Customer Reviews for

Trains and Lovers

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a trai

I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down u...
I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down until I was done.

posted by JesseG1 on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This was not at all what I had expected. I was disappointed with this book. Four people met on the train and exchanged their "story" to one another either by speech or in one case only by thoughts. Then it was over.

posted by Yolan on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a trai

    I loved this book. Taking a simple premise - strangers on a train passing the time with conversation - author Alexander McCall Smith paints a beautiful portrait with his gift for words. The story moves at a relaxed pace, but never gets too slow. I couldn't put it down until I was done.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is by far Alexander McCall Smith's best work to date. I lo

    This is by far Alexander McCall Smith's best work to date. I loved the characterizations. The storytelling was magnificent. Two thumbs up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    I am a fan of Alexander McCall Smith's books, mainly his #1 Ladies Detective Agency series.(I have already preordered the newest title!). Trains and Lovers was an enjoyable read as it moved quickly and held your interest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    Trains and Lovers is a stand-alone novel by popular Scottish aut

    Trains and Lovers is a stand-alone novel by popular Scottish author, Alexander McCall Smith. This novel takes the reader on a train journey where any boredom is dispelled by the stories that four strangers in a railway carriage relate, stories that involve trains (both real and of the art variety) and lovers (variously realised, possibly dangerous and unrequited). McCall Smith gives us four very different characters and chooses a novel way of telling four discrete tales. As always, McCall Smith offers up gentle philosophy as he touches on subjects as diverse as modern-day connectedness and loneliness; identity theft; issues of trust and how powerful and persistent the seeds of doubt, once sown, can be; the comparison of communication today with the bygone era (emails and texts versus telegrams and pen friends); and the concept of moral luck. McCall Smith’s prose is charming and evocative: “…wonderful, exotic languages including one that had clicks and whistles in it…It’s called !Kung. And it has an exclamation mark in front of it. Imagine talking !English or !French with an exclamation mark. It was lovely to listen to – rather like the sound of the wind in the reeds, or a pair of exotic birds talking to one another on the branch of a tree.” And “There are many ways of falling off the high moral ground you’ve carefully built up for yourself. Moral ground is like that – slippery at the edges.” Charming, humorous and insightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Alexander McCall Smith has interwoven the stories of four strangers beautifully. I found myself unable to put it down and so sorry that it had to come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    To Sadie

    Suck. Now. Josh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    FORGE

    Open 24/7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Cody

    She needs a master!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Pat to cody

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Dusbdud

    Dhdudv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great Book, quick read, lots of interesting scenes

    This book would be great for a book club!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Enjoyed this quick reading book

    I always enjoy Alexander McCall Smith books....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Beautifully Written -- You'll love it

    I am a fan of Alexander McCall Smith. This book, which is a single book, and not part of a series, is beautifully written. He is a master of detail, and this book provides quiet, yet pronounced moments of meaning in the life of the train passengers. Trains and Lovers carries a little more serious undertones in the book. A wonderful read whether you are a first time reader of McCall Smith, or a devoted fan.
    Speaking of which --- when oh when will we finally see the next installment for Corduroy Mansions? Please, please, come out with the next one in this series. I miss Freddie de la Hay and all the gang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1