Customer Reviews for

Trail of Blood

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I read this a long time ago

I bought this book once a long time ago and did not make the connection from the description, but as soon as I read the first page I remembered. This would not have been so bad,but I did it with two of this author' s books. Both were worth a reread. I guess purchasing t...
I bought this book once a long time ago and did not make the connection from the description, but as soon as I read the first page I remembered. This would not have been so bad,but I did it with two of this author' s books. Both were worth a reread. I guess purchasing them twice, I could say they were doubly good. These books are graphic and pretty violent. They remind me of Patricia Cornwell's early books. This series is based on a woman forensic specialist as well and is very believable. No sex or cursing, but lots of gore. Well edited. I only noticed three mistakes in 330 pages. Recommended for readers 18 and up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Master

Naw. Not if they want it. If i force them yes. But if they want his then its not now is it? Now either ur gonna buy a girl or u leave.

posted by 1010523 on September 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I read this a long time ago

    I bought this book once a long time ago and did not make the connection from the description, but as soon as I read the first page I remembered. This would not have been so bad,but I did it with two of this author' s books. Both were worth a reread. I guess purchasing them twice, I could say they were doubly good. These books are graphic and pretty violent. They remind me of Patricia Cornwell's early books. This series is based on a woman forensic specialist as well and is very believable. No sex or cursing, but lots of gore. Well edited. I only noticed three mistakes in 330 pages. Recommended for readers 18 and up.

    AD

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Enjoyed for the trip through historic Cleveland

    Being a Clevelander, I really enjoy how specific Lisa Black's Theresa MacLean novels are with regard to Cleveland landmarks.

    This book references Cleveland's "Torso" serial killer that plagued Cleveland in the 1930s. Those murders are being recreated, and Theresa MacLean must solve the mystery of who is the culprit.

    I've researched the Torso Murders in the past, and I was very pleased to see how meticulous Ms. Black was with her research; although this is a fictionalized account of the Torso Murders, she takes great pains to bring the past to life and help the reader understand just what was going on during that time in Cleveland. This is by far the best part of the story.

    The modern-day storyline has good pacing, and while it's a bit incredible at points, is a relatively solid 'whodunit.' While I don't think this is in any way a deep book that would be a good book club choice, it's definitely a good suspense novel. I've already purchased two of her other books for my nook and look forward to future novels from this author.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    A Riveting Read

    The discovery of a mutilated body is connected to a serial killer who caused havoc nearly a century ago. When the same type of mutilation is found on several bodies, it looks like the work of a copy-cat serial killer. The author takes us on a past and present journey that culminates in the identity of the two killers. This book was a thrilling ride that I did not want to get off. The non-stop action kept me turning the pages from the first paragraph to the last sentence. The suspense was so riveting, I didn't know which way I was being led. The back and forth between past and present was well written and I loved how they both meshed together.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Creepy serial killer history meets modern day forensics!

    Just as 19th century London had its unsolved Jack the Ripper killings, so, too, did Cleveland, Ohio have a string of horrific and unsolved murders in the 1930s. Labeled the "Torso Killer" because of the remains he left of mutilated corpses, the killer was never found...not even by investigator Eliot Ness! When forensic scientist Theresa MacLean is called in to examine a headless corpse found on a building site, she discovers that the remains are over 70 years old which means it falls into the killing period covered by the infamous serial killer. What follows is a scary investigation which often leads the reader to flinch at Theresa's often reckless attempts to solve the crime. She is an Everywoman trying to raise a teen, considering a new relationship...oh, yeah, and trying to find a murderer who had eluded all attempts in the past to bring him to justice. Flasbacks give us the identity of the dead man, making him a flesh and blood character which lends his murder poignancy. Black's use of an actual historical crime as her jumping off point for this modern crime story gives it extra depth and, as always, Cleveland as a city lends its own character to the book.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Write is fair at best. The killer is easily exposed within the f

    Write is fair at best. The killer is easily exposed within the first few chapters and dances painfully along until the conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Best suspense novel ever

    This book will have you wanting more. I promise you that when you pick up this book you will not want ro set it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Cool

    Good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Mutesar

    Hello. She growled.

    1 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Tedious Reading

    If you are into guts and gore read it. I. Liked the concept of duel timelines but I thought I would never finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Great read

    Will continue to read books from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Loved 1 & 2 of this series, did not like this book (#3).

    I love to read patterson, cornwell, sandford, coulter, and any other good author. Give me a good book and I will finish it in a couple days, as I did with books 1 & 2 of this series, but give me a book that seems to ramble on with too much detail and I get bored. I skipped half this book and still felt like I didn't miss anything just by reading the last three chapters. I am going to purchase book 4 now in hopes that it measures up to the first and second in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Jason

    Ok.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great book.

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good suspense

    Nice jump between now and the 1930s when the original Torso murders in Cleveland occurred.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    GREAT READ!!

    This is my first book by Ms. Black. It was a really god read. I did find it interesting that part of the book delved into the true case of the "Torso Killer." She did a great job of weaving that historical case into a modern day mystery and I loved it!

    It started off kind of slow, but once it got rolling the mystery really pulled me in.

    Great first read by this author, I will definitely be looking for more from her!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Haven't read yet

    Still on book #2.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Terrific!

    Another good book. I am enjoying the Theresa Maclean series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Page Turner

    Great book. Lots of twists and turns, but I figured out the culprit before the end. It was still a good read. Could be a bit graphic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Good read

    A good, simple read. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Very slow reading and boring

    I usually like Lisa Black's books. I just could not get into this one. It was very slow, not enough excitement and not enough conversation. I didn't even finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5