Customer Reviews for

Transparent

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I LOVED THIS BOOK

The lessons here focused on a variety of subjects, from race, to politics, to individual self-worth. And the lessons are powerful and relatable on a number of levels. Pay attention and you'll understand that Don Lemon the journalist was made possible because Don Lemon t...
The lessons here focused on a variety of subjects, from race, to politics, to individual self-worth. And the lessons are powerful and relatable on a number of levels. Pay attention and you'll understand that Don Lemon the journalist was made possible because Don Lemon the man lived the life he lived. Spend some time learning about where he grew up, how he grew up and what he learned about truth and secrets early-on, and you'll never again look at someone like Lemon, who on the surface appears to have it all, and assume that their life, as it appears to be, was reached via a crystal stair. Like all of us, he's been loved, known uncertainty, been damaged, and grown resilient in the course of a life filled with moments of joy and a history pain.

posted by 8650213 on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Gushing School-Boy's revealations

I have just now, completed Mr. Lemon's book :'Transparent".The book reads too much like a youthful school boy's -gushing essay.I have listened to Mr. Lemon on air (quite often)May I say, that 'The Written Effort' does not line up with the 'Interviewing/Spoken Lemon' .T...
I have just now, completed Mr. Lemon's book :'Transparent".The book reads too much like a youthful school boy's -gushing essay.I have listened to Mr. Lemon on air (quite often)May I say, that 'The Written Effort' does not line up with the 'Interviewing/Spoken Lemon' .The book promises soul wrenching cathartic releases, that it does not deliver... There are some re-deemable portions in the book i.e: The description of early school days as a sanctuary and a refuge...portions like that are worthy.I suppose that the way that the chapters are labled-lends itself to allowing it, being a good teaching tool(in as much that readers can self-identify with the headings and self-absolve).I feel somehow, that it had excellent potential;but it keeps falling short on length and merit of living up to most of the chapters' potential..The effort comes across like a "rush to print". The book leaves this reader asking:Where is the rest?

posted by acholutus on May 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    I LOVED THIS BOOK

    The lessons here focused on a variety of subjects, from race, to politics, to individual self-worth. And the lessons are powerful and relatable on a number of levels. Pay attention and you'll understand that Don Lemon the journalist was made possible because Don Lemon the man lived the life he lived. Spend some time learning about where he grew up, how he grew up and what he learned about truth and secrets early-on, and you'll never again look at someone like Lemon, who on the surface appears to have it all, and assume that their life, as it appears to be, was reached via a crystal stair. Like all of us, he's been loved, known uncertainty, been damaged, and grown resilient in the course of a life filled with moments of joy and a history pain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    A Gushing School-Boy's revealations

    I have just now, completed Mr. Lemon's book :'Transparent".The book reads too much like a youthful school boy's -gushing essay.I have listened to Mr. Lemon on air (quite often)May I say, that 'The Written Effort' does not line up with the 'Interviewing/Spoken Lemon' .The book promises soul wrenching cathartic releases, that it does not deliver... There are some re-deemable portions in the book i.e: The description of early school days as a sanctuary and a refuge...portions like that are worthy.I suppose that the way that the chapters are labled-lends itself to allowing it, being a good teaching tool(in as much that readers can self-identify with the headings and self-absolve).I feel somehow, that it had excellent potential;but it keeps falling short on length and merit of living up to most of the chapters' potential..The effort comes across like a "rush to print". The book leaves this reader asking:Where is the rest?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Wonderful

    I had to buy this book @ b&n because at that time when Don Lemon (Transparent) came out, it wasn't able to d/l it. So since then, I had also re-buy the book because it was just that good. Overall, its worth having.

    Devotion143

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    I was a bit disappointed

    Given that Don Lemon is an exemplary journalist, I was not expecting a mediocre book. This memoir is mediocre at best. I was expecting a well-written narrative like that of memoirs by other extraordinary journalists that I have read like Michele Norris and Byron Pitts.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed Don Lemon's memoirs and feel that I know hi

    I thoroughly enjoyed Don Lemon's memoirs and feel that I know him in a different way than he portrays himself on TV. I always thought he was a very kind, polite, people person, but now I find that he has many strong views of his own and has had some hard setbacks in his life. I admire him even more and am going to keep his book to reread in the future as there is much that is said in it. I just hope he can slow down, enjoy his life in New Orleans, and finally find a place to call home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    OK

    This was an interesting autobiography, well written, and kept my attention. It was far too short, and I would have liked to read more personal stories and information. The focus on his career left an impression that he has had no personal life since in college.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Inspiring very inspirational especially to those who have been discouraged by others

    For many aspiring young journalist like myself mr.lemon shares his many experience good or bad.he shares how he has proven a point to those who have told him no and that he will not take no for an answer.how he's kept moving on through abuse and finding himself THE REAL DON LEMON.my favorite part of the book personally or quote you could say where he states don't pass judge people because they don't act or believe as you do.mr.lemon is truly inspiring especially since I have been told NO in many ways .he showed me when people say you can't that should be your exact moment or shot to prove them wrong.(your ha moment).so being a young aspiring African American journalist I hope to become just as successful as he has been.the only part I didn't like about the book it was only 158 pages. Truly a great biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I read it in one sitting.

    Although I purchase this book on August 8, 2011, I waited until I was vacation to read it. I read it today in one sitting, 12/26/2011. I found the book easy to read. Don words flow like a river and I want to further say that after reading the book I feel like I know him personally. When reading the book I felt like Don was sitting there talking to me. (Just line in chapter 19 of the book) Anyway, I hope Don write about his new experiences in New Orleans. I can¿t wait to read his next book.

    Gail Johnson
    United States Virgin Islands

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    A Carefully Written Memoir that speaks to coming of age and succeeding in 21st century United States.

    Don Lemon had aleady become a role model for many young African Americans before writing this memoir. After all, he is the handsome and talented youthful African American news anchor whose face is so familiar to us all. "Transparent" should make him an even greater role model because it demonstrates how he became successful against all odds. He recounts a personal journey which includes discovery and love for a father who had not married his mother, childhood sexual abuse, navigating through the racial landscape of the lower South, to self-acceptance as a gay man. In the portion on sexuality, he rightfully quotes James Baldwin, but I could not help wondering if Paul Monette had inspired the title. Monette notes in his own memoir (Becoming a Man) that gay men often build the walls of their closet so thick that they are "transparent." Lemon argues that one of the demands for his transparency is his craft as journalist. Don Lemon is not a victim. He acknowledges good friends who encouraged his educational path and inspired his career. There is much about Don Lemon that I admire and envy. He is truly a remarkable self-made man, and I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Sincere memoir

    I really enjoyed reading about one of my favorite CNN news anchor, Don Lemon. The book was one of personal growth and aquired wisdon, sincerely written with a fond passion of his life choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Cute Guy Great Book

    After seeing on television I knew I had to get this book. When Don said that he was "scared," because he was talking about things that "people might shun me for." He said that he was particularly concerned about what the reaction in the black community would be. At one point, Lemon got so nervous that he thought about removing the parts of the book that dealt with his sexuality, but he changed his mind.

    Speaking personally, he is smart and adorable and I think that those are the kind of traits that would make him a good spouse to anyone. Awesome Read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1