Customer Reviews for

Train Tracks: Family Stories for the Holidays

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Read! Lots of great stories!

I listen to Dr. Savage on the radio. Some of his childhood stories are a great slice of how things were about 50 years ago. He has a great way of telling these stories. Unique slice of life kind of read. I hope you will read this book. I might just get this in hardback ...
I listen to Dr. Savage on the radio. Some of his childhood stories are a great slice of how things were about 50 years ago. He has a great way of telling these stories. Unique slice of life kind of read. I hope you will read this book. I might just get this in hardback to add to my paper library.

posted by Purplemadness50 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Two things will usually get my attention ¿ a picture of a vintag

Two things will usually get my attention – a picture of a vintage railroad steam engine in the snow and stories with a holiday theme. That’s how Michael Savage portrays his latest book. I used to listen to Michael Savage early mornings while driving to work, I sort of...
Two things will usually get my attention – a picture of a vintage railroad steam engine in the snow and stories with a holiday theme. That’s how Michael Savage portrays his latest book. I used to listen to Michael Savage early mornings while driving to work, I sort of like his no-nonsense style, so this should be nice, to the point holiday-oriented stories.

Well it’s not. In fact most of his stories, while making a typical Michael Savage point, are not even oriented in the holidays, but instead have darker themes of life’s many realities. In fact, while reading I was thinking the editors did not do a good job streamlining repetitive information. Then reading credits at the end, I discovered that just about everything, except the first chapter which actually talks about taking a train trip at Christmas, had been previously published in earlier Michael Savage books…which thankfully I had not read.

It’s not so much that I didn’t like his stories and the points he made. In places they were very enlightening. It’s more that they are billed as holiday stories, and that they are not. It was almost like Howard Stern’s “Private Parts” without the ironic humor. They certainly aren’t stories I’d read to my grandchildren in front of our Christmas tree.

I like Michael Savage’s ability to put a sentence and paragraph together to tell a story, but when you buy a book about trains and the holidays, you’d actually like to read about a train in the snow…and the holidays. I was very disappointed.

posted by TurboLink on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Great Read! Lots of great stories!

    I listen to Dr. Savage on the radio. Some of his childhood stories are a great slice of how things were about 50 years ago. He has a great way of telling these stories. Unique slice of life kind of read. I hope you will read this book. I might just get this in hardback to add to my paper library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    There are a few holiday stories in this book, but it isn't about

    There are a few holiday stories in this book, but it isn't about the holidays. It's about life! More specifically, about the challenge, wonder, discovery, failure, and success of an immigrant son growing up in 1950's America. And it's about the the quirky and incredible characters we all encounter throughout life and how they change us.

    This is Savage at his best. When it comes down to it, he is a storyteller, and a truly amazing one. That is why he has so many millions of radio listeners. Some stories I have heard before on the radio, but that doesn't bother me; I am very happy to hear them again and be able to pass them along for others to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Two things will usually get my attention ¿ a picture of a vintag

    Two things will usually get my attention – a picture of a vintage railroad steam engine in the snow and stories with a holiday theme. That’s how Michael Savage portrays his latest book. I used to listen to Michael Savage early mornings while driving to work, I sort of like his no-nonsense style, so this should be nice, to the point holiday-oriented stories.

    Well it’s not. In fact most of his stories, while making a typical Michael Savage point, are not even oriented in the holidays, but instead have darker themes of life’s many realities. In fact, while reading I was thinking the editors did not do a good job streamlining repetitive information. Then reading credits at the end, I discovered that just about everything, except the first chapter which actually talks about taking a train trip at Christmas, had been previously published in earlier Michael Savage books…which thankfully I had not read.

    It’s not so much that I didn’t like his stories and the points he made. In places they were very enlightening. It’s more that they are billed as holiday stories, and that they are not. It was almost like Howard Stern’s “Private Parts” without the ironic humor. They certainly aren’t stories I’d read to my grandchildren in front of our Christmas tree.

    I like Michael Savage’s ability to put a sentence and paragraph together to tell a story, but when you buy a book about trains and the holidays, you’d actually like to read about a train in the snow…and the holidays. I was very disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    SHOWERS FOR GIRLS

    Here. Open 24/7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Quill

    *he dips his hat to Dr. Miller and follows Bloodlust*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Doctor

    "When ever you like." He smiles. "Have a nice evening."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Bloodlust

    *She smiles* you too doctor.*holds Quills hand and gies home*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1