Customer Reviews for

Trains and Lovers

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a trai

I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down u...
I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down until I was done.

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This was not at all what I had expected. I was disappointed with this book. Four people met on the train and exchanged their "story" to one another either by speech or in one case only by thoughts. Then it was over.

posted by Yolan on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a trai

    I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down until I was done.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alexander McCall Smith's new book, Trains and Lovers, is a stand

    Alexander McCall Smith's new book, Trains and Lovers, is a stand-alone novel not tied to any of his series.

    "A friendship maybe be conceived in four hours; a short book finished and put away; a life remembered."

    I love Alexander McCall Smith's writing style. His characters and stories need no pageantry. He can say so much in so few words! I find it absolutely stunning.

    Trains and Lovers dances on the edge of being a collection of four short stories. The four travelers sporadically and spontaneously pause the story with their own introspection or to briefly converse with each other. This brings it all together into one cohesive novel.

    Each story held my attention page after page. I couldn't stop reading the mini-mystery that came along with the Englishman's story. But my favorite of all was the Australian woman's account of her parents and the profound impact of their very simple, well-lived, and well-loved life.

    Trains and Lovers is an experience; the pages flew by. Alexander McCall Smith did not disappoint!

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. I did not receive any other compensation for this review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is by far Alexander McCall Smith's best work to date. I lo

    This is by far Alexander McCall Smith's best work to date. I loved the characterizations. The storytelling was magnificent. Two thumbs up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    This is a very enjoyable book that I read in one long sitting. T

    This is a very enjoyable book that I read in one long sitting. The characters and their stories of love found, or not, are absorbing. The author's quiet way of telling a story and setting a scene are soothing and his comments on life and love are thought -provoking. This is also a beautifully made little book, from type- design (William Martin, 1790) to size, proportions, and page design.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    I am a fan of Alexander McCall Smith's books, mainly his #1 Ladies Detective Agency series.(I have already preordered the newest title!). Trains and Lovers was an enjoyable read as it moved quickly and held your interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Trains and Lovers is a stand-alone novel by popular Scottish aut

    Trains and Lovers is a stand-alone novel by popular Scottish author, Alexander McCall Smith. This novel takes the reader on a train journey where any boredom is dispelled by the stories that four strangers in a railway carriage relate, stories that involve trains (both real and of the art variety) and lovers (variously realised, possibly dangerous and unrequited). McCall Smith gives us four very different characters and chooses a novel way of telling four discrete tales. As always, McCall Smith offers up gentle philosophy as he touches on subjects as diverse as modern-day connectedness and loneliness; identity theft; issues of trust and how powerful and persistent the seeds of doubt, once sown, can be; the comparison of communication today with the bygone era (emails and texts versus telegrams and pen friends); and the concept of moral luck. McCall Smith’s prose is charming and evocative: “…wonderful, exotic languages including one that had clicks and whistles in it…It’s called !Kung. And it has an exclamation mark in front of it. Imagine talking !English or !French with an exclamation mark. It was lovely to listen to – rather like the sound of the wind in the reeds, or a pair of exotic birds talking to one another on the branch of a tree.” And “There are many ways of falling off the high moral ground you’ve carefully built up for yourself. Moral ground is like that – slippery at the edges.” Charming, humorous and insightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    Disappointing

    This was not at all what I had expected. I was disappointed with this book. Four people met on the train and exchanged their "story" to one another either by speech or in one case only by thoughts. Then it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    Another gift from Alexander McCall Smith!

    I found this to be a gentle read and a lovely reminder that love takes many forms.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Alexander McCall Smith has interwoven the stories of four strangers beautifully. I found myself unable to put it down and so sorry that it had to come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    If you read A M Smith you will love this one too

    Smith is a master of exploring the personalities of everyday people. Here he takes four people on a train who begin talking to each other about falling in love. Their stories are interesting and believable and don't always go the way you expect. Delightful peek into the lives of people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    FORGE

    Open 24/7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Cody

    She needs a master!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Pat to cody

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Kimber

    "I have to go..." pulls out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Dusbdud

    Dhdudv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    If you like this author...

    I enjoy Alexander McCall Smith, especially the Isabel Dalhousie series. This volume of his is a stand-alone novel telling the stories of four strangers meeting on a train ride. It is short and easy-reading but expresses a depth of philosophy that would make for good discussion at a Book Club venue. I enjoy the calming influence of his literary expressions as well as his mature approach to what life is all about. And yes, I might even consider re-reading it again to savor all the enjoyment I get from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Book, quick read, lots of interesting scenes

    This book would be great for a book club!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Trains are my life!

    Choo choo!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Enjoyed this quick reading book

    I always enjoy Alexander McCall Smith books....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Wish it had been longer.

    It was a fun read and I loved the characters. But I wish it had been longer and we learned even more about everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2