Customer Reviews for

Trade Winds

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Read

Killian Kinross, heir to the Scottish title of Lord for the house of Rosyth, is the black sheep of his family. A gambler by trade, he finds himself the owner of a ship. About the same time he is also falsely accused of being the person responsible for a young lady's d...
Killian Kinross, heir to the Scottish title of Lord for the house of Rosyth, is the black sheep of his family. A gambler by trade, he finds himself the owner of a ship. About the same time he is also falsely accused of being the person responsible for a young lady's delicate condition. The result is an unexpected trip to Sweden and his decision to prove he isn't the scoundrel his grandfather believes him to be.

After arriving in Sweden with his letter of introduction to Robert Fergusson for employment purposes, he finds himself rather fascinated with Mr. Fergusson's step-daughter, Jessamijn. From this point forward the reader becomes embroiled with a story of deception, romance and even travel to China.

This is a long book and I felt the author did a good job in maintaining pace overall. Towards the end it feels slightly rushed but not to the point where it interfered overwhelmingly with my enjoyment of the story. That rushed feeling, however, along with some formatting problems, is what leads me to give the book four stars. Historical romance fans like myself should enjoy the story quite a bit.

posted by swsky on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

boring

the characters are shallow. wonder if a teenager wrote it. don't waste your time.

posted by beachJT on September 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Enjoyable Read

    Killian Kinross, heir to the Scottish title of Lord for the house of Rosyth, is the black sheep of his family. A gambler by trade, he finds himself the owner of a ship. About the same time he is also falsely accused of being the person responsible for a young lady's delicate condition. The result is an unexpected trip to Sweden and his decision to prove he isn't the scoundrel his grandfather believes him to be.

    After arriving in Sweden with his letter of introduction to Robert Fergusson for employment purposes, he finds himself rather fascinated with Mr. Fergusson's step-daughter, Jessamijn. From this point forward the reader becomes embroiled with a story of deception, romance and even travel to China.

    This is a long book and I felt the author did a good job in maintaining pace overall. Towards the end it feels slightly rushed but not to the point where it interfered overwhelmingly with my enjoyment of the story. That rushed feeling, however, along with some formatting problems, is what leads me to give the book four stars. Historical romance fans like myself should enjoy the story quite a bit.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A Really Good Story, of Its Type

    I liked it. Plenty of story and not too much romance and descriptions of sexual action. It was well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Love it

    Historical fiction, well written, little bit of romance, compelling characters, and plot! A pleasant surprise after so many nook book discount let downs. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Little Bit of This ... Little Bit of That

    Trade Winds has a little bit of everything. Romance, mystery and action. For over 800 pages it's a very quick and enjoyable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great read!

    Wonderful book , I enjoyed it !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    History buffs this is for you!

    Really enjoyed this book which covered history unfamilar to me. Lots of adventure and sailing kept my interest page to page. will read other books by the author Christina Courtenay!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Worth the time

    Very well writen piece of historical fiction. A quick read and nice love story melded with true accounts in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good read!

    Easy reading. The story flowed easily and was interesting. I am not sure how historical it was, but a good romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Great adventure, strong characters, wonderfully descriptive!

    I thought the characters came to life in this story. You could feel the struggle Jess went through being a woman of the time period under a greedy, uncaring stepfather. Her strong character and determination, her fears of losing herself like her mother did to be controlled by a man, made her someone you wanted to see find happiness. I didn't expect the wonderful adventure that she would go on and I felt myself right there with her. I enjoyed the unfolding of the relationship with her and her husband and how they truly grew to care for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Recommeded- A nice read with out too much sexual content.

    Loved this book! It read well. Not too in depth in discricption (ie, 3 pages to discribe a flower). Not a lot of sexual content, which I liked. The author is a good story teller and she kept me wanting to get back to the book to see what was going to happen next. Only down side is that it ended a bit abruptly. Sequel perhaps??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    I would recomend this book

    Good character development. Believable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Good Historical Fiction

    I am a huge fan of historical fiction. Especially if it is based on true stories. This one is. It is very well written. You can very easily fall in love with the characters. The story never gets boring, and is truly a page turner. This story takes you from one end of the world to the other and gives details of what life is like for the time period. I loved stepping back time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2