Customer Reviews for

Traitor to His Class: The Privileged Life and Radical Presidency of Franklin Delano Roosevelt

Average Rating 3.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

About Time

I mean, honestly...Shouldn't our favorite authors write as fast as we read?

I have loved every book Bill Brands has written, and this one is no exception. You'd think there's be quite enough books on FDR and nothing new could be added. You'd be wrong, though....
I mean, honestly...Shouldn't our favorite authors write as fast as we read?

I have loved every book Bill Brands has written, and this one is no exception. You'd think there's be quite enough books on FDR and nothing new could be added. You'd be wrong, though. Just as he has always done, Brands has taken a subject about which we think we already know and given us so much more.

If you are not a history fan but know someone who is, this will make a wonderful Christmas gift. It might be fun to make it a "theme" gift by adding the new PBS bio which is part of their presidents series and maybe a WWII movie or music from the era.

posted by BiblioShan on November 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

same old stuff rehashed

this book is the sotry of the new deal through rose colored glasses that has been told over and over again by previous biographers. there is nothing new here and the author adds his own political vies to the book making it a cross of current events politics with histor...
this book is the sotry of the new deal through rose colored glasses that has been told over and over again by previous biographers. there is nothing new here and the author adds his own political vies to the book making it a cross of current events politics with historical facts carefully selected to supprt his views. Look elsewhere for a biography of FDR like Jean Baker Smiths book or Doris Kearns Goodwin book. Sad to see an historian with promise resort to this type of trash. the title alone is awful and embarassingly provacative

posted by swndledagain on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    About Time

    I mean, honestly...Shouldn't our favorite authors write as fast as we read?<BR/><BR/>I have loved every book Bill Brands has written, and this one is no exception. You'd think there's be quite enough books on FDR and nothing new could be added. You'd be wrong, though. Just as he has always done, Brands has taken a subject about which we think we already know and given us so much more. <BR/><BR/>If you are not a history fan but know someone who is, this will make a wonderful Christmas gift. It might be fun to make it a "theme" gift by adding the new PBS bio which is part of their presidents series and maybe a WWII movie or music from the era.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    A fine biography by the author of "TR"

    A great one-volume biography of, arguably, the greatest president of the twentieth century. Warts and all. All the more important now, as viewed from the standpoint of the contemporary economic situation. <BR/>His upper class upbringing, his rise through government, his character-building adulthood fight with polio, the hubris of his scheme to pack the Supreme Court with judges more favorable to the New Deal. It's all here and in color. <BR/>Most stunning to me was the realization that the New Deal was all just experimental. All just made up as he went along. Was the New Deal a stop-gap temporary measure to get the economy moving again? Or was it a new way of permanently partnering government, labor and business? The press couldn't get an answer out of FDR back then because, well, he didn't know himself. Asked by a reporter when his bank policy would be available to the press, Roosevelt answered, "Judging by the fact that I haven't started to write it, I should say at the last minute possible". This was AFTER he had closed the banks for an eight-day bank holiday. Imagine a current president answering the press in that manner today. FDR used socialist policies in order to save the country from socialism. Then, of course, he went on to nearly single-handedly save the world from facism.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Traitor to His Class," by H. W. Brands, ia a presidential biography that suits our difficult times.

    Having enjoyed two other histories by H. W. Brands, I was undaunted by the 824 pages that tell the story of Franklin Delano Roosevelt's life. With so many references to the first 100 days of FDR's presidency, and discussion about what was achieved, when, and in what order, it is helpful to have everything laid out as well as it is in this volume. The details of his youth and early life were entirely new to me, so I did not find the book repetitious at all. When FDR contracted polio in 1921, he was only 39 years old. Knowing all that was still to come in his eventful life left me gasping at the significance of how he mastered the illness.

    Of course, FDR utilized several family members and close friends to help him overcome his polio-constrained schedule. Eleanor remained a steadfast political partner even through the latter years when she essentially lived apart from him, following her own dictates and interests. FDR used Theodore Roosevelt's list of honors as a benchmark as he took up a series of governmental offices, always comparing himself to Teddy. Finally, a dedicated group of assistants followed him everywhere - to Warm Springs, Georgia, which he bought and developed into a place that genuinely welcomed polio sufferers - and to rooms in the White House for his closest advisors. The Georgia countryside allowed FDR to get out in an adapted car that he could drive. He spoke with the young school principal whose work-study program entailed being the principal one year and returning to college the next, alternating until he had earned a degree. He also discovered the low pay scale in Georgia. The trips to Warms Springs expanded his knowledge of the country as well as provided relief to his body.

    Brands covers the final years with a light touch, whether relating the rekindling of FDR's friendship with Lucy Mercer Rutherfurd or Eleanor's longtime friendship with Lorena Hickok.

    Eleanor saw that female journalists needed a boost in gathering news stories, so she instituted women-only press conferences and stuck to that format the rest of her life. On the other hand, Roosevelt wanted to stay at a Civilian Conservation Corps camp himself - and to visit all of them, in fact - was his original goal!

    These are but two examples of Franklin and Eleanor seeing a need, and doing something about it. By seeing and meeting needs throughout their lives, FDR and Eleanor made our country better as they made life better for the CCC participants and the female journalists.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    Superb.

    A magnificent, thrilling portrait of one of the greatest, most influential Americans of the 20th century. Another must-read biography from the author of the excellent TR.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    A Different Look

    There are only so many facts to go around regarding a person's life or a significant historical event. Nonetheless the author's treatment of FDR's life and times does provide a new perspective on him. He certainly is one of the greatest leaders of all time, and this book supports that ranking. I would recommended this work without hesitation to anyone at all interested in American history and the men and women who made it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Reads like clear water, and Always engaging

    A comprehensive review of the life and times of FDR. Covers all the basics, which are generally known, with fresh narrative and brisk writing. Reveals otherwise unknown stories with great detail. It's like being a fly on the wall. Includes a lot of quotes which were specified by FDR to be "off the record" at the time. A timely read; the comparisons to our culture, Obama's presidency and current financial times are fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I ONLY THOUGHT I KNEW ABOUT FDR

    I have read a good bit about the Depression and WWII; about the New Deal; about Franklin and Winston; about Franklin and his wife; about many aspects of the era immediately preceding my birth in 1948. Reshelving my books this year I realized I had nothing that focused exclusively on Roosevelt himself. Barnes and Noble had this volume in stock so I bought it and took it home. My usual method is to read several books concurrently...a chapter or 2 in each of several books every day until I "get traction" in a particular book and then I'll finish it on out.. But from page one in this book I was hooked. Front-to-back. Non-stop (or, at least, non-interrupted by any other reading). My goodness!!! Absolutely fascinating and absorbing. And the author's style is an absolute joy to read. "Do not pass go. Do not collect $200.00." Go directly to your local bookstore and get this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Wyndham

    I take the New Jersey Ask

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best American Presidents!

    There have only been three presidents in my lifetime and but none of them can hold a candle to FDR.They say that history repeats itself, and I agree. Pres.Obama is the modern version of FDR while Bush is H.Hoover. I just got this book last friday and I'm almost done. It's a great book!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Traitor to His Class - FDR

    Bought this set of CDs for my husband and me to listen to while driving our 19+ hour trip to FL. Thoroughly enjoyed them - made the trip a pleasant one. Lots of good history there. Recommend highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2