Customer Reviews for

Trail of Crumbs: Hunger, Love, and the Search for Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    A Fantastic Read

    I just finished my second read of Kim Sunee's memoir. I've never found a book that is not only absorbing in its own right, but that allows the reader to connect so strongly with the kind of loneliness and search for love that Sunee shows us. For those who understand that happiness cannot be bought nor loneliness avoided by by simply surrounding yourself with other people but not knowing yourself, you will find a similar soul-searcher in Kim Sunee. You don't have to be adopted to connect with her. Anyone who's wandering will love this book. Beautifully written with a poet's touch, my only complaint is that it had to end.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Superb!

    Having worked in publishing for many years, I find it's the rare book that allows me to read for pure pleasure¿and Trail of Crumbs is just that rare treat. Beautifully written and flawlessly captivating, it serves up a sumptuous slice of life that most of us can only imagine. I devoured chapter after chapter in a single sitting, loathe to interrupt the fascinating flow while also wanting to savor every word ... then arrived all too soon at the end, craving still more. Even a few crumbs ...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2009

    Follow the Crumbs

    This book was one that I had for awhile that I bought and picked it up twice to read on two separate business trips and just couldn't get into it in the first two to three pages. When I finally picked it up for the third time, it was so worth it, it is magic. Kim's journey to seek her identity out is magically intertwined with people she meets and try to help her see she doesn't need the past to be ok with the present in the future. If you have ever been lost then you know the past can set you free into the future. The receipes are great, the were mouth watering in their descriptions. I bought copies of this book to give to friends because it was worth it, and I was only half way through the book at the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Excellent Book

    If you likedv EAT PRAY LOVE, you'll enjoy this book. What an interesting life led by the author. Told beautifully with a descriptive love for food and cooking intertwined into her life story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    Gorgeous, incredible memoir: A MUST read

    I took Trail of Crumbs with me on a recent trip to the beach, and had to force myself to read it slowly- because I wanted it to last, because I wanted to linger over every word, like I would linger over a fine wine or a delicious meal. Since then, I've been apprehensive about writing this review because I know my words won't do Sunee's book justice. It's not just a book about food (though the food descriptions and recipes will leave you salivating), or travel (though I've been daydreaming about Provence and Paris and New Orleans ever since), this book is about identity, minus the overwrought cliches that sometimes accompany memoirs about the search for self. Kim Sunee is an incredible writer. I can't wait for her next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    loooooved this book

    I have been telling everyone I know about Trail of Crumbs... I was hooked from page one. This book is a food and travel adventure, a love story, and the intimate yet elegant thoughts from a woman on the path of self-discovery. It would appeal to readers with an adventurous heart - interested in sumptuous food, exotic travel, tumultuous love stories, or an intriguing memoir. The author lets the readers into her deeply personal thoughts and experiences gracefully chronicling desire, love, heartbreak, wonder, ecstasy, confusion, glee, ⿦ every page makes you feel as if you just spend time in Kim Sunée⿿s intoxicating world. The recipes at the end of each chapter pull the flavors out of the book and into your mouth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    You won't want to put it down!

    The first book from Kim Sunee is a warm, honest, intimate read. I found myself completely absorbed in her fascinating story of her restless search for who she is. Love, loss, hunger, hope...these themes are constant throughout the book as you join Kim in her journey. She writes candidly and warmly--you'll wish you could sit with her and hear more long after you've finished reading. The recipes are a fabulous touch that ties the whole thing together. Excellent effort from a first-time novelist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    A Wonderful Read and Beautiful Book

    I was touched and transported in this lovely and thoughtful book. Beautifully written and artfully packaged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    i absolutely love this book. it's heartfelt and poignant and keeps you engaged. the language is beautiful and poetic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Watever

    Cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To branden

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Plz read

    I love your name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    help

    ............

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    A compelling, touching memoir!!

    Kim Sunee has magnificently written an intimate and engaging account of her search for self-identity, a rewarding life of her own making, and a place to belong and call home. Born in South Korea, Kim was abandoned by her mother at age 3. Soon, she was adopted by an American couple and raised in New Orleans, but she felt as if she never really fit in. Twenty years later, Kim is living in France with her famous, multi-millionaire beau. Theirs is a luxurious lifestyle accented by travel and entertaining, showcasing her talent as a chef. Many years later, feeling smothered by his controlling nature, Kim leaves him to forge a life of her own. Through it all, food is the anchor in her life and she feels most at home in the kitchen. Most chapters end with personal recipes which are tied to her bittersweet memories.

    "Trail of Crumbs" is emotionally candid, compelling and very thoughtfully written. The evocative descriptions and glorious details drew me into a number of countries, their cultures and into her culinary experiences. There is a message for everyone in this absorbing memoir. Ms. Sunee inspires me to live my life as fully as I can, while still maintaining my own identity. I truly loved this captivating book. It's a really wonderful read and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    J'attends deja la suite.....

    Je viens de terminer la lecture du premier livre de Kim. J'ai lu d'un bout a l'autre son histoire sans arret et elle est preuve d'une grande inspiration pour moi. C'est aussi une revelation mysterieuse qu'elle nous fait. Felicitations! J'ai meme trouve l'huile d'olives nommee 'L'Olivier' chez un marchant de Birmingham, AL. !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    great read!

    thoroughly enjoyed the book. Great writer. Inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1