Customer Reviews for

Trading Up: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it.....

I appreciated the character of Janey Wilcox. Hated her at times, pitied her at times, and then just found her outrageous. Got better and better toward the end. Great beach read. If you like Sex in the City, you will like this book.

posted by Dr.BF on August 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted ...
i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted to try and get my money's worth out of it but that definitely didn't happen. there was no real story, it was dead from beginning to end and had absolutely no point to it. i hope nobody else wastes their money on this garbage.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A shallow read

    I don't expect great depth from Bushnell, but this book did not hold up well. Read One Fifth -- much much better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Really didn't like it

    I read this book after reading Lipstick Jungle and One Fifth Avenue - both of which I loved. However, this book I found to be veryslow moving until the end and had way too much back story in it. I did not like the character of Janey Wilcox. I felt she was childish and really had no depth the her. I found myself skimming some of the page and really just wanting to be done with it. I am happy that I only spent $6 for this book as I got it as a last chance bargain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    At first, I read the preview of the book in the front flap, and I thought it was going to be a great funny book, turns out it's not! Trading Up was one of the worsts books ever and even worse, I threw away the tag before I could return it! so I decided to finish reading and it was horrible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Trading Down is more like it

    I had read 4 Blondes and although I didn't love it, Janey Wilcox was my favorite character in that novel so I was sure I would enjoy this book. Wrong. This book moved very slowly, and is divided into 3 'books' and I didn't even really begin getting into it until 'Book Three' a little late if you ask me. None of the characters are all that likeable and many of the side stories don't go anywhere and leave you wondering what happened with those people. It is a long read and I wouldn't waste your time with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Only if you have nothing better to do...

    I was disappointed by this book. The prose is long and drawn out, while vague at the same time. I could not figure out whether to feel sorry for her or despise her. Chapters 13 through 15 were the only part of the book that kept my attention, and it took a long time to get there. Normally, I love to devour books, this one took five months to read. So if you are unemployed and have nothing better to do, then go ahead and borrow it from some one but do not waste your money buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2005

    Selfish, unlikable characters.

    I am an avid reader and really enjoy Sex and the City, so I thought I would give this book a try. I kept reading only hoping it would get better, it does not. The characters are so selfish, rude and have absolutely no respect for others. I've never read a book where I couldn't stand the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2005

    A Great Big Bore

    I have a hard time finishing books when I absolutely hate the central character. This one took more than a month. Janey Wilcox is shallow, boring, and obtuse with a capital O. What should have been an engaging story suffers from the downright lifeless character of Janey. Mimi's character is far more interesting - I finished the book wishing it had been about her instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    Awful

    I was expecting this book to be as much fun as 4 Blondes and Sex and the City. Nope. I could hardly get through this book, the main character was so awful and disrespectful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2005

    Garbage

    If you can stomach self-centered shallow people, this is the book for you. The author succeeded in painting such a vivid picture of all the characters that you couldn't help but hate everyone in the damn book. The plot was slow moving so it was difficult for me to get through the book. But, I stuck it out and I want those hours of my life back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    AWFUL!!

    Because I love 'Sex in the City', I assumed 'Trading Up' would be a hit. But I am thoroughly disappointed. I hated Janey, the main character, and got immediately sick of reading about pretentious socialites who don't care about anyone but themselves. I've already told friends to steer clear of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Disappointed reader

    I was very unhappy with this book and felt it a waste of time and money. I loved Sex & the City and Bushnell's previous 4Blondes. But this book lacks any substance or plot. You become exasperated with the main character's lack of personality as well as depth of character. I also found my self skimming through this book to reach the end quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    So So

    I thought I would really like this book, but i was very dissapointed. I hated the character and I had to skim through pages to get to the end, which was very unsatisfying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    I was bored outta my mind reading this

    I expected much better from this author. I was bored outta my mind waiting for something good to actually happen. none of the characters are particularly likeable. to put it bluntly: it was awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2003

    don't even pick it up!

    This book sounded like a fun no-thinking required type of book. I got to chapter 7 and closed the book. I really wanted to like the main character, but she was as shallow as almost everyone else in the book. I see enough of the materialistic no depth side of people in real life without having to read a book about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    WHAT A HORIBLE BOOK!

    I somewhat liked this book at the beginning, but I think I was hoping that the main character would eventually grow on me. I really just loathed the book by the time I finished. Waste of time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2003

    NOT THAT GREAT...

    After reading this book, I wonder why it is so popular. Actually halfway thru' it, I wonder what it is that has attracted so many people to want to read it. Am I missing something? Or is it because I belong to this minority group of people who don't enjoy reading trashy novel, who the main character is this shallow and sleazy woman? To me, this book is about this big bimbo who crafts her every moves and uses sex and her beauty to get anything she wants. No doubt I wonder if I should believe what I have read, or just take it with a pince of salt? Is the author giving us (reader) a chance to glimpse into the 'real' and dirty world of entertainment? Those serious readers out there, this may not be a book that you will enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2