Customer Reviews for

Trading in Danger (Vatta's War Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fast Paced, easy read

I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books re...
I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books read.

This is my first read of Elizabeth Moon's books. I thought she did a great job of keeping the story moving.

This first book is a character builder for Vatta, who is kicked out of the space academy for helping another student get religious counseling - and ended up in a big mess. The daughter of a shipping magnate, her father assigns her to a "milk run" job, taking an older ship out to salvage, dropping some cargo along the way - of course, it can't go like that. I won't spoil the ending, but it has believable characters and also could be written in the 1500's as well as a space adventure.

Ms. Moon sets the stage for more adventures of this young, well disciplined and fair minded captain.

I look forward to more stories from her.

posted by DonR on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A waste of time

What happened to Elizabeth Moon? Paksennarion was so good! The heroine of this book is fairly likeable, but she spends way too much time just thinking about how confused she is. I also had a problem with the way she treats her life like a multiple choice test. Sur...
What happened to Elizabeth Moon? Paksennarion was so good! The heroine of this book is fairly likeable, but she spends way too much time just thinking about how confused she is. I also had a problem with the way she treats her life like a multiple choice test. Sure, she stops the occasional mutiny single-handed, but she's always reacting to other things - she doesn't have goals of her own. After a strong beginning, pages and pages of the book were just sheer boredom. She and her mother buy dresses; she rehashes things in her mind; she talks to people about trading details which just don't matter; quaint local cultures are described which we don't need to know about; and the action doesn't pick up for another hundred pages or so. A lot of things in the book make no sense, but we're expected to acccpt them to advance the plot. For example, she agrees to resign from military academy for something which someone else did - and unless cadets are prisoners he could have done it at any time on his own without involving her. And I can't even bring myself to talk about the fruitcake. Plot elements which would actually be interesting are introduced and never resolved, like the coded message from her Seargent at the academy, about which Kylara vaguely thinks, 'maybe I'll get back to it later'; and the actual war Kylara is caught up in, where we never find out who blew up the ansibles, or how it got resolved so quickly, or even who the different sides were. At the end of the book the heroine is still confused, only now she has her own ship. It's possible (though not likely) that this could still turn into a decent series, but it would be a stronger one without this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced, easy read

    I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books read.

    This is my first read of Elizabeth Moon's books. I thought she did a great job of keeping the story moving.

    This first book is a character builder for Vatta, who is kicked out of the space academy for helping another student get religious counseling - and ended up in a big mess. The daughter of a shipping magnate, her father assigns her to a "milk run" job, taking an older ship out to salvage, dropping some cargo along the way - of course, it can't go like that. I won't spoil the ending, but it has believable characters and also could be written in the 1500's as well as a space adventure.

    Ms. Moon sets the stage for more adventures of this young, well disciplined and fair minded captain.

    I look forward to more stories from her.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    A waste of time

    What happened to Elizabeth Moon? Paksennarion was so good! The heroine of this book is fairly likeable, but she spends way too much time just thinking about how confused she is. I also had a problem with the way she treats her life like a multiple choice test. Sure, she stops the occasional mutiny single-handed, but she's always reacting to other things - she doesn't have goals of her own. After a strong beginning, pages and pages of the book were just sheer boredom. She and her mother buy dresses; she rehashes things in her mind; she talks to people about trading details which just don't matter; quaint local cultures are described which we don't need to know about; and the action doesn't pick up for another hundred pages or so. A lot of things in the book make no sense, but we're expected to acccpt them to advance the plot. For example, she agrees to resign from military academy for something which someone else did - and unless cadets are prisoners he could have done it at any time on his own without involving her. And I can't even bring myself to talk about the fruitcake. Plot elements which would actually be interesting are introduced and never resolved, like the coded message from her Seargent at the academy, about which Kylara vaguely thinks, 'maybe I'll get back to it later'; and the actual war Kylara is caught up in, where we never find out who blew up the ansibles, or how it got resolved so quickly, or even who the different sides were. At the end of the book the heroine is still confused, only now she has her own ship. It's possible (though not likely) that this could still turn into a decent series, but it would be a stronger one without this book.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    The Vatta's War Series is great.

    I have read all in the series to date and would highly recommend the whole series for any scifi reader and anyone who enjoys Elisabeth Moon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended - non-stop intrigue

    This is a great read! It is convoluted and twisted in all the right places. The characters are well built and interesting. Space Military at its best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Space opera

    It's as good as any save the Honor series. Fun summer read and i am on to the next. I am interested to see how Ky resolves the tension between the two major sides of her character. It is wonderful to have female swashbucklers without thr ripped bodices!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    This is a pretty good book.

    This is about a girl who gets kicked out of her local military academy and becomes a captain of a merchant ship. I liked it, but I had one problem with it. The author seems intolerant of people who are not military or who don't appreciate the military ethos. I specifically didn't like it when the author portrays the main character's enjoyment of taking human life as a positive thing. But overall, this is a decent book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    VERY good beginning to a new series/trilogy.

