Customer Reviews for

The Traffickers (Badge of Honor Series #9)

Average Rating 3
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good, but clearly written and edited in haste

I love the books of WEB Griffin, and re-read all of them at least every couple of years. I am somewhat less enamoured of the ones being written by/with his son.

The Traffickers was a good read, but shows many signs of having been written in haste and edited careless...
I love the books of WEB Griffin, and re-read all of them at least every couple of years. I am somewhat less enamoured of the ones being written by/with his son.

The Traffickers was a good read, but shows many signs of having been written in haste and edited carelessly. Typos. Missing words. Major example (this is a paraphrase): There were four women in the room. Three of them were fifteen or under. The third was eighteen. That was written in haste and apparently edited not at all.

I love the Badge of Honor series, but it has had continuity problems since the beginning.

That being said, I hope there is at least one more book in this series, in which Matt Payne's grandmother Moffett gets put in her place once and for all.

posted by none0 on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Too much traffic !

What could have been an interesting continuation of his badge of honor series is instead an erratic and awkward storyline. The author insists on recounting previous incidents and information from prior novels; many of which have no real bearing on this story. A glaring...
What could have been an interesting continuation of his badge of honor series is instead an erratic and awkward storyline. The author insists on recounting previous incidents and information from prior novels; many of which have no real bearing on this story. A glaring flaw in the plot regarding the near decapitation of one of the characters is never explained; indeed scrutiny of the timeline reveals that it never could have happened. One has to assume the author threw it in for shock value and then forgot about it. The conclusion felt rushed and was not of the same quality as Griffin's previous works; all in all, it left a lot to be desired.

posted by avidreaderOH on August 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    Get these men a competent editor!

    First off, I am a huge Griffin fan. That being said, the editors of G.P. Putnam and especially the editor(s) of this book should be shot. riffin has been a cash cow for Putnam-Penguin for almost 30 years and deserves a far better editing effort than has recently the case. This story is disjointed, poorly structured and faintly ridiculous. There are glaring discrepencies, plot points abruptly terminated, and an absolutely ridiculous romance. If you have been waiting for this book and absolutely have to read it now, I won't blame you for shelling out the money for it (I obviously did), but I would recommend the library, waiting for the paperback (probably out sometime in january) or even better yet pick it up off the remainder rack in about 18 months.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    A Downward Spiral.."Write This Down..."...(a), (b), (c), (d)...

    "Let Me Count The Ways..." Loved all the Griffin book series The BADGE OF HONOR series WAS wonderful, until the son of W.E.B. became involved. From this point on, , to quote Charlie Brown; "Good Grief!"with emphasis on the grief. Someone in there loves the expression, "Write This Down..," and uses it repeatedly. The same expression can also be found in the HONOR series with Cletus Frade as protagonist.
    Other glaring problems: (a) Introduction of the range character with no development except for his hat and a hide-out gun; (b)Matt suddenly changing his characterfrom a focused, motivated, solid man to a maudlin fool; and (c) a terrible affectation by the author(s) with listings of reasons for something using (a), (b), (c), (d) repeatedly (15-20 times)instead of letting the language flow. Result is Lazy, sloppy, page-filling, confusing, and grating on the overall read. Toss in the text messaging, etc, and it becomes a task..
    The ending was absolutely ridiculous, because the Payne character would not have reacted like a love-sick, weepy school boy, and no one would have accepted the denoument used to solve the El Gato problem
    Individual books in this series, like all of them, are written to stand alone, which accounts for the repitition of characters' histories. I understand the reasoning here...as long as the facts are not confused and erroneous.
    This reminds me of what happened when Ian Fleming died and the publishers tried to find someone to ghost write more books in the series. The result was muddled, and like a "near beer" of novels...close, but not equalling the prior books which were page-turners.
    I;ll continue to buy his books, but I've also gone to the WEB Griffin website and complained about these very things...maybe someone out there is listening.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So, so

    A minor league Mexican drug lord know as El Gato, The Cat, brings his drugs, including Cheese, and his underage girls to Philadelphia. El Gato is attempting to copy The Executioner, a real drug enforcer, by whacking off the heads of girls who disobey him.

    A huckster from a good Philadelphia family who is always working an angle, gets into the meth drug business, but things don't work out.

    Matt Payne and the gang from homicide become involved. A Texas Ranger joins the group. "The Hat" was funny the first time it was used, but its value diminished with each following use.

    The story is confined to a two day period, which limits the author's ability to create and tell a good story. Just how much can occur in 36 hours to a limited number of people in one place?

    The Gulf Cartel, Zetas, and the Executioner were mentioned near the end of the story. "Cheese", a drug used to hook children on heroin is used effectively in the story.

    The author(s) spent too much time on conversations and text messages between characters, and not enough on expanding the story. America Reborn has a much more exciting drug cartel story line as a sub-plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    Good read

    Not as good as previous books, but a good read non the less

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to usual standards

    Mr. Griffin has always been a "revisionist" in his series, but this particular series is the most blatant to date. He stated the series in the 1973 but with the book prior to this one moved it up to present days. With this book he kept up this practice even though it has been several years since "Final Justice," book number eight, came out the plot takes place just after that novel ends, however the technology in this book is today's. Also this one does not show the usual plot development and characters I have come to expect from Mr. Griffin. My feelings are that most of the writing is now being done by his son not Mr. Griffin. That is somewhat understandable I guess. However if this is any indication, the son is no where near his father as an author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Get Back To the Basics

    Leave your son out of the writing process. Please!! Too hastily written and like one reviewer too many typos, redundancy, et al.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Not as good as usual.

    While the series has been excellent, The Traffickers read like it was written by a different author. Emphasis was not on the characters of the series but rather on the "bad guys" with extensive background and development of background. Sincerely hope the next one returns to the original format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    Badge of Honor series gets mighty thin!

    This book read like the authors had to find something for the characters the the previous novels in this series to do. Minimum originality - series getting tiresome. Its time to have a shootout that eliminates most of these characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    The Traffickers W.E.B Griffin

    I've always enjoyed all of the books by W.E.B. Griffin. This one let me down a bit. It wasn't as exciting as many of the other books, and certainly not one I would pick up and read again.
    I have all the others in all the seriess and this one lacks the kind of attention his many other books have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    Character development left too many loose ends

    For instance opening character is left in limbo at hospital - immigrant "good guy" is developed sympathetically then again plot leaves him hanging in the wind - though the drama of the plot theme was well presented, researched and quite factual the ending was weak and difficult to fit into any likely real life scenario. I have been a fan of WEB's for some time reading if not all, nearly all his series books, but I feel that his writing style has changed and though well researched leaves me cold with the lack of closure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    REVIEWS

    I am surprised at the two "reviews" posted on your web site. The book was released early this week and it seems it was read and finished within 48 hours ! Bravo !

    I am a great fan of WEB Griffin and yes there are some typos in his books, but to come to such judjements so fast is not realistic.

    My copy is on its way and I will hopefully get it within a week or so. Then, after reading it, I may or not may have any comments.

    Munir HAMAMCIOGLU
    Istanbul-Turkey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2