Customer Reviews for

Trans-Sister Radio

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting...

I borrowed this book from a friend and she didn't really say anything about it.. it was little challenging for my age group, but very interesting and amazing! I definetly learned a lot from this book! I think that now I have a little more sympathy towards trans-sexuals....
I borrowed this book from a friend and she didn't really say anything about it.. it was little challenging for my age group, but very interesting and amazing! I definetly learned a lot from this book! I think that now I have a little more sympathy towards trans-sexuals. It was a great book that hit a different group of people that many other people don't appreciate as much.

posted by Marie-Blondie18 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but....

What a disappointment! The characters were very strong and went through so much. It was a disgrace that the ending was so weak.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting...

    I borrowed this book from a friend and she didn't really say anything about it.. it was little challenging for my age group, but very interesting and amazing! I definetly learned a lot from this book! I think that now I have a little more sympathy towards trans-sexuals. It was a great book that hit a different group of people that many other people don't appreciate as much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Makes you question your beliefs

    I read this book for my local book group. The story is told from the perspective of four individuals; Dana, Allison, Carly, and Will. Interspersed throughout the story are transcripts from a radio talk show interview between Carly and other characters within the book.

    The book begins with Carly explaining the impact of her parent's (Allison and Will) divorce. Will remarried but was often accused of holding a torch for Allison. Allison was a grade school teacher and was taking courses at the local college; Dana was her professor. Dana, an attractive yet effeminate man, quickly caught Allison's attention and they quickly entered into a relationship.

    A few months into their relationship, Dana reveals to Allison that he was born into the wrong body and is contemplating gender reassignment surgery. Though overwhelmed by this shocking news, Allison's love for Dana has grown beyond her rational control and she vows to remain by his side throughout his journey to become who he truly wants to be. The rest of the book centers around the perceptions of others and the struggles and complications the couple must face due to societal beliefs and prejudices.

    This book was well-written, as is the power of this author to transform mere words into a work of art. However, the ending and "revelations" were predictable, which was highly disappointing to me knowing the abilities of the authors writing style. This book explores an extremely controversial topic in a manner that instills a sense of compassion in the reader for the characters within the book.

    This story also instigated much conversation between me and my friends. I could not stop thinking about these people and their story. This work of fiction reads as a memoir and poses certain important yet debatable questions. The biggest question of all throughout this account is: can love transcend gender? Before you form your final opinion and answer to this question.read this book. Make sure you have all sides of any story before settling on a position. Enjoy.this is a book that will make you think and question all your previously held beliefs and ideals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Interesting, but....

    What a disappointment! The characters were very strong and went through so much. It was a disgrace that the ending was so weak.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    Noah

    I turn you over and slide my tongue trough your bu.ttcrack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    highly recommended, good read plus educational

    I am a fan of Bohjalian. He tackles difficult subjects and makes them more understandable. I understand much more about the difference between transgender and transexual and how one's life can be totally miserable if who you are on the inside doesn't match the external gender you are born with

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    CHLOE NOTICE BOARD

    The chatroom will be a party tomorrow &#9786

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2013

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed this story. I just discovered this author and am reading some of his books. I really enjoyed this story as it was different and very interesting. I gave it four stars as it wasn't one of the best I have read but is certainly worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Lilykit

    Mews afraid

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    To Alchemystar

    Were you Alchemypaw of WolfClan? If so, Meadowkit is looking for you. ^^

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    May i join as deputy

    Shinestream . A loyal brave caringstrict and friendly cat . Parents Wilowshine and Streamclaw . Siblings Willowclaw and Snowtust and Dustyface. History .. Snowkit the cutest kit from the day she was born . Pure white fluffy fur . Shinekit smartest . New what ten times ten was . Dustykit mean nasty . Meanest tom ever . Dustypaws mentor was Freeclaw a very nice caring tom . Snowpaws Reedpelt the cutest tom . Shinekits was Sparklestar . One day there was a screech in the forest . It was Snowpaw . Shinepaw rushed there . Snowkit was in the crevice in the cliffs . They could easily get her out . That was not the problem a stone was on her . They quickly got her back to camp . She had a broken spine . Snowpaw said Dustypaw pushed it down on her . He was exiled . Snowtuft did not live much longer . Then the clan sorrta colasped sfter that . She finally found this clan . Shinestream

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Feltfur

    Thanks! By the way, do you allow powers? If so then i see more than most do. She looks up. A owl shall fly overhead in 5...4...3...2...1...0. Suddenly a small owl flys over head.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Stonepelt

    No but i need places to advertise i am new at this although i have rped before

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Alchemystar

    We already have a deputy i think. An i do allow piers. But not doomsday((extremly powerful")stuff

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Great book!

    This was my first "Bohjalian" book and I really enjoyed it. First the subject matter pushes the limits and I love that and it also was written in a manner where every main character gets to tell their viewpoint. That was very refreshing to me and I felt like I got to know the "story" a whole lot better that way. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Wow!! Great story

    Could not put it down. Read it in two days!! Did not expect the ending. I highly recommend it!











    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Very Highly Recommended To All To read And Check Out

    I have Heard A lot Of Compliments in this book and belive all should read it for the best understanding Of what we all gor through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Differnt

    Never read anything like this before - a story about a man and woman who fall in love, except the man is in the process of becoming a woman. There's a lot to think about, but not so much that it distracts from the story, which pulls you in and keeps you there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book on an interesting topic!

    Chris Bohjalain write a beautiful account of the complexities we face when life throws us a curve. Not every person will identify with these characters- but they will understand how we all face life altering decisions of our own, and how these decisions affect not only us.
    Wondefully done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    WOW, a book that is full of interesting info!

    A friend read it and chose it for our book club, much to the puzzled looks of other members. However, this book was interesting, amazing, and I found myself caring about the characters. While the end is somewhat predictable, I had a difficult time putting it down. I even learned that there is a doc in CO that does this surgery...all in all, you will learn something!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    Best book I've read all summer!

    Beautifully written and thought through. I have never read anything like it and I just thought it was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4