Customer Reviews for

Transformers: Exodus: The Official History of the War for Cybertron

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For fans of the saga

The planet Cybertron is populated by sentient mechanical beings; a place so stagnant that they know what they will be doing every moment of the day. Once put in a job, the bot gets the position for life. In the gladiator in the underground a champion arises who calls ...
The planet Cybertron is populated by sentient mechanical beings; a place so stagnant that they know what they will be doing every moment of the day. Once put in a job, the bot gets the position for life. In the gladiator in the underground a champion arises who calls for freedom from the tyranny of the caste system that destroys freedom of choice and encourages the bots to work under a rigid schedule.

Data collector Orion Pax hears Megatronus (later named Megratron) call for the end of the castes and a return to the glory days of Cybertron when freedom and the arts flourished. Megatronus incites a rebellion that splits the rebels between those supporting Orion Pax while some feet that Megatronus's methods will work. The two meet and form an alliance to visit the High Council in strength to state their opinions. When Orion Pax is named Optimus Prime and is given power tat comes with the title Megatron feels betrayed and declares war on those who support his former ally and the autobots who want their freedom. The war leads to a nasty stalemate as each side destroys the land; Megaton now a tyrant longer no longer about the Cybertronians and he is the one Bot who could destroy all life on Cybertron.

Watching a gladiator rise to power by pretending to be a spokesman for freedom and a data collector turn into a planetary leader turns this Transformer tale into a good vs. evil war to control Cybertron. Optimus Prime is a born leader who proves the caste system fails as that society prevents talent fro rising above their birth spectrum. The characters are developed with feelings and thoughts that make sentient machines seem genuine. Fans of the saga will enjoy the Autobots vs. the Deceptions in "the official history of the war for Cybertron" for the right to choose as Alex Irvine captures the essence of the mechanical species, before they became movie stars.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hurrah. Giant robots.

The pros? This book does a rather nice job of describing a Cybertron before the rise of the Decepticons. In that regard, it is rather well done, and starts off rather strong. Towards the end, however, it starts falling apart. However, there are several places where Irvi...
The pros? This book does a rather nice job of describing a Cybertron before the rise of the Decepticons. In that regard, it is rather well done, and starts off rather strong. Towards the end, however, it starts falling apart. However, there are several places where Irvine would have benefited from a better editor. He has a few cases of contradicting himself here and there. For instance, he describes how a group of one type of transformers defected to the Autobots and are out doing things, and then in the very next paragraph describes how a character from that group is the only one to defect. Little things like that.

Also, this is a prequel for the Michael Bay transformers movie, so, if you're a partisan for or against that versions of the series, be warned.

posted by Tikitau on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    Being a fan of the series, not just the movies, I always jump at the chance to read more about the history of Cybertron. It was great from beginning to end. I almost didn't want to finish it. That's how good it was. It answered so many questions that I can't even put them all down here. If you are a fan of the series and the mythology, you have to get this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    For fans of the saga

    The planet Cybertron is populated by sentient mechanical beings; a place so stagnant that they know what they will be doing every moment of the day. Once put in a job, the bot gets the position for life. In the gladiator in the underground a champion arises who calls for freedom from the tyranny of the caste system that destroys freedom of choice and encourages the bots to work under a rigid schedule.

    Data collector Orion Pax hears Megatronus (later named Megratron) call for the end of the castes and a return to the glory days of Cybertron when freedom and the arts flourished. Megatronus incites a rebellion that splits the rebels between those supporting Orion Pax while some feet that Megatronus's methods will work. The two meet and form an alliance to visit the High Council in strength to state their opinions. When Orion Pax is named Optimus Prime and is given power tat comes with the title Megatron feels betrayed and declares war on those who support his former ally and the autobots who want their freedom. The war leads to a nasty stalemate as each side destroys the land; Megaton now a tyrant longer no longer about the Cybertronians and he is the one Bot who could destroy all life on Cybertron.

    Watching a gladiator rise to power by pretending to be a spokesman for freedom and a data collector turn into a planetary leader turns this Transformer tale into a good vs. evil war to control Cybertron. Optimus Prime is a born leader who proves the caste system fails as that society prevents talent fro rising above their birth spectrum. The characters are developed with feelings and thoughts that make sentient machines seem genuine. Fans of the saga will enjoy the Autobots vs. the Deceptions in "the official history of the war for Cybertron" for the right to choose as Alex Irvine captures the essence of the mechanical species, before they became movie stars.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Are you in for the Thrill of a Lifetime.

    I really did love this book it was difficult to put down, especially during school. The beginning is kind of slow, but that is only to allow you to absorb all the culture of Cybertron before the war began, which to me is very much needed and shows Cybertron was very much like Earth before the War. The best way I can put it is that imagine the World during WWII. I cannot wait to read Exiles. The only complaint I have for Alex Irvine is that I wish he had included my favorite transformer, Jetfire, more often in the, but other than that it is great read for the history and if your a fan you'll love it. If not well I still think it is a very interesting book to read. Alex Irvine I salute you and hope you continue to write more Transformers novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Hurrah. Giant robots.

    The pros? This book does a rather nice job of describing a Cybertron before the rise of the Decepticons. In that regard, it is rather well done, and starts off rather strong. Towards the end, however, it starts falling apart. However, there are several places where Irvine would have benefited from a better editor. He has a few cases of contradicting himself here and there. For instance, he describes how a group of one type of transformers defected to the Autobots and are out doing things, and then in the very next paragraph describes how a character from that group is the only one to defect. Little things like that.

    Also, this is a prequel for the Michael Bay transformers movie, so, if you're a partisan for or against that versions of the series, be warned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Echowave

    Starts cutting out energon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Energon Mine

    A large, deep cave with flecks of blue all around it. There isn't much energon here. ~ Ralana

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Love it i saw transformers 4 age of extion

    LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    Read 2

    Read the 2 book.first read the book then the 2nd one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    I'm a pretty opinionated fan of the Transformers world, and I lo

    I'm a pretty opinionated fan of the Transformers world, and I love parts of most continuities. But this is by far my favorite. I love this history, the context, and Alpha Trion is amazing here. Orion Pax, the caste system, how it's written makes you think. I can't even hate Megatron here. I even respect Megatron. Best story of revolution and transformers there is. I love Orion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Great read for Transformers fans

    I am a die hard Transformers fan who knows a lot about the original series and the various story lines of the shows and comics. This book was both a thrilling and interesting read. Not only do I feel Irvine wrote an exceptional book, but I feel like he did a good job of tying together much of the classic Transformers history and other series/versions into a single story. If you are familiar with the different Transformer stories you will identify several different elements of Irvine's story and enjoy the way he puts them together. Overall, the book kept me well-entertained and should offer fans of any Transformers story a good read that is friendly to many Transformer timelines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    Very good read.

    Surprisingly, "Transformers" was actually likable to me and i am very picky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    A Must read for Transformer fans

    Give you the real history of how it all started and where some of the "phrasing" comes from. Very interesting to see the true origins of it all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Oh Darn!

    I was so disapointed with this book. There were a number of errors that could have been fixed in editing (Confused locations and what characters where present or not). Then there were errors in story/setting cannon (When exactly was Unicron defeated and by who?).
    The next confusing part was which Transformer story os this a part of? Most of the story seems to be the story told by the animated series but then there are referances to items that come from the motion pictures. These are 2 seperate stories with the same characters and this book does not seem to be able to choose what story it wants to be a part of. I would suggest the author Alex Irvine become more familiar with his material and setting before he writes in this universe again.
    Overall I was very disapointed in the book.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2