Customer Reviews for

The Transformation of Things: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Amazing!!

    Read this book in one sitting.....One of the best books I've read in a long time! Going nook shipping right now to buy another title by this author. No spoilers coming from me, but I do want to say that I honestly have an appreciation for my husband and son that I have been taking for granted.... Don't miss this one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    good read

    good read nice unexpected twist enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A bit of fantasy, a bit of reality, and a bit of soul searching

    "The Transformation Of Things" is a haunting account of ordinary lives and the things that make us see them in a new light. Some Chick Lit novels are obvious to read. Not this one. The way that Jillian Cantor left me hanging every chapter was astounding. Real relationships are never as clean cut and definite as when they are portrayed in novels. However, throughout this novel I could never decide on the outcome of the main character's relationship. Despite this, the ending left me blind sighted even though it was set up from the beginning.

    Jennifer Levenworth is an incredibly relatable heroine, as all good Chick Lit characters should be. Her husband is distant and never around. She fills her life with "meaningful things", but has incredible loneliness and against. What sets Jen apart from the usual Chick Lit heroine are her perceptions. She is unhappy with the facade of her life and sets off to sort it out. But the answers are never clear or easy. Her process is natural and often reminded me of the way that I face similar difficulties in my life. The way she faced and resolved her problems was both satisfying and rewarding.

    I particularly like how Jillian Cantor used dreams as a way to illustrate fantasy without making the book twinge on science fiction. Reality is only an illusion in life and in this plot.

    My only complaint is that the last few chapters buttoned up the story too neatly. Since the messy, realistic way the characters handled themselves appealed to me, having everything explained off was a little too pretty. This is not to detract from how amazing the unanticipated ending is.

    Conclusion:
    A bit of fantasy, a bit of reality, and a bit of soul searching, "The Transformation Of Things" is definitely a page-turner. Jillian Cantor's elegant writing and witty story weaving will leave you wondering what will happen next. This is definitely a Chick Lit novel not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A haunting account of ordinary lives and the things that make us see them in a new light.

    "The Transformation Of Things" is a haunting account of ordinary lives and the things that make us see them in a new light. Some Chick Lit novels are obvious to read. Not this one. The way that Jillian Cantor left me hanging every chapter was astounding. Real relationships are never as clean cut and definite as when they are portrayed in novels. However, throughout this novel I could never decide on the outcome of the main character's relationship. Despite this, the ending left me blind sighted even though it was set up from the beginning.

    Jennifer Levenworth is an incredibly relatable heroine, as all good Chick Lit characters should be. Her husband is distant and never around. She fills her life with "meaningful things", but has incredible loneliness and against. What sets Jen apart from the usual Chick Lit heroine are her perceptions. She is unhappy with the facade of her life and sets off to sort it out. But the answers are never clear or easy. Her process is natural and often reminded me of the way that I face similar difficulties in my life. The way she faced and resolved her problems was both satisfying and rewarding.

    I particularly like how Jillian Cantor used dreams as a way to illustrate fantasy without making the book twinge on science fiction. Reality is only an illusion in life and in this plot.

    My only complaint is that the last few chapters buttoned up the story too neatly. Since the messy, realistic way the characters handled themselves appealed to me, having everything explained off was a little too pretty. This is not to detract from how amazing the unanticipated ending is.

    Conclusion:
    A bit of fantasy, a bit of reality, and a bit of soul searching, "The Transformation Of Things" is definitely a page-turner. Jillian Cantor's elegant writing and witty story weaving will leave you wondering what will happen next. This is definitely a Chick Lit novel not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Amazing book!

    My book club chose this book for December. It's a fast-paced read. I read the whole thing in one night. This book looks at whether other people's lives are really what we think they are, and I am still thinking about this question.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Oh so blah.

    I had to force myself to finish reading this book. It's a very slow-moving and predictable read. I was intrigued by the summary but was quite disappointed once I got a few chapters in...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific character study

    In Deerfield, Pennsylvania Jennifer Levenworth is at the salon getting her hair done when her husband is on the TV news. His appearance on the air is not unexpected as Will is the local district attorney, but the reason is a shocker. The reporter states Will has been charged with accepting bribes.

    Stunned, Jennifer races home to be with Will. He has resigned and plea bargained to avoid prison. Jennifer finds her life has transformed back to what it was before they moved to the burbs and joined the country club set. Returning to Philadelphia, she hopes to regain the job she gave up and reconcile with her former BFF working mom Kat who she dumped when she fled the city. However, Jennifer struggles with returning to her former lifestyle and her marriage is at best shaky as her spouse is psychotically mute. Her father refuses to talk to her as if she is an embarrassment and her sister is busy raising a horde. Then there are the dreams when she sleeps to keep her further off balance.

    This is a terrific character study that focuses on a woman who has fallen into humiliation as she deals the fallout with loved ones from her husband's felonious activity. The story line is obviously character driven as Jennifer finds her life shattered but also cannot feel for or even understand her disgraced spouse as she holds him culpable when he needs emotional support. Ironically she comprehends her father's reaction but not Will's withdrawal. Although the twisting end seems as far out of place as Pennsylvania is from Florida because it does not fit with what has gone on before, fans will enjoy The Transformation of Things especially lifestyles.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1