BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Transformation (Rai-kirah Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I am now a slave to my nook andthis series

    Wow I have found my new vice! I couldn't stop reading I had to force myself to bed in the middle, woke up thinking about it, spent the day trying to sneek off to get a little more. I felt every emotion the characters did from deep despair to soaring joy, frustration and horror, comforted and relieved, don' let your guard down this book keeps you addicted all the way to the end. And just when you get a moment of respite and sit back to exhale, just as you become comfortable you are plunged back into the soul crushing terror of....... only to be....... you'd better read it to understand, i'd hate spoil it for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Compelling and worthwhile read

    Ms. Berg's characters feel realistic and the world they live in equally so. It's refreshing to read a fantasy novel that is set in a world which doesn't follow the ever-popular Generic Medieval Europe theme but rather occupies deserts and an empire that rose out of nomadic tribes. The relationship between the slave-narrator, Seyonne, and Prince Aleksander drives the narrative rather than the plot determining what happens.

    Something I always appreciate about Ms. Berg's writing is that bad things happen to her characters and no magic wand is waved to make everything bright and shiny afterwards; wounds take a normal amount of time to heal and the dead stay dead. It adds a layer of realism by not ignoring the harsh realities of the type of world she has created.

    For me, the book is very hard to put down and keeps me up well past bed time. I first read it in 2003 and recently decided I needed to purchase a copy and reread it. Worth the money and the time to reread, in my opinion.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Solidly written, with a pair of pitch-perfect lead characters.

    This is a book the likes of which I have not come across in some time. It grabbed me within the first few pages and did not let go until I finished it. It hasn't quite let go of me yet, actually -- it was almost physically painful to stop myself from immediately picking up the next book in the series to instead come to the computer and write this review.

    It was such an all-encompassing experience, as a matter of fact, that it's hard for me to summon up the distance to write a good review. Trying to think about it objectively, I don't think it was anywhere near a perfect book. The pacing was uneven, and the ancillary characters were no more than cardboard cutouts moving the plot along. Some of the more important ancillary characters' motivations were terribly unclear, and I didn't buy the small romance subplots for either Seyonne or Aleksander.

    But none of that matters to me, because the heart and soul of the novel is Seyonne and Aleksander's relationship, and that is realized pitch-perfectly. They are both complex men with everything in the world working against any potential relationship they might develop and the fate of the world resting on the fact that they must learn to trust each other and work together. And wonderfully, they manage to do this, with neither useless angst nor unrealistic protestations of affection. Berg summoned some significant magic into this novel, and I am greatly looking forward to reading its sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Mesmerizing -- a fantastic debut novel

    'Transformation' is a stunning fantasy novel-- a truly original creation. From the very first pages I was drawn into the story, and couldn't put it down. The characters of Seyonne and Alexander are fascinating, as is the world the author has created for them. The book is filled with images of great beauty and heartstopping cruelty, ultimately leading to a thoroughly satisfying conclusion. Highly recommended-- you don't want to miss this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    A fascinating and complex tale

    Beautifully written, the story of a slave and a prince who slowly learn to honor and care for one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    This wonderful story stands up well to reread. It also stands al

    This wonderful story stands up well to reread. It also stands alone very well, so if, like me, you tend to be frustrated by everything being a series, you will be able to enjoy this book without feeling locked in to reading several before the plot comes together. Transformation was a lucky find in the paperbacks for me. It's such a beloved book to me that I bought a copy for my Nook. It has a deeply satisfying story with well-drawn characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Compelling

    If psychology were a form of magic this would be it.
    A great story in which your inner demons are exactly that...demons

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not put it down

    I was bored and suffering from insomnia one night and picked this up to past the time. I started it at 10pm and did not put it down till I finished it a 7am...needless to say, I liked it very much. I twas all due not due to the plot...which while good was not too far off fro mmost fantasy plots, but due to the great and fully realized characters. They lived and breathed and you felt like you were going through everything with them, and standing right besides them. The writer has great skill in this department. If you love good, character driven stories...this is a good one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Simply Amazing

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. Not once did I feel bored with it, the characters were excellent, and the twists spectacular. Truly brilliant and very stirring, I could hardly put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    Absolutely astounding.

    Out of the tons of books I've had the chance to stumble across, this is without a doubt the best that I have ever read. The character developement and growth throughout Transformation is absolutely amazing and completely captivating. As a reader I felt myself grow and change with each page and every experience Seyonne and Alexsander went through. Carol Berg is definitely a true inspiration for aspiring writers. I couldn't put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Megatron

    Your base.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Ginger

    Past is the past

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Battle fields

    Were you fight

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Question

    Is this the autobots?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Skyblade

    Flies n.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    ONE OF THE BEST

    This is absolutely one of the best books I've ever read. I couldn't put it down. Seyonne and Aleksander were amazing and kept me captivated. WOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2000

    TRUELY CAPTIVATING!

    Carol Berg's 'Transformation' was truely incredible!I've long searched for moving inspirational hard-to-break-away-from books,and this does not disappoint! Seyonne and Aleksander's journey's through spirit and heart were truely beyond amazing as their differences sought to destroy them.Incredible plot,if you're a fan of magic and outstanding portrayal of characters,this book is most definately for you. I tip my hat to you, Carol Berg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Completely worth it

    This is the first fantasy book I have ever read. WOW! If they're all like this them I definatly need to start up my own collection. Carol Berg is one heck of an amazing writer. She really pulls you into the characters. I want to read more from her ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    WOW

    This book is a first novel?? Then I'm ready for more. Loved the lyrical descriptions and the exquisite use of language. I, too, want to know more about what happens to these characters, but even more I want to hear the words. This would make a great audio book. Even though I've read it, I'll read it again, and I'd listen to a tape, too, just for the joy of hearing the English language expressed so poetically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2