Customer Reviews for

Trading Up: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it.....

I appreciated the character of Janey Wilcox. Hated her at times, pitied her at times, and then just found her outrageous. Got better and better toward the end. Great beach read. If you like Sex in the City, you will like this book.

posted by Dr.BF on August 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted ...
i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted to try and get my money's worth out of it but that definitely didn't happen. there was no real story, it was dead from beginning to end and had absolutely no point to it. i hope nobody else wastes their money on this garbage.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted to try and get my money's worth out of it but that definitely didn't happen. there was no real story, it was dead from beginning to end and had absolutely no point to it. i hope nobody else wastes their money on this garbage.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Awful

    it was so bad I had to return the book after a few pages. I kept falling asleep or daydreaming. It couldn't hold onto me. She's a good author but missed the mark on this one altogether.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    Not Worth the Effort

    This book is boring and shallow. The characters are, at best, two dimensional and offer little reprieve from the trite and overly simplistic plot. I can't imagine why anyone would enjoy this pile of dribble, unless they are as uninteresting, superficial and petty as the characters in this book. Perhaps an overseas flight is the only reason to read this tragic waste of paper because this book offers a minor reprieve from the mind numbing boredom. However, after completing this hackneyed piece of garbage I doubt very seriously that it was any more entertaining than reading the safety instructions in the pocket of my seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    If you like sex in the city do not read this

    I wish I had better things to say but this book was such a huge disappointment. I was expecting all of the glitz and glamor that surrounded her other characters and received none. The story line was non existent, the characters were boring, and I had to drag myself to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Don't bother

    If you're truley a fan of quality 'Chick Lit' this is not the book for you... or me. I have been disappointed by this author in the past but thought I'd give her a 2nd chance. I won't give her a third. It's disappointing since I loved Sex & The City, but now that I think about it she really didn't write any of those episodes did she? In this story I really wasn't sure if I was supposed to like or dislike the main character - it was confusing at times do I root for her or root against her? Confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Not work the time

    This book is a very shallow read. I generally am a fan of shallow reads but I expect a plot or something that resembles one. This book was just blah... I read 4 other books as I tried to get through this one. Do not waste your time going through the over 400 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Who cares about this protagonist?

    In order to care about a book, the reader should have some vested interest in the main character. My feeling towards Janey Wilcox was indifference. She was a static character who learned absolutely nothing and never had a true comeuppance as she deserved. Other characters were so much more interesting and layered than her, and it seemed like Bushnell wanted the reader to sympathize with her which was truly difficult because she was unlikable and depressing. The only reason I finished the book was in hopes that Janey would learn something - ANYTHING - but she doesn't. And the whole thing leaves you feeling jilted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    Dissapointing

    I first picked this book because I thought it would be an easy read or something interesting enough, since Four Blondes was fast-pacingly good and she was the author of Sex and The City. Turns out it's one of the ten worst book I've ever read. I finished (for one year, for God's sake because of the boring and shallow life of the characters)because simply I have the moral obligation to read every single book I've ever started to read. And it's a hard work. Really. It's shallow, dumb, boring, quite predictable, and common, and the worst, the torture was veeeeery long!!! NO way I was ever going to read her next thick book of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Depressing

    I was expecting this book to be entertaining, funny, and interesting, kind of like ¿Sex And The City.¿ It was exactly the opposite. Trading Up was a depressing read. The main character goes through the entire book without suffering any changes, except external ones. She realizes nothing, learns nothing, neither gets away with it nor doesn¿t. So if you read the first chapter, you¿ve read the last one, and all the ones in between. And, to add insult to injury, this book doesn¿t have an ending. It just leaves you hanging, unsatisfied, and bored out of your mind. Simply put: it sucks! Don¿t waist you money or time in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    a disappointed reader

    This book was completely boring. It took me about 2 months to get through and I still have not been able to finish it. The character is so selfish it is so unrealistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2004

    TERRIBLE

    I thought this book would be great, but was I in for a huge shock. Slow, annoying, and really boring! Don't even waste your time - Janey (the main character) is a little self-absorbed twit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    Not at all recommended...

    This is the first book I have read by this author, and I have to say it will be the last as well. The Publishers Weekly review on this page says it all... B-O-R-I-N-G!! And what's worse, it's 400+ pages of boring. The thing that really drove ME nuts though... What is with ALL the italicized words? Are there really THAT many words that need emphasizing? (Note how annoying it was as I demonstrated the problem with words in all caps! hee hee). Seriously though, the storyline is weak, the main character is poorly developed, the interesting characters are mainly used as only accessories, and the conclusion will leave you wondering exactly why you started reading it in the first place. And what's with mentioning the name of the color of lipstick the main character uses over and over? The color is 'pussy pink'. It's not a name you're likely to forget - it doesn't need to be typed out fifty some times... Can you sense my frustration??? :o) And where does she get the names of these people? Seldon Rose? Dodo? Mimi? Comstock Dibble? Tanner? Pippi? It's as if she picked up all the names rejected by the teletubbies. Don't waste your time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Disappointing

    I had expected more of this book. Very disappointing and a waste of time. I kept hoping the main character would redeem herself or get what she deserved (nothing), but no. There is definitely no depth to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    I give this book 4 thumbs down including my 2 toes.

    This book was very boring and it dragged. I couldn't help scimming through the pages to hurry up & finish so I can get to another book worth reading. The main character was too into herself & it was very hard to relate or comprehend her characteristics & motives. It seems that she was either being pity, decietful, self indulgence yet a confusing character. You didn't know what direction or category to put her in. There were too many details about everything that was unneccasary. ITs mind boggling to keep me interested. I like the fact that each characters had their own opinion & voiced it but it got to the point where I wanted to shut the book & forget about reading the ending b/c there was too much drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    The Absolute Worst

    I totally hated this book. I despised the main character. What a waste of time and energy. I love SATC but this was a total failure. Highly NOT recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    not worth it

    THIS BOOK IS A WASTE OF TIME. THE MAIN CHARACTER IS A HORRIBLE SOCIAL CLIMBER WHO WILL STEP ON HER OWN SISTER FOR FAME, MONEY AND EVERYTHING MATERIALISTIC. FIND IT HARD TO READ A BOOK WHEN YOU LOATHE THE MAIN CHARACTER AS MUCH AS I DID. COULDNT EVEN FINISH THE BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    life is too shorth to waste your time reading this trash

    I thought the book would be a nice easy read, a book to start the summer off. So I recommended it to my book club for our summer selection. Now I don't think I can go to this months meeting because I made the selecton. I also regret the fact that I was responsible for making 10 other people buy this book. It was pure trash. The characters are shallow and do not develop. The more I read it the more I questioned myself as to why I continuing to read this. I am still wondering why.It is no doubt the worst book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2003

    What a waste...

    I'm sorry but unless you are clueless as to what your time is worth, this book sucked. What a waste of time. The glamour and wealth this book tried to touch was way over stressed causing me to laugh and roll my eyes half the time. Not only was it way to overdone, but the book was just flat boring. Your waiting and waiting for something exciting to happen and unfortunately...you'll still be waiting, even when the book ends. Even if another book did come out, who'll be interested?? Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    no option for no star

    I had such high expectations after four blondes that I highly inticipated this book's arrival. What a sharp difference! Boring and pointless, making myself finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Trading Up

    This book is the most boring and poorly written book I've ever read. I couldn't get through the first part. DO not waste your time on this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2