Customer Reviews for

Transfer of Power (Mitch Rapp Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1039 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(629)

4 Star

(261)

3 Star

(89)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(35)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

This guy is a great writer. He is able to keep you on the edge of your seat during the whole book. I could not put it down.

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What happened to depth in bestselling books?

When I read a book that has been on the New York Best Seller list, I assume that the book is more than ideas simply put down on paper. This book had no depth and flowed like a children's book. The book had no conclusion. All of a sudden, it seems as if Flynn says, 'Oh, ...
When I read a book that has been on the New York Best Seller list, I assume that the book is more than ideas simply put down on paper. This book had no depth and flowed like a children's book. The book had no conclusion. All of a sudden, it seems as if Flynn says, 'Oh, looks like I'm at my 400-page limit, I guess I'll write the ending that any unintelligent person could predict.' The book puts on the brakes, skids, then crashes. It doesn't help that every American who is portrayed 'screwing up' is a democrat. I expect more from a person who graduated from a great high school like Saint Thomas Academy.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1055 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 53
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    Great Book

    This guy is a great writer. He is able to keep you on the edge of your seat during the whole book. I could not put it down.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Awesome! I'm hooked...

    I like a book for what it is, something entertaining to give me a little distraction from the day-to-day. This book sure did that! I was so hooked - what a great read. Would totally recommend.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Stressfully Good Reading

    Transfer of Power brings us Mitch Rapp and that dang reporter girl....I can do without the impending romance but thoroughly appreciated Rapp's ability to compartmentalize even her. It's something I've learned men can do and I laughed at that part because it was so my husband. Maybe that's why I love Mitch Rapp. He is a man as I understand men to be. It isn't often I come across men in literature who make sense to me. Mitch Rapp makes chillingly clear sense. Flynn is almost eerily prophetic at times, which makes the story stressful. There are times I have to walk away, stick my head in some bubblegum chick lit just to shake off the power of Flynn's fiction. If you didn't read Term Limits first, go back and start over. Term Limits will give you insight to characters who fall into support roles upon Mitch's arrival.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    My First Flynn Read, Very Entertaining

    This was the first Vince Flynn novel I've read, as I figured I'd start at the beginning with Mitch Rapp. I have to say that I was absolutely entertained throughout the entire book. Flynn did an excellent job of including multiple viewpoints, from Rapp to the CIA, FBI, Secret Service, the villains and even corrupt politicians. As a result, the entire book was fresh and there were never dull moments. About a third of the way through the book I felt as though I was rapidly approaching the climax, yet the fun had only just begun!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Whew!

    Slam bang right from the start. Great read. One of the best in a long time.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Great Summer Read!

    Page turner, that kept me up too late a few night

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Action packed! Must read

    I just read this book for the second time. I love the Mitch Rapp series. I would highly recommend reading the series by starting with book #11 first. Book 11 "American Assasin" takes the reader back to the beginning to understand who Mitch Rapp is and where he came from. Transfer of power is a book that really got me hooked on thrillers, much like Tom Clancy. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Vince Flynn sinks the hook in deep...

    I've read all of these books and absolutely am amazed at how well rounded each of the characters are. They are so well written that in reading you can visualize it all playing out in front of you like a movie. A lot of writters have a guft for doing this but Vince Flynn is one of the best. We need more men like Mitch Rapp!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is a great book!! It has to be one of the best books I have read. I got this book for my nook while it was free. When I read it I was very suprised it was free because it was so good. Vince Flynn does a great job at keeping you into the book and wanting to read more and more. The book is a page turner. Can't wait to read the other books in the series. If you are into suspense this is the perfect book for you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great series

    I read the whole series in hardback from my public library. Fantastic to have this free on my Nook.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    A Thriller from start to finish!

    I loved this book. It grabbed me by the throat and wouldn't let me put it down till the end! Great characters, attention to detail, and many twists and turns that I never saw coming. I loved many of the Tom Clancy - Jack Ryan books and Mitch Rapp reminds me of Clancy's John Clark. If you like the solo assassin type characters, you'll love Rapp.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    What happened to depth in bestselling books?

    When I read a book that has been on the New York Best Seller list, I assume that the book is more than ideas simply put down on paper. This book had no depth and flowed like a children's book. The book had no conclusion. All of a sudden, it seems as if Flynn says, 'Oh, looks like I'm at my 400-page limit, I guess I'll write the ending that any unintelligent person could predict.' The book puts on the brakes, skids, then crashes. It doesn't help that every American who is portrayed 'screwing up' is a democrat. I expect more from a person who graduated from a great high school like Saint Thomas Academy.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Good Read

    First Flynn book for me and really enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Ffffffffhfffgffffffhjfjfjgtjjchgxngxggcgjg

    Really good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    One of the best series out there. Mitch Rapp is a great character. I have read all of the series and cannot wait for a new one to be published. If you read one you have to read them all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    chillingly prophetic-must read

    There were so many things that were right on with the way things have played out that you won't believe they didn't confer with Mr. Flynn on these things. It was so realistic, it keeps you on the edge of your seat. The people were true to life. You feel like you would like to talk to them. If you want a great read, this is it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    This is the First - Must Read

    This is the first in the Mitch Rapp series and having read two of the later books I decided to read the first. Intense! Also, clarified some of the interactions between characters that continue thru the series. Interesting character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Exciting!

    Never a dull moment reading this book. A real "nail biter."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Great book!

    Thrilling from cover to cover!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Fast Good read

    The story line is very interesting. I always enjoy Flynn's characters. This one does illustrate why this country needs needs strong leadership, not the type we now have in office

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1055 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 53