character, Adam Henderson, and an inspector about a certain event that had happened. Every few chapters or so, the book gives the reader a password to a video. The reader goes to trackersinterface.com and types in a password, and then they can watch one of the mysterious videos which play a big part in the story. Technology is a big part of this book, which makes it one-of-a-kind. The videos are very mysterious and action-packed, as is the book itself. With a big twist at the end, "Trackers" is a magnificent book that leaves all readers eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in this new, enthralling series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Patrick Carman is Moving On Up!

    "Trackers" was a very unique and mysterious book. I loved every minute of it! It is definitely in a league of its own. This book is also very confusing at some spots, but in the end it all comes together in a very easy-to-follow and surprising way. Carman is just great at these video novels! His other video books, "Skeleton Creek" were just as fun as this one. If you haven't read them yet, I highly recommend doing so! Patrick Carman just keeps moving on up with these breathtaking books!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A James Bond version of Skeleton Creek

    Trackers was overall a good book. Not as good as the Skeleton Creek series, but it was still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fun, new series by the author of Skeleton Creek.

    Patrick Carman has managed to do it again. In Trackers, we meet four tech-savvy teens, Adam, Emily, Finn and Lewis. They track the digital trails left behind by others and in doing so, become involved in the search for dangerous hacker. Or so it seems.

    As with his previous books, Trackers combines reading with an online video component. As readers go through the story, they are provided with a password and directed to a website for more information. Watch the video, get the clues. Sounds fun? It is.

    Young adults are hard to impress. You have to keep them guessing and I feel that Carman is very successful at doing this. The videos are engaging and the acting is pretty good too. Kids are a lot more savvy these days when it comes to technology so including the online component is a smart way to engage them.

    This particular story deals with high-tech gadgets which is also a huge interest to kids today. This series is geared towards the 9-12 group and I have to say that I agree. Kids in this age range will enjoy this series.

    My only complaint, is the abrupt ending. I actually flipped through pages to see if I missed something since I was reading an ARC. Yes, there's a little bit of a postscript but I really felt the need to run out and get the next book and of course, the next book isn't out yet.

    Story of my life.

    Overall, I'd say that this will be another hit series for Carman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Trackers - Another Winner from Patrick Carman

    This is a wonderful read for middle grade readers. As a teacher, I think this would be a great book to use in the classroom. The characters are well developed and have vivid personalities. The story of four kids acting as trackers or spies is very engaging. I love the online component. The puzzles are difficult, but they are very enjoyable. The visual effects are also well done. This really engages the readers in the story. I think this is a great book to use to encourage children to read. Another wonderful book from an excellent, visionary author. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1