    Kylara 'Ky' Vatta was thrown out of the Academy for trusting the wrong person. She returned home, avoiding media, to regroup herself. Her father, Gerard Vatta of Vatta Transport, decided Ky needed to go away until the media circus calmed down a bit. So she was sent as captain to take an old space craft on its last journey, to Belinta first and then to the scrap yard. She had a very small crew, but they were all veterans of space. ......................... At Belinta, Ky learned that the planet had ordered agriculture 'ag' equipment over a year ago from Sabine Prime which was picked up by another transport company and never delivered. Belinta was desperate for the equipment. No one named Vatta had ever turned down a chance to profit and Ky was no different. Ky hoped to earn enough money so that her ship could be repaired instead of scrapped. Once the personal contract was signed, she was off to Sabine Prime. .................. Sabine Prime gave Captain Vatta a bit of trouble, but not much, at first. Ky needed a new FTL drive before she could go anywhere. It was a vital part of the ship. Then she needed to purchase the ag equipment. The problem was figuring out how to get the money. FTL drives were very expensive. It all became worse when chaos erupted. Someone blew up the ISC's ansible platforms, so communications was all but gone. Then war ships came in. Ky's ship had no weapons and, with no FTL drive, no way to leave. She and her crew were defenseless and in the middle of a war between Sabine Prime and mercs! ........................ **** Very good beginning to what appears to be a series or trilogy. The plots are all tied up by the end, but many sub-plots are left dangling. I would very much like to find out how one or two of them end up, especially the one from the academy. ...................... The beginning of the book reminded me a bit of the Honor Harrington series by David Weber. Young woman, military back ground, done horribly wrong, underestimated, and very cunning. Yet by the half way mark, Ky had definitely separated herself from Honor in my mind. Ky has her own way of dealing with things and any emotional trash is put on hold until the crisis is over. All-in-all, VERY GOOD novel. I hope the sequel comes out quickly. ****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong military science fiction

    Ky Vatta wakes up as a senior cadet in the honor squad yet a couple of hours later she is asked to hand in her resignation because she broke a rule causing major fallout. She returns home and is given command of the Glennys Jones, an old FTL ship that is to be sold for scrap after it finishes its lasting trading venture. <P>When Ky reaches the planet Belinda, she discovers the government needs agricultural equipment that another trading ship failed to deliver. She decides to make an unscheduled stop at Sabine to obtain the equipment and with the profit she makes she hopes to buy the Glennys Jones and work for herself. She didn¿t count on being in the middle of a war or mercenaries dictating her actions or stopping a mutiny but Ky is determined to surmount all obstacles or die trying. <P>This is the first installment in a brand new military science fiction series and it is absolutely outstanding. The heroine may be untested but she is a survivor and will do what is necessary to win. Readers will adore her and will want to read other books in this series. Elizabeth Moon is a talented storyteller who makes the audience believe that she is recording events that happened. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Good books, great series!

    I want my daughter to read these books when she's a bit older. The story line is exciting and action-packed. The science is watered down enough that non-physics-geeks will still be able to "get it". I've read the whole series and the bulk of the books are centered around space trade/technology and space battles, there are a couple brutally violent scenes as well as a few allusions to sex. I'd think the violence/gore factor is about a PG13, while the sex is more like PG. The strife and struggle between the characters is really entertaining. The endingis perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    I have read and re-read this and the rest of the series several

    I have read and re-read this and the rest of the series several times. They are fun and enjoyable.
    Unfortunately our hardback copy has gone missing. I was going to add it on to my Nook via B&amp;N, but just as I was getting ready to make
    the transaction, my wife found it for more than $2 less in a Kindle version.
    Sorry B&amp;N, but we retirees watch our pennies and dollars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Elizabeth Moon at her best

    I enjoy just about everything Elizabeth Moon writes, and this is a good one, even for her. Strong characters, believable universe, great storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great ride

    An enjoyable journey with a new heroine and an interesting setting in the commercial traffic in space. Incleds pirates, mutiny, personal growth. I like Moon's other books, but this one is just a bit different and has better character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Anon

    Very interesting character, maybe a tad too introspective, but engaging....a young woman coming of age and coming into her own place in the world. Not a ton of action but enough to make me want to see what would happen next. A good intro to what should prove to be a very good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Great book

    Loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    One great book - once you start to read, you can't put it down!

    I read the whole ebook at one time. It was not possible to put it down after I started it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    The Book won't download

    It might be a good book if I could get it to download, which I can't. Other books I've bought here will download but not "Trading in Danger" by Elizabeth Moon. I have contacted Barnes and Noble, received an automated reply and nothing else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I liked this book...enjoyable, entertaining and just plain good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bad

    What can I say, this book is like thousands others, just with a worse plot and bad characters. Moon has put in command of a starship a young lady with the maturity and smarts of a 5 year old who fails to complete her simple mission, rather decides to run off to get agricultural equipment off a planet that is off her schedule. At this planet, she gets stuck in orbit for unknown reasons, later taking on a group of prisoners from a mercenary company. Her crew is boring and seems to be fairly untrained, even though they supposedly are all experianced veterans of the trade. The charactors are dull and indescript, and you can't feel bad for them because they put themselves in the situation.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5