Customer Reviews for

Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    A Fantastic Read

    I just finished my second read of Kim Sunee's memoir. I've never found a book that is not only absorbing in its own right, but that allows the reader to connect so strongly with the kind of loneliness and search for love that Sunee shows us. For those who understand that happiness cannot be bought nor loneliness avoided by by simply surrounding yourself with other people but not knowing yourself, you will find a similar soul-searcher in Kim Sunee. You don't have to be adopted to connect with her. Anyone who's wandering will love this book. Beautifully written with a poet's touch, my only complaint is that it had to end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Superb!

    Having worked in publishing for many years, I find it's the rare book that allows me to read for pure pleasure¿and Trail of Crumbs is just that rare treat. Beautifully written and flawlessly captivating, it serves up a sumptuous slice of life that most of us can only imagine. I devoured chapter after chapter in a single sitting, loathe to interrupt the fascinating flow while also wanting to savor every word ... then arrived all too soon at the end, craving still more. Even a few crumbs ...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Follow the Crumbs

    This book was one that I had for awhile that I bought and picked it up twice to read on two separate business trips and just couldn't get into it in the first two to three pages. When I finally picked it up for the third time, it was so worth it, it is magic. Kim's journey to seek her identity out is magically intertwined with people she meets and try to help her see she doesn't need the past to be ok with the present in the future. If you have ever been lost then you know the past can set you free into the future. The receipes are great, the were mouth watering in their descriptions. I bought copies of this book to give to friends because it was worth it, and I was only half way through the book at the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Excellent Book

    If you likedv EAT PRAY LOVE, you'll enjoy this book. What an interesting life led by the author. Told beautifully with a descriptive love for food and cooking intertwined into her life story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Follow Kim's Trail of Crumbs as she searches for happiness

    This book was beautifully written! It led you through Kim's life - most of it centered in her 20's after she had moved out of the United States. It showed such a deep yearning to try to understand where she fit in, where she belonged, that you just wanted to reach into the book and take her in your arms to let her know that it would all be okay. By being "lost" by her mom, she grew up always searching, never quite feeling "at home."

    I interpreted the title "Trail of Crumbs" to be a metaphor for two things. First, she used to have a dream about her and her brother as Hansel and Gretel, just waiting for the moon to come out so they could see the trail of crumbs - only to find out that they had been eaten by the birds. Secondly, how she seemed to feel most comfortable in the kitchen, regardless of where she was, cooking wonderful dishes for friends. So as she traveled, she left her own 'trail of crumbs'. Her book is doctored with tales of wonderful foods in exotic (to me) places. At the ends of many of the chapters are recipes of what sound like delicious dishes. I hope someday to have the courage to try some of them. (There is an index in the back of the book listing these recipes.)

    You must read Kim's story of loss and loneliness as she loved, in her way, Olivier, but could not come to accept the life he created for her.
    "Somehow, I thought, he'll never realize that the everything he wants to give me will never take away the nothing that I've always had." (p66)
    Join her as she searches for acceptance and family and discovers a strength to let go of what cannot be changed and move forward.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Gorgeous, incredible memoir: A MUST read

    I took Trail of Crumbs with me on a recent trip to the beach, and had to force myself to read it slowly- because I wanted it to last, because I wanted to linger over every word, like I would linger over a fine wine or a delicious meal. Since then, I've been apprehensive about writing this review because I know my words won't do Sunee's book justice. It's not just a book about food (though the food descriptions and recipes will leave you salivating), or travel (though I've been daydreaming about Provence and Paris and New Orleans ever since), this book is about identity, minus the overwrought cliches that sometimes accompany memoirs about the search for self. Kim Sunee is an incredible writer. I can't wait for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    loooooved this book

    I have been telling everyone I know about Trail of Crumbs... I was hooked from page one. This book is a food and travel adventure, a love story, and the intimate yet elegant thoughts from a woman on the path of self-discovery. It would appeal to readers with an adventurous heart - interested in sumptuous food, exotic travel, tumultuous love stories, or an intriguing memoir. The author lets the readers into her deeply personal thoughts and experiences gracefully chronicling desire, love, heartbreak, wonder, ecstasy, confusion, glee, ⿦ every page makes you feel as if you just spend time in Kim Sunée⿿s intoxicating world. The recipes at the end of each chapter pull the flavors out of the book and into your mouth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    You won't want to put it down!

