Customer Reviews for

The Traitor (Tommy Carmellini Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    False Pricing, listed 2.99, when you buy it is 6.99

    Very dissapointed in Barnes and Noble trickery

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Fair at best

    If you can get past the authors disgusting love for the useless country of France, and his pathetic admiration for Paris, a dump I might add, you will like this book.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Took me 6 days. . .

    I read really good books really fast - I can't put them down! This one kept getting put down, I just never could get INTO reading it. Mr. Counts is a good writer, and I love international intrigue - but Tommy Carmellini is too much into himself; not into the plot. It's a shame & waste of some good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Excellent book. A must read

    Excellent book. I love Stephen Coonts and read all of his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Good Read

    Good follow up to the Jake Grafton series. Caramellini isn't the typical "James Bond" type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    Jake ain't dead, and he hasn't even floated away..

    JAKE & TOMMY....What a team...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    highly recommend

    Great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Good book. Held my interest.

    Coonts is always a good read for me. He holds my interest and the action is good, but not too gruesome. The plot is always timely and fits with current events, which I enjoy too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Grafton as Spy Master, Carmellini against Terrorists

    I've been following Jake Grafton, and now Tommy Carmellini, since Flight of the Intruder. Coonts' books are always a great, engrossing, and entertaining read. He's got a great feel for suspense and narrative, and his switches from third person for Jake to first for Tommy draw you into the characters and do much to paint them in your minds eye. I'm looking forward to #3 in the Tommy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Traitor

    I am an avid reader of Stephen Coonts, especially his books with Jake Grafton. I am pleased to see the author take Jake through his career as a Naval Officer and his maturing years. I have followed Jake from his "Flight of the Intruder" days to "The Traitor". All of my Stephen Coonts books are hardback and are in a prominent place in my library. I have read and re-read Stephen's books several times to fill in the gap between his next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    so so

    the scenario was there for a great thriller. But the book fails to deliver a taut punch or any breathtaking climartic end. It's quite enjoyable when narrated by 'tommy', our main man. He's funny, but at times, doesn't come across as a super spy. The book was slow throughout the first 200 to 300 pages. Kind of fragmented and does not come together at all. Certainly fails as a pageturner or thriller. The action was lacking, and whatever technology employed was under-rated.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2006

    Disappointed!

    As a long time Coonts fan, I was disappointed with 'The Traitor'. I really enjoy the Tommy Carmellini chartacter Coonts came out with in 'Cuba' (one of my favorites!) 'The Traitor' started off a little slow, but I didn't mind because I liked the character development in the first third of the book. True to Coonts form, once the action starts it doesnt end. Unfortunately the real climax comes before the end and as a result the end is anticlimatic, forced and not very beleievable. Not his best, but worth a trip to the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER TOPNOTCH THRILLER AND ACES VOICE PERFORMANCE

    An international thriller by Stephen Coonts deserves an exceptional narration and that is precisely what film and television actor Dennis Boutsikaris provides. At times gruff, at other times forbidding, he always imbues his characters with a defining vocal twist. As Coonts fans know and appreciate this author wastes no time in hooking readers/listeners attention. This time it's with the death of a French intelligence agent on an Air France flight to Amman, Jordan. Such an untimely demise leads Jake Grafton, now CIA operations officer in charge of Europe to suspect that the director of French intelligence has a spy planted among top Al Queda. Does the French director vehemently deny this? Of course, he does. There's only one person Grafton can rely on in a life and death situation, and it's Tommy Carmellini. Seems that would be an intrepid duo and that they are. But it takes more than strength and intelligence to figure out who is spying on whom and what may happen when the leaders of the G-8 nations meet in Paris. It's especially difficult to find the truth when their lives are in danger. Another topnotch thriller from Coonts and aces performance by Boutsikaris. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An action-packed exhilarating thriller

    While flying over the Mediterranean first class to Amman, Jordan, French intelligence agent Maurice Marton suffers a heart attack and dies. Marton was carrying interesting documents with him when he passed away. Apparently Henri Rodet, Director of the French spy agency Direction Gernale de la Securite Extelieure, has holdings in the Bank of Palestine.----------------- Espionage agencies on both sides of the Atlantic panic with a need to know what is in Henri¿s investment portfolio with the fear being he sold out or worse. The Americans send top operative Tommy Carmellini to discover what Henri is up to. Tommy recruits his partner on several capers (See CUBA) US Navy Rear Admiral (R) Jake Grafton to determine whether Henri has sold out to terrorists and if so to stop him and his new cronies without compromising the lives of their sources.-------------- This is an action-packed exhilarating thriller that never slows down from the moment that the flight attendant realizes that Marton is not debarking from the plane until the final climax that will surprise the audience with a terrific end state twist. Carmellini and Grafton still have it as they compete with several European allegedly allies and Middle Eastern operatives of what might prove to be the greatest treachery in history making Judas, Quisling and Arnold look like patriots.------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2