Customer Reviews for

Trading in Danger (Vatta's War Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fast Paced, easy read

I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books re...
I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books read.

This is my first read of Elizabeth Moon's books. I thought she did a great job of keeping the story moving.

This first book is a character builder for Vatta, who is kicked out of the space academy for helping another student get religious counseling - and ended up in a big mess. The daughter of a shipping magnate, her father assigns her to a "milk run" job, taking an older ship out to salvage, dropping some cargo along the way - of course, it can't go like that. I won't spoil the ending, but it has believable characters and also could be written in the 1500's as well as a space adventure.

Ms. Moon sets the stage for more adventures of this young, well disciplined and fair minded captain.

I look forward to more stories from her.

posted by DonR on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A waste of time

What happened to Elizabeth Moon? Paksennarion was so good! The heroine of this book is fairly likeable, but she spends way too much time just thinking about how confused she is. I also had a problem with the way she treats her life like a multiple choice test. Sur...
What happened to Elizabeth Moon? Paksennarion was so good! The heroine of this book is fairly likeable, but she spends way too much time just thinking about how confused she is. I also had a problem with the way she treats her life like a multiple choice test. Sure, she stops the occasional mutiny single-handed, but she's always reacting to other things - she doesn't have goals of her own. After a strong beginning, pages and pages of the book were just sheer boredom. She and her mother buy dresses; she rehashes things in her mind; she talks to people about trading details which just don't matter; quaint local cultures are described which we don't need to know about; and the action doesn't pick up for another hundred pages or so. A lot of things in the book make no sense, but we're expected to acccpt them to advance the plot. For example, she agrees to resign from military academy for something which someone else did - and unless cadets are prisoners he could have done it at any time on his own without involving her. And I can't even bring myself to talk about the fruitcake. Plot elements which would actually be interesting are introduced and never resolved, like the coded message from her Seargent at the academy, about which Kylara vaguely thinks, 'maybe I'll get back to it later'; and the actual war Kylara is caught up in, where we never find out who blew up the ansibles, or how it got resolved so quickly, or even who the different sides were. At the end of the book the heroine is still confused, only now she has her own ship. It's possible (though not likely) that this could still turn into a decent series, but it would be a stronger one without this book.

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Paced, easy read

    I bought this book in preparation for a long business trip to Europe. I started reading it in the airport, and then couldn't put it down. I finished it somewhere over France, I think. I actually wanted it to last a little longer, but that's sometimes how the books read.

    This is my first read of Elizabeth Moon's books. I thought she did a great job of keeping the story moving.

    This first book is a character builder for Vatta, who is kicked out of the space academy for helping another student get religious counseling - and ended up in a big mess. The daughter of a shipping magnate, her father assigns her to a "milk run" job, taking an older ship out to salvage, dropping some cargo along the way - of course, it can't go like that. I won't spoil the ending, but it has believable characters and also could be written in the 1500's as well as a space adventure.

    Ms. Moon sets the stage for more adventures of this young, well disciplined and fair minded captain.

    I look forward to more stories from her.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    The Vatta's War Series is great.

    I have read all in the series to date and would highly recommend the whole series for any scifi reader and anyone who enjoys Elisabeth Moon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Space opera

    It's as good as any save the Honor series. Fun summer read and i am on to the next. I am interested to see how Ky resolves the tension between the two major sides of her character. It is wonderful to have female swashbucklers without thr ripped bodices!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    This is a pretty good book.

    This is about a girl who gets kicked out of her local military academy and becomes a captain of a merchant ship. I liked it, but I had one problem with it. The author seems intolerant of people who are not military or who don't appreciate the military ethos. I specifically didn't like it when the author portrays the main character's enjoyment of taking human life as a positive thing. But overall, this is a decent book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    VERY good beginning to a new series/trilogy.

    Kylara 'Ky' Vatta was thrown out of the Academy for trusting the wrong person. She returned home, avoiding media, to regroup herself. Her father, Gerard Vatta of Vatta Transport, decided Ky needed to go away until the media circus calmed down a bit. So she was sent as captain to take an old space craft on its last journey, to Belinta first and then to the scrap yard. She had a very small crew, but they were all veterans of space. ......................... At Belinta, Ky learned that the planet had ordered agriculture 'ag' equipment over a year ago from Sabine Prime which was picked up by another transport company and never delivered. Belinta was desperate for the equipment. No one named Vatta had ever turned down a chance to profit and Ky was no different. Ky hoped to earn enough money so that her ship could be repaired instead of scrapped. Once the personal contract was signed, she was off to Sabine Prime. .................. Sabine Prime gave Captain Vatta a bit of trouble, but not much, at first. Ky needed a new FTL drive before she could go anywhere. It was a vital part of the ship. Then she needed to purchase the ag equipment. The problem was figuring out how to get the money. FTL drives were very expensive. It all became worse when chaos erupted. Someone blew up the ISC's ansible platforms, so communications was all but gone. Then war ships came in. Ky's ship had no weapons and, with no FTL drive, no way to leave. She and her crew were defenseless and in the middle of a war between Sabine Prime and mercs! ........................ **** Very good beginning to what appears to be a series or trilogy. The plots are all tied up by the end, but many sub-plots are left dangling. I would very much like to find out how one or two of them end up, especially the one from the academy. ...................... The beginning of the book reminded me a bit of the Honor Harrington series by David Weber. Young woman, military back ground, done horribly wrong, underestimated, and very cunning. Yet by the half way mark, Ky had definitely separated herself from Honor in my mind. Ky has her own way of dealing with things and any emotional trash is put on hold until the crisis is over. All-in-all, VERY GOOD novel. I hope the sequel comes out quickly. ****

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great ride

    An enjoyable journey with a new heroine and an interesting setting in the commercial traffic in space. Incleds pirates, mutiny, personal growth. I like Moon's other books, but this one is just a bit different and has better character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Anon

    Very interesting character, maybe a tad too introspective, but engaging....a young woman coming of age and coming into her own place in the world. Not a ton of action but enough to make me want to see what would happen next. A good intro to what should prove to be a very good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2