    The first book from Kim Sunee is a warm, honest, intimate read. I found myself completely absorbed in her fascinating story of her restless search for who she is. Love, loss, hunger, hope...these themes are constant throughout the book as you join Kim in her journey. She writes candidly and warmly--you'll wish you could sit with her and hear more long after you've finished reading. The recipes are a fabulous touch that ties the whole thing together. Excellent effort from a first-time novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    A Wonderful Read and Beautiful Book

    I was touched and transported in this lovely and thoughtful book. Beautifully written and artfully packaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    i absolutely love this book. it's heartfelt and poignant and keeps you engaged. the language is beautiful and poetic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Watever

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To branden

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Plz read

    I love your name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    help

    ............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    A compelling, touching memoir!!

    Kim Sunee has magnificently written an intimate and engaging account of her search for self-identity, a rewarding life of her own making, and a place to belong and call home. Born in South Korea, Kim was abandoned by her mother at age 3. Soon, she was adopted by an American couple and raised in New Orleans, but she felt as if she never really fit in. Twenty years later, Kim is living in France with her famous, multi-millionaire beau. Theirs is a luxurious lifestyle accented by travel and entertaining, showcasing her talent as a chef. Many years later, feeling smothered by his controlling nature, Kim leaves him to forge a life of her own. Through it all, food is the anchor in her life and she feels most at home in the kitchen. Most chapters end with personal recipes which are tied to her bittersweet memories.

    "Trail of Crumbs" is emotionally candid, compelling and very thoughtfully written. The evocative descriptions and glorious details drew me into a number of countries, their cultures and into her culinary experiences. There is a message for everyone in this absorbing memoir. Ms. Sunee inspires me to live my life as fully as I can, while still maintaining my own identity. I truly loved this captivating book. It's a really wonderful read and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Controlling Life's Journey

    Gives insight on what it is like to be adopted. She never seems satisfied even though materialistically, she was given a lot. She keeps searching for more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    thought provoking

    sad memoir, young woman in search of self and sense of identity; always looking outside herself for answers rather than within for sense of herself , sense of her person, ending left me sad; despite this
    I really enjoyed reading the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    Kim was still searching for the place where she belonged and her mother.

    Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love and the Search for Home
    Kim Sunee
    Grand Central Publishing, 2009
    ISBN: 978-0446697903
    Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 03/09
    4 stars
    Kim was only three-years-old when she was left on a bench with a fist full of food. After sitting there for three days, a police officer takes her to the police station. A couple from New Orleans adopts her. There are few Asian girls in the area. In her early twenties, she joins an executive in France where she lives as his mistress and cares for his child. Kim was still searching for the place where she belonged and her mother.
    Kim Sunee has a talent for imagery. Her descriptions are magnificent. However, the best thing about this book is the wonderful recipes! Kim conveys a sense of sadness at her loss and abandonment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Food, travel, and relationships

    An interesting travelogue as well as good food tales and a view into the author's seach for her identity. Along the way we get some fun stories, and a feeling of what it is like to be in search of that special something. I hope she does a follow-up book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Beautiful imagery, but depressing

    I was looking forward to reading this book after seeing all the great reviews about it, but I was sadly disappointed with the author's inability to appreciate the beauty of the world she was writing about. Maybe because I'm asian, but I felt that her description of being made fun of during her childhood because of her ethnicity is not an excuse for not making the most of what she has now. And she has a lot - living in Provence with a millionaire and having a supporting family behind her, enjoying luxuries that most normal people have never experienced. But despite that, she seems to spend more time moping and trying to 'find' herself, and all the glories around her just don't seem to be good enough. What happened to 'live in the moment'! I would have to agree with the other reviewer and say that she is self-absorbed and selfish. Maybe it gets better at the end, but I was so depressed after reading half way through that I could not finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2