Customer Reviews for

Trading Up: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it.....

I appreciated the character of Janey Wilcox. Hated her at times, pitied her at times, and then just found her outrageous. Got better and better toward the end. Great beach read. If you like Sex in the City, you will like this book.

posted by Dr.BF on August 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted ...
i expected great things when i bought this book. i thought the creator of sex and the city must be an amazing author to come up with that show, but i was so wrong. her writing is horrible! this book was such a waste of money, i only finished reading it because i wanted to try and get my money's worth out of it but that definitely didn't happen. there was no real story, it was dead from beginning to end and had absolutely no point to it. i hope nobody else wastes their money on this garbage.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it.....

    I appreciated the character of Janey Wilcox. Hated her at times, pitied her at times, and then just found her outrageous. Got better and better toward the end. Great beach read. If you like Sex in the City, you will like this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Question please

    Is sex in the city about sex, kissing, naked, hot stuff, boobs, and slutty things? Please telll me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Would recommend

    If you like Sex & The City and find New York society interesting, this is a great book. If you watch "The Real Houswives of New York City", you will start looking similarities from the book and the show. Lots of fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is one of my favorite books and I have read it a few times. Bushnell's style of writing is not for everyone but I think this book is entertaining, sassy, full of details, and funny. I am obsessed with sex and the city and this book is just as great. Trading Up has WAY more personality and spice than any of those other 'chick' books! I liked this one better than Lipstick Jungle. I can't wait for her next novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I LOVED THIS BOOK. THE FIRST BOOK TO IT '4 BLONDES' IS GREAT TOO. THIS BOOK HAS A GREAT CONTINUOUS STORY ABOUT 'JANEY', I REALLY FELL IN LOVE WITH 'JANEY'. I COULDN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN. IT'S FUNNY, ENTERTAINING AND A GREAT READ. I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IF SHE WRITES MORE OF THESE TYPES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2004

    If you like Soap Operas...

    You'll love this. I throughlly can't stand the characters, except for Rose and Patty, they were the only two who seem real. But it is great. I just loved reading how much trouble these spoiled rotten elitists could get into. For those who say they hated it, I believe that maybe they just didn't understand what Candace was trying to voice. I loved the book, I found myself reading it faster and faster. It is the first book I have ever read by her and yes, like every normal woman, I have seen Sex and the City the series. I say read it, if you hate it you can always sell it back. However, I don't think you will hate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2004

    Great author, Good book!

    I did enjoy this book. Being a short brunette and as far from a Victoria's Secret model as they come, I couldn't have been more different than the main character, so it was nice to see life from a gorgeus New York blonde's point of view for a change! If you read this, you definitely need to read 4 Blondes (also by Bushnell) first...it gives this book more insight and depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2004

    The tale of a winner, not a survivor!

    I loved this book. Janey's life never fails to intrigue or interest. The author truly paints a portrait of a girl who stops at nothing to get what she wants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2004

    Page Turner

    What a great book! I absolutely loved the story and the main character, Janey. I enjoyed it so much I am now reading 4Blondes. If you loved Janey's character you get an introduction to her in the prequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    One of her best...

    Despite what the common opinion is on this book, I believe its one of her best yet. The lack of plot in the book is a page turner. It makes you plot out your own reasons for goals and speech related 'dumbness'. 'Janey' is a person any true woman with a vision can relate to. I gave it five stars not for the content but for the complete Genius of it. Read it and I sure, if your a book reader, like me, you will love it for the dull and complete truth we all know but don't say aloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    great summer read!

    Loved this book! Janey defines narcissist! You will hate her but she is so flawed you can¿t wait to see what her twisted little mind comes up with next. I was sooo sick of Sex and the City and thankfully this is not even close. Bushnell¿s character development is clever. No one is even close to being perfect (or even forgivable). But it was a really fun ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Couldn't put it down!

    I couldn't wait to read what happened next. I didn't want the book to end! I was fascinated by the main character and the descriptions let me make my own 'movie in my head'. I can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Guilty Pleasure!

    This book fulfilled all of my little guilty pleasure to read about: sex, scandal, beauty, and gossip! Janey Wilcox was a brilliant character who endured a life one could only dream up. What a great read! Once I picked it up it was impossible to put down, and the ending made me want more! This book made me laugh out loud and at times made me want to cry. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Erin, Loved it, Loved it, Loved it

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes to be swept away in good fiction. One can visualize Janey Wilcox and cast through Bushnell's vivid descriptions. Just could not put the book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Awesome!

    I thought that this book was awesome. Especially since I read 4 Blondes prior to and enjoyed Janey Wilcox's character in that as well. I cannot wait for the next Candace Bushnell book. It seems that she has such a great talent for making it so you hate the fact that you are on the last few pages of her book and never want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    Fun Light Reading

    This is a great summer light fun read. Perfect for the beach. This was a much stronger and more interesting book than Four Blondes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN!!!!

    Do buy this book, but do NOT get discouraged in the beginning. She introduces the characters wonderfully, it may seem like it is taking a bit to pick up, but when it does, you will not be able to put it down.....She does a wonderful job of description of thoughts and actions, it was like I was watching a movie in my head, many laughs!!! You are sure to enjoy! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Classic Candace

    This story was exactly what I was looking for after being extremely dissapointed with The Devil Wears Prada. Bushnell lets the reader into the exclusive world of New York and the wicked ways it can work. Bushnell is Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2003

    A Wonderful Summer Read

    This book was a lot of fun to read, I never wanted it to end. It just kept getting better and better. Bushnell out-did herself with great character development, deception, greed, mayhem. She left it open--maybe another book to follow?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Summer reading at its best!

    Forget about Collins' 'Hollywood Wives' or Susann's 'Valley of the Dolls'. With 'Trading Up', Candace Bushnell has ascended to the top of the beach book heap, proving that summer reading can be so much fun. Grab the sunscreen, cop a squat on the beach and settle in for a wild, well-written romp through New York society, as experienced by one of Manhattan's prettiest upstarts, aspiring model Janie Wilcox. 'Trading Up' is like a chilled vodka tonic on a hot summer's day -- impossible to resist and hard to put down. I can only hope that Ms. Bushnell will spend her summer days penning another tome, so that the summer fun will continue for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2