Customer Reviews for

Train of Thought

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Blew my mind

    This is a must have for any prog rock fan. Mind blowing and rythmically challenging drums combine with driving guitar and amazing, if somewhat sparse, keyboard to create one of the best cd's ever. My personal favorite tracks on the cd were Honor Thy Father and Stream of Consciousness, but the entire cd is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    You don't need a lot of words to describe this masterpiece, just one: awesome. It just wipes out most if not all recorded efforts by other heavy bands, and not only prog metal ones, but way beyond: death metal, industrial metal, alternative metal, etc. Period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Bad

    There is a boundary that separates two levels of rating an album. On one side, you compare an artist’s music with others’ music. On this side, I’d have to say that Dream Theater pulled of a very nice CD. It has a very Metallica-Black Album feel, or maybe a little Megadeth-Youthenasia. The slip side to it is comparing this CD with other albums the band has put out. In this respect, I’d have to say that they have done better on other projects. The piano seemed a little lost or even nonexistent most of the time, and there were a few points that screamed out “Nü Metal.” In conclusion, I like this album better than most pop music discs, but I like other Dream Theater albums better than this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT JOB!!!

    Dream Theater is, in my opinion, one of the greatest and most musical groups ever, and this album is proof to that. I cant say which track is the best - every number on this album is incredible, from the opening Sabbath-style riff of "As I Am" to the incredible instrumental " Stream of Consciousness" to the powerful riffing of the closing track. This is DT's heaviest album to date, but that does not make the music any less impressive , even in the slightest. This is definitely one of their best works, and quite possibly the BEST. In other words: A MUST HAVE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Dissapointed

    First off, I’d like to point out that I AM a Dream Theater fan. Aside from “When Day and Dream Unite”, they have not put out a bad album. Until now. After their triumph on Scenes and Six Degrees, Train of Thought turns out to be somewhat of a let down. John Petrucci has decided that this is where he will show us all that he is the fastest guitarist on the planet. Ok John, Ya know how to play guitar, now how about putting a little melody in your leads. Also, the seemingly off rhythm that was so new and exiting on “The Mirror” on the “Awake” album has resurfaced on both “Scenes” and “Turbulence” and shows up again on “This Dying Soul”. Granted, when you are a band like Dream Theater, it is difficult to top your previous successes, however, to me this is their poorest record since their first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    It takes some time getting used to, but it is very good overall. Especially track 6.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heavy and thought provoking music

    This band has the uncanny ability to get better and better with each album. Another opus of extraordinary songs showcasing arguably the most talented band out there today. Their sonic energy leaves other bands in the dust. Very listenable and beautifullly written, thes guys amaze more with each album. Also excellent live too.I LOVE IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh. My. God.

    This is my favorite Dream Theater to date. Heavier than their older efforts, this puts most every other "heavy" band (save the underground) to shame. My favorite song is "This Dying Soul" - it's basically a sequel to "Glass Prison" - in fact there is one part in the song where it repeats a riff from "Glass Prison". This album is euphoric. I get butterflies in my stomach just listening to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    another dream comes true/

    last night i downloaded and listned to the new track as i am witch is from the new dream theater cd train of thought. and its a powerful rocker/ starts slow then they realy get into it. with one incredible beat and great laryics and volcals/ cant wait buy the cd so i can hear how the whole things sounds. im sure its gonna be a rocken album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1