Customer Reviews for

Trans-Sister Radio

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting...

I borrowed this book from a friend and she didn't really say anything about it.. it was little challenging for my age group, but very interesting and amazing! I definetly learned a lot from this book! I think that now I have a little more sympathy towards trans-sexuals....
I borrowed this book from a friend and she didn't really say anything about it.. it was little challenging for my age group, but very interesting and amazing! I definetly learned a lot from this book! I think that now I have a little more sympathy towards trans-sexuals. It was a great book that hit a different group of people that many other people don't appreciate as much.

posted by Marie-Blondie18 on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but....

What a disappointment! The characters were very strong and went through so much. It was a disgrace that the ending was so weak.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2005

    Hate to break rank but I was disappointed

    Having high expectations from reading Midwives, I was really disappointed in the ending of this book. For all the soul-searching every character went through, by the time it ended, the outcome seemed a bit trite. That said, the detail was intensely given, and I appreciated the strength of each of the characters--especially Allison--in pushing back against prescribed social expectations. It seemed these characters were written with the deepest compassion and respect for all the different perspectives they represented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    Couldnt put it down

    I don't really enjoy reading but I came across this book in a beach house I was staying at for the weekend. I have to say I couldn't put it down. It's a book I want to keep reading and find out what happens next. It's also a very funny book, it hits all emotions and I am a hard person to please when it comes to having to read. Over all I loved it, it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Couldn't Put It Down

    This book was fascinating. It is such an odd concept and yet, so well-written and interesting...It made me smile and brought me to tears. A truly wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2002

    I realy like this one

    This story made me laugh, and cry sometimes at the same time. I suppose because I could relate to a great deal of it. This book is one I would recommend to friends and family alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    This author really 'gets it'

    Although lacking quite a few important details, Chris Bohjalian really captures the essence in this fictional work of what it is like to be a transsexual woman in this world. The 'back-and-forth' can get confusing, but for me this detracted little from the story. This story vividly illustrates the plight of someone who has to deal with forces that are involuntarily at work in their life, as well as what issues they force others in their world to face. People do not like to peer deep within their own souls, particularly if they feel they have been tricked into doing it and are trapped staring at the uncomfortable realities they find. If you would seek to understand one who is transsexual, particularly one who may be in your life, this book will go a long ways towards educating you, as well as giving you a glimpse into the plain and simple realities of life that must be contended with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2001

    Another great one by Chris Bohjalian

    I approached this book with some hesitation as I was hoping it wasn't a trashy sex change operation story gone wrong... What I discovered was a wonderful story of 4 very bright, educated, open-minded people whose lives were changed with the decision of 1 of the characters. My heart goes out to people who contemplate such major decisions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Great Book!!! that said so much about life rather then gender...

    This book is not just about gender. It is more about life, love & the need to be happy! Dana makes it come to life! A book that gets one to understand their are all different ways to be happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    not as good as Midwives

    The premise for the story was a good one, but I didn't think he did the best job. Read Midwives for a better job for this author. This book was too talky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2000

    Wonderful Book! Highly Recommend !

    This book was a real page turner! It is written about a subject that I am sure would make an excellent read for book clubs! A great deal to discuss and comment on! The book is narrated by 4 different characters, which makes it very interesting and kept me turning the pages wondering what next! After reading this book, I am going to read past books by Chris Bohjalian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    A wonderfully adorable story

    I could not put this book down! I was never drawn into a story so intensely. I openly laughed, cooed and cried while following the characters through a tragic-romantic adventure the likes of which would bend the psyche' of most people into a pretzel. That's what makes this read so delicious. Chris Bohjalian's ability to express the thoughts, sentiment's and attitudes of Dana through her journey, as well as his ability to set a scene so vivid that, by way of contrast, he makes Hemingway seem like a dime-novel hack, no less than fully captivates the reader. Dana's transition timeline and development are inaccurate/fantastic, but I will grant the author artistic license. This book isn't a documentary. It's marvelously written fictional literature dealing with the issues surrounding transsexuality in a fair and gentle manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Sensitive, well researched treatment of a controversial subject

    Again, Chris Bohjalian has gotten into the hearts and souls of his characters to bring them truly alive to the reader, which makes it impossible to put the book down until the final page. He has taken a subject which, for most of us, is very scary to confront, the reversal of one's sexual orientation, and made it something we can more fully understand, empathize with and accept, because his characters become flesh and blood human beings with their own frustrations, desires and hopes for fulfillment. As I read the book I kept having to remind myself that, no, Allison, Dana, Carly and Will are not going to appear on a future 'Larry King Live' segment -- they're merely fictional, but, for the moment, oh, so real. Bohjalian, in addition to his thorough research, imbues his writing with a deep sensitivity to and understanding of the human condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2000

    What a great read!

    I found this story so enthralling and interesting- I have to admit I don't know if the story is true or false, but I would love to meet Dana. I go to school in Vermont and if I ever ran into Dana- I would give her my best and tell her I am envious of her determination and dedication to make herself happy, no matter what it took. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4